4.2

Created with Sketch.
1096 reviews
79%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have used this product for over a year and while it's not life-changing, it's a very nice gadget to have if you have clog-prone such as I do. I like to wear Japanese sunscreens and long wearing foundations such as Estee Lauder Double Wear, so this brush is a great guarantee of removing every bit of dirt from my pores at the end of the day. I use this once or twice a week and what I usually do is use an oil cleanser first, hop into the shower to rinse it off, massage a lighter cleanser, and then use the Clarisonic on the second setting with the Radiance (pink) brush. I live in Vietnam, where the weather is humid and tropical. I sweat... a lot. After a day of teaching at public school, if I bothered to tone my face with a cotton pad, it would turn dark gray. There's a lot of dirt and pollution on my skin. Using this product makes my skin amazingly smooth and glowy. There's just no other way to describe it; the ads claim that it cleanses 5x better than just hands and honestly? I agree with them. I'm a proponent of the double cleansing method but even that can fall short if I don't really take enough time to thoroughly massage off my makeup. For a truly deep clean, this is the best method IMHO. I have worn Estee Lauder Double Wear Light and in the evening, cleansed with a light cleanser & this device - the next day my skin was as fresh as a daisy. A few professional estheticians have told me that the Deep Pore brush is too harsh, and in my personal opinion I agree. I think the Radiance Cleansing brush head is sufficient for all of my needs. I can't comment on the other brush heads as those two were the ones I received in my set. So, is it worth it? First, this isn't cheap. But many retailers usually offer a discount such as ULTA and the Clarisonic website itself. If you are thinking about purchasing the Mia Clarisonic, I highly suggest waiting for Black Friday for a 20% off coupon which will reduce the price by a considerable amount. I bought this for ~$120 and I do think it's worth it. Secondly, if you are hoping that it will cure your acne... It won't. It took me a really long time for me to understand how my skin worked. I don't think the Clarisonic Mia would work well for those suffering from cystic or hormonal acne. What it provides is a deep clean - nothing more, nothing less. It will help your serums and skincare sink in more deeply because your skin is cleaner (and therefore amplify the results) but this isn't a miracle machine. What's worked for me is glycolic acid... the Mia just helps boost the effects. :) Finally, consider that the Clarisonic is a patented machine. It is often imitated, but never quite perfectly duplicated.

About reviewer (134 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love this product. I would consider it one of my most important required beauty products. Before i used this product, i would spend ages scrubbing my makeup off my face, and i tone immediately after washing, and when doing do, I'd still have heaps of makeup on my face. After getting into a proper routine and getting used to using the mia 2 i technically wouldn't even need to tone my face anymore because I never have left over makeup on my face after using my mia 2. My cheeks are soft and smooth and if i do get breakouts, they subside a lot faster and blackheads are almost invisible compared to before. I know the immediate reaction and some initial breakouts may scare you... but my skin is so much better and softer now than it was before, i use the sensitive brush head on my skin but tend to use it for about a minute - and then maybe another 20 or so seconds after to go over everything lightly again. When cleansing I tend to put some cleanser on the brush head and some on my face also as it helps it lather up better. The initial reaction is worth the skin you'll see within a couple of weeks. *Edit* The only problem with my mia two is that is still a little harsh on sensitive skin, even with the specific sensitive brush heads. I have been using the luna for the last few days, and it has been better in that its medical silicone, easily cleanable after each wash (way more hygenic) and softer on my skin. And was not really an issue but my mia would last about 10 or 15 uses before dying and takes 12 or so hours to charge. (Maybe takes longer to charge now and dies quicker after two years of having it?) The luna 2 takes only 1 hour and in that one hour claims to work 450 times before needing another charge. (Or 5-7 months). Which is crazy in comparison charge wise. Very impressed with my luna 2 for sensitive skin. So hygenic, soft, gentle and the charge last is insane! The mia was around before the luna 2, and it is and always will be a good facial cleanser. I believe my luna 2 just has a few modern advantages that the mis doesn't. Like not needing a replaceable brush head at all, and so on.

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Other

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this with points at Shoppers - I don't think I'd ever buy it with cash as it's definitely very expensive. I've been using it for over a year now. Initially I was using it just in the evening but a few months ago I started using it both morning and evening. Has my skin improved? I wouldn't really say so - I haven't noticed any noticeable changes. But I will keep using it and I'd be very sad if it broke. I used to use the Olay Regenerist Facial Cleansing Brush but the Clarisonic is definitely better. It leaves my skin feeling really clean and definitely smoother than when I wash it with hands only. It also feels like it thoroughly removes sunscreen, makeup and anything else. I buy generic brushes on Amazon though - the originals are ridiculously expensive and no better in my opinion. If you can afford it, I definitely recommend it!

About reviewer (114 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairGrey, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Being a gadget person and hearing good things (and not so good things) about the Clarisonic, I decided to get this after I heard about the foundation brush and how good it's suppose to be, I figured I would get one and see if there are skin benefits as well. My skin is oily T-zone (dry everywhere else) in the summer, all around dry in the winter, and year round I get PMS acne (sometimes awful and other times not, depending on the month). I know it will not fix my PMS acne as this is a hormonal issue, but I don't have much to lose since the intention of this was mostly for the foundation brush. Pros: Simple to use Makes skin glow after the first use Easy to charge Easy to clean Variety of brushes to choose from Works with any cleanser Cons: Replacing the brush every few months ($27-30, depending on style) Large compared to your bare hands or washcloth Might be a hassle if you're frequently traveling Conclusion: Totally get this (on sale) if you want a cool foundation brush and you crave a little physical exfoliation. The Clarisonic, like all technology and tools, has a learning curve. I think if you're patient, the (subtle) rewards will come. Just don't overdo it when you first get it! Details: Value: Please don't buy this at full price. Ulta occasionally has this on sale and you can use a 20% prestige coupon for this. I ended up paying less than $80 USD for the Mia 1; compared to $200+ when they first came out, I would say that this is a decent value. You need to replace brush heads every few months which can add up. Knocked off a couple lippies on the Price section for that. Functionality: This is not the Clarisonic that has all the bells and whistles like multiple speeds and timer, but it's also an entry level device. However, the actual device is very high on quality and seems solidly built. The more simple a device is, functionally, the less prone to defects, which is something I appreciate. I don't seem to be needing two speeds and I can count in my head as far as timing how long to wash (it turns off automatically after 60 seconds anyway). One button turns it on, don't need to bother with speed setting. Detaching brush heads is easy and since there's not much to the device it's easy to clean. Charging: I like that you don't have to plug anything into the Mia and its inductive charging capabilities, it gives me a peace of mind that this is truly waterproof. Charging is a breeze, plug the included adapter in and attach the other end to the end of the Mia. An hour or two later you're all set. Brush heads: My Mia 1 came with the Radiance Brush Head, which is super soft. I like that there are a bunch of different brush heads that you can choose from, even a foundation brush which is amazing. Go to Ulta/Sephora to pet them all before deciding on brush head replacement as some people like a softer cleansing brush head while others like a harder cleansing brush head. 01/06/18: Every other night cleansing: I have had this for three weeks, and will continue to update this review as time goes by. My normal routine is using this every other day as part two of double cleansing (oil cleansing first then Clarisonic with CeraVe Hydrating cleanser). It's nice that I can use my existing favorite cleanser with the Clarisonic, which is nice. The way my skin feels after the first time was amazing, my skin was glowing, which leads up to the next hardest part: resisting to want to use it the next morning, and the following evening, etc. Many people fail at using the Clarisonic because they over exfoliate, so as much as I want to keep using it, less seems more with the Clarisonic (at least for the first couple of weeks). After the 2nd use, I did notice a tiny broken capillary: lesson learned, you do not need much pressure, if any, when using the Clarisonic. Haven't seen any broken capillaries since. Following this method seems to be keeping my skin glowy, smoother, without purge (at least after 3 weeks). Dry patches seem to have lessened and smoothed out since using this device. Clarisonic on acne: Acne is something that I have been battling with for ages. I have noticed less "little" zits since I started to use this, but my PMS acne on the jawline has not (and I don't expect it to) gone away. However, the Clarisonic seems to speed up the existing zits' existence without the need for spot treatment (this is a WIN for me). On average, zits seems to heal about a day to a few days quicker (depending on size). My zits aren't being scrubbed off by the Clarisonic, but I feel that it's perhaps just scrubbing out the grossness underneath is what is promoting skin regeneration (I'm not a dermatologist so I can be full of crap right now). All in all, this is a benefit I did not expect to see when using the Clarisonic.

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought the Mia 1 during Amazon's Black Friday sale. I kept hearing how it helps with blackheads and even stimulates your lymph nodes and helps with puffiness under the eyes and what not. I have issues with both so I figured I'd treat myself. I love the way it feels on my skin, it's like a massage and it relaxes me. It cleans all of the makeup off my face except my eye makeup, I take that off beforehand with coconut or jojoba oil. Mine came with the radiance head and it makes my skin so clear and glowy. I still get occasional pimples on my forehead but they disappear faster since I started using this nightly. My blackheads are going away too! I still have puffy undereyes but they are less pronounced, and my skin overall looks so nice. If you have the money and see this on sale I'd say go for it! I'm so glad I did.

About reviewer (307 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I used to own the Clarisonic Plus (Pro version), but after 5 years my Plus model no longer holds a charge; so I was forced to buy a new one. I was lucky enough to come across the Mia 1 model (on sale - yay); and decided to purchase. My Clarisonic Mia 1 came with a USB charger that is magnetic and holds on to the front of the handle to charge (I use my iPhone accessory to connect the USB so i can charge to a wall outlet), and a radiance brush head which I really love as it’s not rough on my sensitive and acne prone skin. My verdict: I like it! It is easy to use, has 1 speed, and is the simplest Clarisonic out there. Tbh after assessing my needs/wants: the timer and the different speeds (bells and whistles) is a plus to have (haha see what I did there); but based on my experience after using the Clarisonic Plus; I only gravitated to one speed and hardly used it on my body. So if you have a simple facial cleansing routine and just need to wash your face in peace without the constant beeping - then I recommend this model (Mia 1) At first having no timer threw me off; but with constant use you get used to it. I also liked the idea of customizing my cleansing time to the area of my face that needed the extra scrub. The Mia 1 model will work well for individuals that have a simple facial cleansing routine and have no intentions of using the device for the rest of their body.

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I got a pale pink one of these Clarisonics and it's interesting. I had the original model years ago and didn't really like it. Perhaps it is the fact the Mia is a lot lighter weight and I have a bit of arthritis in my hands. The Mia 1 is just easier for me to hold. The charger is also very new: it's an induction charger and it clings magnetically to the base and charges either USB or with an adapter for AC current. I really noticed how wonderful my over 65 year old skin looks after using it. The light brush doesn't irritate me and I can really see a difference, even the first time. The charger is also a lot less of a space-hog. You can put it in a drawer, no need for a cradle. There isn't the beeping for moving from quadrant to quadrant on your face, but you can figure that out yourself. The speed is the lower of the two on the Pro and it really shouldn't be used with the body scrubbing head, so if you use one of these to exfoliate legs for pre-fake tanning. you'd be better off with the pro. I have to say, the smaller unit is great for me and I find I use it now a lot because it's not a chore to hold it.

About reviewer (246 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've been wanting to purchase my first clarisonic forever. I ordered the mia1 in electric pink, because i loved the berry, purplish fuchsia color on the picture on the official clarisonic website, however when i received it looked neon barby pink, the color that i really, really dislike. You may say color doesn't really matter if it works well, but it's a big deal for me, because it gives a certain mood, i like things that are pleasing my eyes. Moreover, i want to know exactly what i'm gonna get for the money im spending, considering it's price and the fact that it is a high-end item. I can not return it, because currently i live outside of the US and i had to ask my friend to order this for me, while he temporarily was in U.S.A. So, obviously nobody will refund my money. This neon barby pink color frustrates me every time i hold the device, It looks cheap and not luxerious for it's price at all, looking more like a kid's toy. I'm very disapointed by this purchase. In fact, the device itself works pretty well, leaving my skin smooth and clean, it tickles my nose so much i can't bare it. Also i found out i would like speed variety, so i guess mia 2 or other types of clarisonic devices will be a better option. I feel like the product is overpriced, so it's best to wait for holidays and sales, to buy it at a good value. I think clarisonic should post the pictures of how devices look for real, instead of photoshoping and creating things that don't exist, especially considering the fact that devices are actually of a good quality. It is not fair to the customers. I do not recomend buying it (at least online) since you are getting an item with mystery color that you may not like at all. I do not think people should be getting "bad surprises" like i did for their money, which they worked hard to earn. I have contacted them on social medias, and got no response. I also have written a review on clarisonic website, but they didn't post it backing it up by "Your review didn't meet our guidelines", which i checked beforehand. I guess they only welcome the positive reviews, which gives me a bad impression about the company for sure.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I am so glad I invested in a Clarisonic Mia. I have had mine for over 2 years now and it still looks and works like new. I can feel a difference in how well my moisturizer works compared to when I don't use the brush. I use it everyday in the shower. If the battery does and I forget to charge it (I only charge when the battery dies, about every 10 days or so), my routine feels incomplete. I also have bought the Mia as a gift for my sister and mom. My sister has been using it for a couple of weeks and likes it. My mom isn't good about using hers regularly, but I think that it is because she doesn't follow a routine the way i do. It is worth the price- definitely a high quality investment!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

It's a nice device to wash your face with - it cleans and leaves your face feeling smooth and calm. But please do not expect miracles from this! It's designed to wash your face and that's literally all it does. It does not give you anything more. I think some people read too far into this product. It's great for what it is, but it's nothing more than an electric face cleaning brush.

About reviewer (38 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us