3.9

Created with Sketch.
826 reviews
68%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range
$9.99 on Ulta Beauty
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 days ago

This is hands-down my favorite mascara (and I've tried many drugstore brands)!!! A couple months ago I read that Meghan Markle is a fan of Lash Sensational and I admire her style so I had to try it. So glad I did. This mascara gives me noticeably thick, full lashes in a couple coats even when I skip the lash curler. I have bought extra tubes for travel and this brand will always be a staple in my makeup case. Can't beat the price and availability at any drugstore or grocery store either!

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

8 days ago

i just don't like this mascara. your eyelashes don't get longer and around my eyes gets so muddy because of this mascara!! at just half hour when i apply it it gets sticky and my lashes get together. i dont recommend it.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 days ago

This mascara didn't flake and didn't make my eyes burn like some mascaras do. But boy, is it clumpy! I don't know if it's the formula or the brush, or the combo of both, but I haven't found a way to apply this product without it clumping my lashes together and forcing me to find a second clean lash brush to separate them! I'm also not a fan of the pregnant-looking container--do you really get more product than a mascara in a straight tube? I just don't see the reason to make the bottle fatter and take up more space in my makeup bag. I've found cheaper mascaras that didn't clump and still worked with my sensitive eyes, so I won't be using this one again, unless someone can help me figure out how to use this without all the clumpiness!

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

12 days ago

Agreed with reviewer below. I mentioned it on MU board and like 3 people were like what? no, that never happened with me, etc. I use cleansing oil properly and the double rinse, etc. I'm very gentle with my face/lashes. This guy 100 percent makes my lashes fall out. To make sure, I alternated with another, trying that one for about 2 weeks, then back to Lash Sensational. My lashes were fine but falling out as soon as I went back. So yes. It looks great, and I like it except the formula is a bit thick, looks like a High end mascara, and definitely better than Dior and YSL mascaras I've tried. On par with or better than Chanel. The only downside is what would keep me from ever touching it again. I don't have the waterproof one either. Edit to add I also have tried this with the corresponding lash primer/serum and it made a bit of a difference in terms of how easy it was to remove and not affecting lashes as badly.

About reviewer (99 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

19 days ago

I really liked this at first. It made my lashes much longer and gave the fanned out look, all without smudging during the day. It leaned more on length vs volume, which actually looked nice to me. Then I noticed I seemed to lose eyelashes more easily with this. After a week or two, the formula seemed to stick my lashes together a bit more after a couple coats, but that didn't bother me much. I had to return it because of irritation. My eyes were sore at the end of the day whenever I wore this and they burned if any mascara got in them during the day. I suspect I was allergic and other reviews tell me I'm not alone. It's also pretty hard to remove for a "washable" mascara, but crying somehow made it disappear.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Best mascara ever! It gives VOLUME, LENGTH & CURL to my medium length sparse lashes! In the past I tried the waterproof version and it smudged on me. Now I'm using the regular formula in "Ultra Black" and I love it! It DOESN'T SMUDGE on my oily eyelids, DOESN'T FLAKE (unless you apply waaay too much) & HOLDS THE CURL! I don't have problems with removing this mascara because I double-cleanse. I use first the Clinique - take the day off balm and if there is any mascara left I use a cotton pad with the Garnier Micellar water (the one with the pink cap) and voila...la mascara is gone! I gave it 4 stars and not 5, because it's a bit expensive and not sooo drugstore priced like the mascaras from Essence. Despite that I highly recommend this mascara! It's better from many high-end mascaras and other drugstore mascaras in general because it does it ALL! This mascara has a plastic wand and maybe some people don't prefer this type of wands, but if you don't have such issues, you definitely need to give this mascara a try!

About reviewer (89 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

Best mascara I’ve tried. Doesnt smudge and really create long lashes with a lift.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

The wand is really good. The formula I like it I don't love it. I feel like it dries out really fast therefore you need to apply a good coat fast. I think it is an overall good mascara.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

FINALLY! This is now my HG mascara. I can't believe I finally found one that doesn't smudge and flake. I have tried so many mascaras in my search for the perfect one and really did not anticipate actually finding one that met all the things I was looking for - but this one is a winner!! A clerk at my local Shopper's Drug Mart actually suggested this to me and I thought, what the heck, may as well try another one - so glad I did and I will have to thank her when I see her again. I only need to apply this once to my lashes - no need for a second coat (I like my lashes to look real, not overly done) - this mascara lengthens and fans my lashes out beautifully and best of all - stays put. Now, I shouldn't admit this (I know it is a no-no) but I often go to bed with it on and when I get up in the morning, it still looks like I just applied it and there still is no under-eye smudging or flaking. Can't get any better than that! Now I have read that some people are having trouble removing it, but I haven't experienced that. If I am showering, it just comes off when I use a washcloth to wash my face - otherwise, I use the Body Shop's "Camomile Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover". Hope this helps! :)

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This is THE mascara for me. I have probably been through 6-7 tubes already. Used to rely only on CoverGirl Lashblast but last year found it was flaking often. Plus my tubes of Lashblast were drying out too fast, and then my lashes would look much less dramatic and full. So I switched to this. Gives a really deep, rich black colour with no gray cast. I love the different (plastic) bristle lengths on the brush. Results in lush, and long lashes that are thick at the roots and taper off at the ends. Holds a curl all day. This does not flake on me at all. I actually find the waterproof version of this more prone to flaking, but that version is still useful for hot summer sweaty days :) A fresh tube of this will be a little wetter but it's workable, just be careful not to go in and apply a second coat because it will definitely clump since it's quite wet and fresh upon opening. I curl my lashes, then I get rid of the excess mascara on the tip of the wand by swiping it against the tube opening. I use the shorter bristles and stamp and wiggle it in the root of my lashes. This gives tons of thickness and volume. Then I flip the brush and use the long bristles to bring the formula through to the ends and the rest of my lashes, and continue brushing out my lashes with that same side. I never comb through with the shorter bristles because it will look clumpy. You will probably need to clean up with a qtip after because the brush is thick. Plus it's often on sale at Shoppers for $7 or so

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.