3.9

Created with Sketch.
1577 reviews
72%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range
$9.99 on Ulta Beauty
Shop Now

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

I’m surprised by the high reviews for this. It’s not bad but certainly not the best gel liner. I have it in black; I don’t like the brush it comes with & use another brands angled liner brush to apply. Pros: fairly opaque, somewhat long lasting. Cons: too thick- even brand new this is very thick and therefore doesn’t apply smoothly, it should glide on easily.

About reviewer (64 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairBlond

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

This is a massively popular eyeliner that I feel has improved over time. Even though it's not the cheapest, the formula is definitely better than your average pencil/liquid eyeliner and it stays put. At the time of this review I am in Melbourne, Australia where the temperature is currently 42 degrees Celsius (107 Fahrenheit) and my eyeliner has not smudged, faded, or transferred on my lids nine hours ago. That is really impressive for someone who has Asian oily eyelids and can only wear waterproof mascara lest it smudges throughout the day. I find Western formulas don't cut the mustard compared to Japanese eye makeup products but this one happily does, and it's widely available in most drugstores. That said I always use a high-quality eye primer (Inglot Eye Shadow Keeper or NARS Pro Prime) before applying any other eye makeup, which is essential. It goes without saying that the black gel liner will smudge a bit more than the brown one but both are pretty long wearing and will need an oil-based remover to take off at the end of the day. In terms of how easy it is to work with this gel eyeliner I think it comes down to what kind of brush you're using and making sure the amount of product on the brush is appropriate for application. I always dip my brush into the pot, go straight to my hand, and take off any excess product so that the liner won't look too thick or uneven first time around on my lash line. I don't always use an angled brush either because I like to smudge it out for soft definition around the eyes; a tiny pencil brush is better for this kind of application. If you're not comfortable having to use a brush for this type of eyeliner I wouldn't recommend this, but I find it a bit more forgiving than liquid eyeliner as you can smudge and alter the shape of the liner while it's still creamy on the lid. Once it dries, it'll stay there until you're ready to take it off. I like the brown color for normal, everyday wear and the black color for more glam/vintage looks and occasions. Pro tip: If the product has dried out, mix in a few drops of Inglot Duraline to turn it back new. Take care so that the lid is screwed on tight and stored upside down when not in use.

About reviewer (129 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

I was really surprised to see the high rating on this product. I bought one in black and another in brown. First, the brush that comes with it is completely useless. I tried an angled brush and just your average eyeliner brush (MAC 210) to apply it without success. The product is super thick and tugs at the eyelids leaving drag marks. It dries so fast you have no time to work with it. If you make a mistake, be prepared to completely wash off your make up because using micellar water to correct any mistakes is impossible. Even my best make-up remover still leaves traces behind. My eyes hurt so bad after trying to remove this. The only thing I have found that it is good for is tightlining the upper waterline, simply because it dries quickly and is impossible to remove. I will stick with my MAC fluidline. More expensive, but performs better in all areas.

About reviewer (67 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I have VERY oily and hooded eyelid. Before I got this, I've tried quite a few of eyeliner including MAC Fluidline, Bobbi Brown, Tony Moly, and Kate. I have also used Marc Jacobs Matte Gel Highliner. I think this one is comparable with MAC and Marc Jacobs. I much prefer this one because of the price and because the MAC dried fairly quickly though I managed to use it all up after heating it in a bowl of hot water lol. And Marc Jacobs one isn't sharp enough for me to create thin line and a tiny bit drier formula. Bobbi Brown worked the worst. Ended up throwing it away. With ANY eyeliner, I have to prep my eyelids very well. I always use my Becca Ever-Matte Foundation as my eye primer (since it's horrible as foundie), set it with mattifying powder (I use Innisfree Zero Sebum or Rimmel Stay Matte), and let it bake. The only way my eyeliners work. I wish they had it in gel pencil form for easier and hassle free application.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Probably the only one I will use to line my eyes. The product applies smoothly and doesn’t smudge like pencil liners and I actually use a short angle brush rather than the one it comes with to apply the liner to give a straight line and it doesn’t drag my lids. I tend to have oily lids and with this product the line actually stays put and no smudging occurs. My go to for eyeliner.

About reviewer (62 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Kinky, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Got drunk one rainy day, with 100% humidity, cried my eyes out, fell asleep with my makeup on... And woke up with perfect eyeliner!

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have this is brown and black. I LOVE these gel eyeliners. They're so creamy and vibrant. I use my own eyeliner brush because it gives me more control, but the brush it comes with works pretty well and I sometime ruse it to brush a dark eyeshadow by my bottom lash line as a substitution to eyeliner.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Great product. I use the Sigma E06 brush to apply it. It lasts long on the lid, doesn't crack or flake off. The only issue I have with it is that it transfers on my eyelid (I have extremely hooded eyes) when I'm not wearing eyeshadow even though I prime and set my lids. However, when I do wear heavy eyeshadow like a cut crease or something, it doesn't transfer. Not sure why that's the case. I wear eyeshadow pretty much daily so I am really enjoying this product. It also works really well in the waterline and lasts all day.

About reviewer (192 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

II'm not a (gel) eyeliner pro, so that probably does help - but I do find this product rather hard to apply. The problem for me is that it doesn't slide over my lids very well - and I have slightly 'loose' eyelids, so it takes a while to even be able to draw an actual line. And the fact that I do have to put it on my lid over and over again makes it hard for me to draw a neat line with a brush. The product dries pretty quickly on the brush (or something) so that makes it harder as well. However - there were a few times in which I managed to make it look pretty nicely, but that did take me much longer than I wanted. ;-) Perhaps I should try a better brush (used the one that comes with the liner now) but I'm just not sure if the gel works best for me. However - the times when I did use it - I was happy with the results of how long it lasted and everything. It didn't smudge at all (except if you'd really rub your eye) and didn't leave a marking above my eyelid - which some liners tend to do after a while. That fact does, however, make it pretty hard to remove (I use micellair water that's usually able to remove all my make-up in a second). Especially if you want to fix a mistake with a cotton swab while applying it - it barely comes off. Removing it gets easier after a few hours of wearing it. So if your eyelids are a little less 'loose'/wrinkly and you are able to draw a proper line with this without having to reapply product on the brush all the time - it's definitely pretty amazing! For now I prefer their eyeliner pens when it comes to how easy it is to use the product. I'll just continue trying to get better with this!

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Cannot figure out how people make this stuff work! First of all, the brush sucks, and an open cap means dust can stick to it if you're not religious about cleaning your brushes. Then there's the formula, which is okay for the first few applications but quickly dries out and gets clumpy *in the pot*, so forget a clean line. If you can manage to apply it smoothly, it still takes a couple coats to get full opacity -- this is really more the consistency of an eyeliner pencil, doesn't feel like gel at all. Honestly, this eyeliner is difficult to work with and I regret ever straying from my Loreal Lacquer Liner.

About reviewer (158 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairRed

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.