4.6

Created with Sketch.
40 reviews
85%
would repurchase
4.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 months ago

Not long lasting enough. It’s moisturizing though.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

Rouge Vie 58 is my perfect red. Its hard for me to want to wear a red lip without feeling like Ronald Mcdonald. I've tried Russian Red and Ruby Woo in the past which traumatized me because it didnt look good at all. I was really dissapointed and have been very scared to wear reds. I've always gravitated towards burgundies. Shade and formula, 58 is a rosebud red that looks pillow soft on the lips like silky satin. Its buttery and layers well on top of itself without streakiness. I love how this color is a deeper rusty red without being in your face. I also own Daring Red in the Le Rouge Duo range and that one screams red. This color is so elegant because it is somewhat muted with a hint of brown. Other reds I've tried are hot pink undertone or is too orange. Some are just too bright and somewhat neon red. I am really comfortable rocking Rouge Vie and I feel it is perfect for the colder months. Wear and tear, not the greatest longevity and I honestly prefer the Rouge Allure Velvet Extremes more. I dont use lip liner with Rouge Vie and this does really well applied with a lip brush. It isn't heavy and even though it is a satin matte. The color is perfect but the formula is slightly lacking.

About reviewer (425 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Love love love. This is “creme de la creme” of lipsticks. My favorite shade from the range is 66 L’Indomabile and let me tell you, this is the most STUNNING red with a hint of orange/coral that literally makes me look like Snow White, compliments my fair skin and dark hair so beautifully! I have not found a dupe for this shade- it’s one of a kind. As one of previous reviewers mentioned, Chanel can create colors like no other. The formula is velvety smooth, slightly slippery, non drying, moderately long lasting (I don’t mind reapplying though). It doesn’t make your lips look like raisin. It’s pigmented enough. The magnetic packaging is typical Chanel- can’t get any better. If you’re ready and willing to splurge absolutely go for it.

About reviewer (243 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This was my first Chanel purchase ever. It was overdue but I only really like to buy lipsticks. I've wanted a Chanel lippie for awhile and I researched the shades in this range. I love mattes and semi-mattes, but this was a disappointing. The formula is not great especially for the price. When first applied, it does appear semi-matte, but it transfers very easily for a matte formula. Over the course of a work day, it becomes more drying on my lips. I have to constantly reapply. I would have preferred a cream formula because at least then I would know what I was getting with the wear time and more hydration. I usually wear lip balm under my lipsticks in the morning but it will fade over the day and the more I applied this lipstick, the dryer it would be without the balm barrier. Other lipsticks I find superior: Revlon Super Lustrous Matte, Urban Decay Comfort Matte, NARS, and a luxe lipstick I love: Guerlain Rouge G. On the positive side, I love the shade I own: La Fascinante. It's the perfect pink-red for day for someone who has pigmented lips. I'm sad because I really like the shade. I love the packaging! Very sleek, different and classic glossy packaging. I really enjoying pushing the lipstick out. Due to the fact that I need to constantly reapply this lipstick, I am using it up more quickly than most lipsticks! Won't give up on Chanel and they recently released a Rouge Allure Velvet Extreme which is suppose to be a true matte. I will check it out and/or the original Rouge Allures.

About reviewer (118 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I only have one shade of this lipstick, but it is really nice. It has an interesting texture: it feels a little silicone-y, but in a nice way. It's very soft on the lips, and it isn't a dry looking matte but rather a soft, velvety matte (hence the name.) For me it wears pretty well, around 3-4 hours before needing a touchup. I love the packaging, it is very sleek and chic and fun. The line is very expensive so I don't know if I would buy more for myself, but they are lovely if you're in the market for high end, pretty, matte-but-not-dry lipsticks.

About reviewer (564 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My mom likes this brand lipstick so far. (Latest one purchased 2016) She is very picky with her lipstick. She says it's smooth , pigments are beautiful keeps her lips soft. If it is reformulated and not for the better she will know as she is very sensitive with cosmetics. I hope, specially high end brands will focus on improving high quality of their product and not end up using cheap fillers or alternative cheap items. Customers who buy for quality and not brand will know . Currently, my mom also uses Bite lipsticks and Ysl .

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I never post negative reviews, but I cannot keep my fingers from tapping tonight. I recently purchased three shades from this line, which I have always loved. The Chanel Rouge Allure line of lip colors, that is. Until now. They have "reformulated" their lipsticks (but maintained the same price point- so we pay in diminished product quality); I was so excited to get these and so disappointed when I applied them for the first time- and each time thereafter. They are very pretty shades, but the payoff is "watered down" compared to the line before they dumbed the formilation down. So, yes, we get the name, the beautiful packaging, but the actual lip color is a little more than a balm It takes several swipes to get opacity, is very comfortable but slippery, transfers, and doesn't last but a four hours at most. It seem about half of the overall performance that it used to. I was sorely disappointed but felt it would be too tacky to return for a refund. I should have. Since then, although I have resisted the Tom Ford lipsticks ($53.00 seems ungodly to pay for a lipstick to my thinking) up until now, I was tempted. Bummer, Chanel!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I was at the Chanel counter at Nordstrom a few weeks ago and one of my favorite makeup artists was there and he is now with Chanel, I told him I had been wearing Mac ravishing, which is a light peachy coral(Mac's description) I call the color shrimp because it is the same color as the pinky/peach of a fresh boiled shrimp. I asked him to pick something different, as eight years with same color, fabulous as it was, I was definitely in need of a change and boy-oh-boy is this ever a change. Santos, the makeup guru, did not tell me this was matte nor did I ask. It is very comfortable on and some days I just dab it on and then blend it with my fingers and other times I apply it full tilt and either way it looks stunning, the color is very sophisticated and I think that's due to the creamy matte texture.

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Shade reviewed - Libre. What I like: Absolutely gorgeous neutral nude rose on my olive NC20 colouring. I've often struggled to wear this kind of shade successfully - they're usually too peach, too brown, too light, too warm or too cool. However this is perfect on my pigmented lips. It has a touch of that 90s vibe as it's a little beige but still quite rosy keeping it flattering and pretty. The formula is also lovely - matte but edging towards satin and I get a good 4 to 5 hours wear. The packaging is typical Chanel - so elegant and luxurious. It's a wonderful pick me up lipstick. What I don't like: Not very much. Some seem to report this formula as being drying but I don't find this to be the case. I use a heavy lip treatment every night to keep lips hydrated and in good condition. I absolutely adore this formula and shade - and plan to buy a few more! They are not inexpensive but worth every penny to me. I think if you are a luxury lipstick fan looking for a beautiful matte nude rose then check this out. I've uploaded pics above.

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I really can't understand all these raving reviews. I was passing chanel counter the other day when I saw these lipsticks. Both texture and color reminds me of tinted lip balm. Seriously don't let the word velvet mislead you I was expecting creamy rich intense lipstick but that wasn't the case so save your money and invest it in other brand such as Estée Lauder, Dolce gabbana, armani, oh boy their lipsticks are dreamy creamy, matte, shine, dark and light whatever you like. Now Chanel is great brand when it comes to perfumes but neither makeup nor skincare. Update: as I said before I tried several chanel products and I was pretty disappointed. They have great range of perfumes, body creams, dusting powders and even some makeup. Now for this collection obviously the one I tried was knock off or stored badly because today I gave it another try and I was woowed buttery velvety texture but not completely matte . each color has its own statement and you can't go wrong or look trashy ..really wonderful

About reviewer (112 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairOther

EyesOther




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us