L'Oreal Paris Voluminous Butterfly

L'Oreal Paris Voluminous Butterfly
Voluminous ButterflyVoluminous ButterflyVoluminous ButterflyBest drugstore mascaraVoluminous Butterfly

3.7

411 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have forever been envious of my brothers luck. You ladies know what I am talking about. All the men in your life got the long, dark, thick eyelashes and you are stuck paying $10 for some goop that you hope will make your lashes look even half as luscious and beautiful as theirs. But finding that perfect mixture of a mascara that lengthens and volumizes without looking like you've got a whole 3 ginormous lashes that seem to be mashed together with tar has been a never ending quest. I however have finally ended that life long, soul crushing quest. This mascara fills all my desires and needs. The wand may look a tad bit intimidating at first, but I think it is really effective for those who have reallllllllllllly small inner lashes. I don't get mascara on the side of my nose anymore and the rest of my lashes look at natural as possible while still lengthening my lashes and making them appear thicker. I've also had no allergic reaction to this, nor have I noticed it coming off without prompting. It does take a bit extra work to get it off, even though I don't believe it is waterproof but in the swamp lands of Florida a mascara that doesn't melt off my eyes while it is 90 degrees still in the middle of October is worth the extra scrub to get it off.

28 of 28 people found this helpful.



on 10/9/2013 2:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I found the Butterfly mascara at my local Walmart (I haven't seen it in other stores yet). The unusually shaped butterfly wand and cute silver packaging drew me in. I had to try it.

The brush is a rubber type - not a traditional fluffy bristle brush. The brush basically has 3 sides. Two of the sides are wider at the base of the brush, and they become narrower as it reaches the tip - it forms a little triangle shape. The third side looks like a straight row of normal rubber bristles.

I didn't know if the shape of the brush would make a difference in application, but it does. As I apply the mascara, the wider part of the brush catches the lashes on the outer corners of my eyes along with the rest of my lashes.

The benefit is that I don't have to go back later and do my outer corners separately - which I usually use the tip of my mascara wand to do (there is always excess product on the tip of the wand, and I get my outer lashes too goopy).

My lashes looked so even from inner corner to outer corner! The formula didn't clump even after a few coats. I didn't have any problems with flaking or smudging. I had great looking lashes all day.

This is one of the few mascaras that I would repurchase :)

14 of 14 people found this helpful.


on 10/14/2013 11:26:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

L'oreal's Voluminous mascaras and I go back a long way. I remember using their original Voluminous mascara years ago and I've tried just about every version of it since.

I guess this mascara hasn't hit the stores en mass as of yet but I snagged a tube as it was on sale at my favourite drug store.
I was wary as I had tried the Voluminous Million Lashes and Excess Million Lashes and they both have a 'chemical' scent which I don't like. (my eyes are sensitive to scents)

The rubber bristle brush has a unique shape: it's flat on one side and ridges (like teeth) on the other. I think the whole idea is to use the flat side to coat the lashes and build volume and use the ridge side to build length. The ridge side is great for grabbing onto lashes so it coats every lash.

Pros:
It gives fantastic length and my lashes look 'fluttery' (no pun intended) after a few coats.
This mascara doesn't claim to build volume but it does a pretty good job of doing so. (it can clump so keep an eyelash comb handy)
Curl stays in place (Asian ladies: we know the importance of this)
Lasts all day without smudging or flaking
Easy removal with water based eye makeup remover
No annoying scent

Cons:
As mentioned, a slight tendency to clump if applying multiple coats
Brush can be awkward to use
Formula is on the wet side but I have no problems with it

Re-purchase:
Absolutely! This is my current favourite of the Voluminous family, although I still love my Voluminous carbon black for major dramatic lashes.

7 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 10/16/2013 10:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Over the years, I've bounced back and forth between mascaras, drugstore to high end back to drugstore - but I always came back to L'Oreal's Voluminous line. Of course, with my dark brown hair, no matter the formulation, Blackest Black was always my favorite. I was lucky with the genetic lottery, my lashes are fairly dark & roughly the outer 2/3 are long. But I've always searched for my perfect mascara that will a) add volume & b) grab onto my inner 1/3 lashes, both lengthening & darkening them. While I was at B,BnB searching for the new Color Tattoos, I found this instead.

The brush is very unique, it's short & flat on one side, but long w/ridges on the other side. The ridges are supposed to be sort of pulled through your lashes in order to build length, while the flat side, I think, lets you build volume with extra coats.

As far as building length - it's amazing. My sister walked in while I had one eye done with just one coat - and she wanted to know if I had put on false lashes on that eye. The other really amazing thing for me personally, is that it actually seemed to curl my lashes on it's own. I hate curling my lashes, and, honestly, I forget fairly often, so the second time I used the mascara I accidentally forgot to curl my lashes & realized after I'd already put on the mascara but then when I put the wand down I noticed that my lashes were already very curly. The next few times using the mascara I purposefully didn't curl - same result.

It didn't say it's a volumizing mascara - which is good, because it isn't. There is a little bit of volumizing, if you layer a few coats, but you need to use a lash comb since it can clump. The best way to prevent this is to wait a few seconds for each coat to dry a bit.

I put my mascara on at 6AM and when I took it off at 10PM there had been no smudging or flaking. I haven't had any reactions or any smudges on the side of my nose (like I used to get with CG Lash Blast). It comes off pretty easily with a water-based makeup remover so I don't think it's waterproof. I haven't been caught in the rain yet while wearing this so I don't know for sure.

I tested the mascara by itself three days & layered with two other mascaras two days each. I preferred it layered with Cover Girl Lash Perfection Volumizing Mascara since that one added some volume & the Butterfly mascara lengthened & darkened my inner lashes - basically my holy grail combo. I know some youtubers have complained about twisting their hands/wands while applying to both eyes - but I think it's fairly easy to get used to and it's definitely worth it for the lengthening/darkening/curling aspects, especially in the corners of your eyes.

I think I will absolutely repurchase this to both wear on it's own & even more to layer this with various volumizing mascaras.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 10/17/2013 1:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Based on the other reviews...they pretty much said it all. Hands down my favorite mascara. It replaced my benefit they're real mascara!


on 10/17/2013 10:49:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have differnt formulas for different jobs. If I'm using false eye lashes I lean toward Cover Girl Clump crusher which is a little dryer formula. I also love Essence formula "I love extream crazy volume" when I'm just using mascara on it's own and I want some drama. I've used Loreal in the past so I knew the quality of their mascaras but the brush drew me in so I gave it a try.

I tried this immediately when I got home and I already had mascara on my lashes (Bare minerals sample) which is an ok product (I hate wasting anything so I'm using it up.) I layered this on my lashes and WOW my lashes stood out equal to my light weight false lashes. I did not see the clumping even with the existing coats of other product. It is a very "wet" formula so move carefully or clumping could be a problem. I also use latesse and while my lashes are long they do not curl. I did notice that my lashes did curl back a bit so when I did use it today with my curler the results were dramatic.

Yes I will re-purchase this again to use as one of my go to's when I'm using just mascara that day no lashes. This may not work for everyone but it's worth a try especially for us middle aged girls who need a little help with fuller lashes!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 10/17/2013 6:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Typically, I'm not a fan of L'Oreal mascaras, but I've come across a few rave reviews on the makeup blogs I follow, so I thought I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did. I picked it up for $8.99 at CVS.

The packaging is sturdy without being bulky, and the brush is unique, in that it flares outward at one end. Despite the unique brush, it's very easy to use, and delivered wonderful results. The formula is light and doesn't weigh my lashes down, and it does an excellent job of volumizing and curling my naturally long lashes. After I applied two coats, I used an eyelash curler, and this mascara held the curl all day. I did not experience smudging or flaking, and found that the mascara was easily removed with an oil free eye makeup remover.

I can see this being my daily go-to mascara. If you're looking for a great volumizing formula that boosts curl, I highly recommend it. If you're looking for extreme length, I'd say to go with a lengthening formula for a base coat and follow up with Lash Out Butterfly.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 10/17/2013 8:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

What to say but I'm in love with this mascara!!! Tried it and bought 2 more, black and black-brown>a FABULOUS mascara that gave me beautiful, soft, elongated lashes>LOVE IT :-) Performs better than some of my high-end mascaras! Go buy this now! A real winner :-)

**still love this>makes my lashes soft and fluttery looking>nice, natural, elegant**

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I am generally a high end mascara purchaser. My ideal mascara is ( or should i say was ?) Chanel Inimitable.
I never had luck with drugstore mascaras so even if they are half the price of the high end ones I preferred to pay more but to be better served.
Until i tried this one.
This is a great mascara, better than most high end ones. Blackest black, perfect formula that lengthens, gives volume and that ooomph that we are all loooking for. Great lashes!
Be aware this is not a natural makeup look..everybody will think you're wearing falsies.
Doesn't clump even at the 3rd coat... that superb little brush curls the outer ends to a falsies effect. Removed easily at night with a normal bi phase eye cleanser. Doesn't smudge, stays put even in the heat.
In short: a new love. My previous purchase, Benefit They're Real, went to the trash bin.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 10/19/2013 2:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

There's not much I'm blown away by, especially concerning mascaras, but this is something else. L'Oreal got it perfect this time; when they come out with waterproof I will be over the moon. Firstly, it grabs every single skimpy lash and extends them like crazy with no clumping. I have puny, blonde, nearly transparent lashes ( I'm a natural redhead) so this is heaven for me ( I wear blackest black; otherwise they fade into the background and I like dramatic lashes.) I am reminded of a LancĂ´me mascara that was available in the mid 90's, but can't recall the name; it had similar lash effects and a pleasing smell, not chemical like some tend to be. Naturally they discontinued it... Secondly it doesn't smear, the formula isn't as dry as the false fibers, and not so wet it takes forever to dry on the lashes and smudges all over your eye makeup. Lastly it curves lashes upward without using a lash curler, which never happens for me as mine tend to stick straight out. I really think this one is idiot proof; I tend to be terrible with application and this one is forgiving! Great product for an affordable price.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Back to Top