4.1

Created with Sketch.
16 reviews
69%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Last winter I was going to be a spell where I just could not keep my lips from being chapped and I was trying different things coconut oil, argon oil, etc; when I saw this at Sephora and I tried the grapefruit ginger one and this was the first thing to turn the tides in not having my lips so chapped. I feel like it's super moisturizing and I love the fact that has SPF in it however I have since tried the Shea butter one and I prefer that one. I would still buy this one again I just feel like it leaves a little tiny bit of residue or film on the lips. And my bf loves this too. I've gone through two tubes.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I just don't get the hype about these lip balms. I picked this up as a treat to myself since the price is pretty steep, especially since the tube wasn't even half full. I was really looking forward to this flavor, since I love all things grapefruit and ginger scented. What a massive disappointment when I finally put it on, and the flavor didn't resemble anything grapefruit to my nose (however, I also realized too late that my tube had expired 4 months ago, so that may have factored heavily into it). It also burned the corner of my lips like crazy the entire time i wore it. I didn't find it particularly moisturizing at all, just heavy-feeling. The advertising of it being more natural is also pretty deceiving when you take a closer look at it: It is pretty packed with parabens and irritants. The best thing about it was the matte finish, and that's where it ended. I threw it into the trash after two uses, no regrets.

About reviewer (333 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I don't suffer from dry or chapped lips but I do like to hydrate my lips when I go to sleep at night. I apply a coat before bed at night and it lasts until morning when I wake up and brush my teeth. The texture is "wetter" than other lip balms like chapstick or blistex in the hard twist up forms. It reminds me of petroleum jelly thinned out a bit with added scent. As other reviewers have said it doesn't absorb so I would consider it more as a protective barrier rather than a moisturizer.

About reviewer (60 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I love just about anything "grapefruit" and to get a lip balm/treatment that smells of grapefruit AND has SPF 25 AND really moisturizes my lips nicely is a great combination of qualities. I sort of wish this had a bit of a tint to it but I get that it's sort of not just for women but I still wish it came in a version with a bit of a tint (the way Fresh lip balm does). GREAT product, though!

About reviewer (1495 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Jack Black balms are the best. I used Carmex forever, but DH hated the smell. I tried these out a couple years ago and never looked back. Great scents and they actually work better than Carmex, woo! Though my fave formula is the Shea Butter, Grapefruit is really pleasant too, as is the Mint. The only reason I wouldn't re-purchase is that I love the Shea Butter so much.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Brought the value package from Sephora, the twins package stay in the draw for long time before I started using it . I only use it at night time before sleep. In the winter, I used it at night and coat another layer with vasiline. It work pretty well, and really keep my lips smooth . At first , I like the texture, the smell and how it makes my lip smooth. But after I look up the ingredient list on the company website, it fail me. I want a more natural product since I am going to use it on the lip, there is high chances that I will accidently " eat it" . The company website said the ingredient are Listing: ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Octinoxate 7.5%, Avobenzone 3.0%, Petrolatum 40.2%, Lanolin 13.5%. OTHER INGREDIENTS: Avocado (Persea Gratissima) Oil, Beeswax, Butylparaben, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Cocoa Butter (Theodroma Cacao), Cyclohexasiloxane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Isobutylparaben, Isopropylparaben, Kester Wax K-82P (Hydroxy Polyester), Lanolin, Microcrystalline Wax, Black Tea & Blackberry Flavor, Ozokerite, Petrolatum, Polyglyceryl-3 Beeswax, Shea (Butyrospermum Parkii) Butter, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E). But on the box and the tube only mention like half of the list and the only mention the "good " ingredient. I was disappointed after finding out about the ingredient. I found my cheap alternative now - Aquaphor

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Love this product. Love the scent and Taste. Tastes like passion fruit. Moisturizes my lips very well, isn't sticky, and gives my lips a nice sheen! I would definitely repurchase this product and try out the other flavors! :)

About reviewer (732 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

I literally JUST purchased my second tube (because I lost my first one). I use this after using the LUSH Bubblegum Lip Scrub, and it's the nicest thing EVER. Guys trust me, these products go really really well together, especially in the wintertime. I like this product because I don't have to continuously reapply, whilst it sits nicely, comfortably and unobtrusively on my lips for absolutely ages. Smell-wise, I adore it. I haven't smelt the other Jack Black lip treatments but I took a chance and went for this. Glad I picked it. Isn't expensive so I went ahead and took a leap of faith. It paid off!

About reviewer (22 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I like this lip balm. The scent is very fresh and reminds me of summer. The tube packaging is so convenient and the consistency is thick and emollient.

About reviewer (333 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Other, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Great product love all the other lip balms they make but this one doesnt smell that great. but is moisturizing.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us