3.9

Created with Sketch.
127 reviews
71%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I purchased the Acne-prone Face & Body Bar NOT the troubled skin /severely dry skin bar. They are similar but do not seem to be the exact same and look like they have different ingredients. I will post a photo showing the differences. It is a very hard bar compared to other black soaps that are fairly soft and can become extremely soft and dissolve quickly if you do not allow them to dry properly. I also do not understand why it is so black and not brown like many other bars of natural black soap I have tried. I always cut my bars into smaller pieces for easier use. I usually take a few very small pieces and put them into a travel-sized bottle and make my own liquid face wash that is easier to use at the sink. However, with the SM bars, they do not dissolve like black soap normally does so I was unable to do this which is another reason I will not repurchase. Overall it was just okay. It cleansed without being harsh and I also did not experience any of the dryness or irritation that you can get from other black soaps if you do not allow your skin to become acclimated to it over time. It was more gentle and with that being said I feel it was far to gentle to really experience the benefits you can get with other natural black soaps such as the exfoliating and improvement in the skin tone and acne marks. If you have very sensitive skin or dry skin the SM black soap bars may be a better option for you. For myself, I will stick to ordering my black soap as it provides much better results and improvement in my skin that I can actually see.

About reviewer (1081 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have not written a review in a while but I have to rave about this soap. I bought it on a whim at the grocery store. It was less than $5 - maybe $3.99. I was having a bit of an acne flare-up and thought "I'll try it - why not?" It is seriously the best thing I have ever washed my face with. It really gets all the dirt and makeup and everything out of your skin. My skin is very clear since using it. As an experiment, I washed my beauty blender with the soap. IT LOOKED BRAND NEW. My other cleansers would never get all of the makeup off my beauty blender! It is a bit drying, especially in winter, so be sure to moisturize well. Also the lather makes a bit of a mess in a white sink. Other than that I love the product.

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I purchased this for my husband who has issues with oily skin and body acne. It was touted to me as the "natural" alternative to Saliycilic Acid (he spends hours in the sun, his current soap uses SA and Saliycilic Acid causes sun sensitivity.) I'm always on the look out for alternative products for him. The sales attendant said it was moisturizing, naturally antibacterial and a great anti acne product. I paid $6 for the small bar. Him: He tried it that night. No comment on the smell, he said it was weird washing his body with a soap the color of dirt. He never asks me if I have skin lotion he can borrow. That night he did. He used quite a bit of a heavy moisturizer I use. Me: The next day, I tried it in the shower. The bar was exotic looking and beautiful. Rough cut with little specks of some herbal substance. It smells wonderful, very earthy and hints of vanilla. Like a rain on dark Jungle soil. It was pleasantly different. Not a typical perfume soap smell. The lather was good, the little speckles of herbs annoyed me. The color of the soap troubled me a little. I am so pale that products have actually stained my skin. This soap and lather were BLACK. I didn't have an issues, but the amount of coloring was unsettling. After using, the soap scum feel was bad. Really bad. My skin got so dry that it cracked! I have dry and sensitive skin. Even saliycilic acid wasn't that harsh on me! Over all, for me never again. My husband says he somewhat liked the way it cleaned and the smell, and asked me to find it in liquid form. The liquid body wash is way less drying. I threw away the bar, no one wanted to use it. He finished the bottle of the liquid and requested his regular back. I say it's a gimmicky product.

About reviewer (237 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I purchased this because I have very sensitive skin and cystic acne. After one week my face cleared up! This is the only cleanser I’ve used that has cleared my sensitive skin up. I am definitely keeping this as my HG!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Tan

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've been using this stuff for years but I'm using the liquid version not the bar. I have sensitive skin and it does not break me out at all. A little drying but I have oily skin so it's perfect for me.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My rating is for using this as a brush cleaner only: I am hesitant to use this on my face; I bought this, as a few other reviewers, to use as a brush cleaner. Works great as a brush cleaner. I first saw the idea on a youtube video. There are a couple youtube videos demonstrating this, but it is pretty self-explanatory. Does have a smell that can be a little off-putting, if your nose is sensitive to scents. Works just fine as a brush cleaner, I cannot attest to any other uses for this. But I doubt I will repurchase, I will likely stick with the spritz type brush cleaners. I guess I am just too much of a traditionalist in that regard.

About reviewer (686 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I was browsing Ulta looking for a solid brush cleaner, and the only one I could find was $20. I'm not one to spend that much on a small tin of brush soap, so I started looking for their bar soaps and came across this one. When I finally returned home, I used this to clean some eye and face brushes, one of which I had already tried to clean before but failed at- you cannot imagine how much residue this soap was able to get out of that brush! It worked well and was really easy to swirl my brushes on the soap bar to lather up. I'm completely satisfied with my purchase! On a side note, I did use this 1 time as a 2nd cleanser for my face, and never again. I thought it left me too squeeky clean and that it was too harsh for my skin. But as a brush cleanser this is fantastic.

About reviewer (118 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Other, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Coarse

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

After hearing all the hype, I really wanted to like this. It seemed to be a miracle worker for so many people, and for the price, it seemed like a great buy. The soap has a really strong smell like black licorice/fake cherry and is black with small pieces of what I think is plantain peel?? I lathered the soap on a small facial towel and used it in the morning and at night. Right away, I started breaking out in small clusters of whiteheads that soon progressed into cystic pimples. I freaked out a bit but saw some posts about a possible purging period with this product, so I kept using it. My skin only proceeded to get worse, so I did more research into the purging process. It should only happen with products that contain agents that increase the rate of cell turnover, bringing any hidden bacteria and pimples to the skin. This product doesn't contain anything that should cause purging. I stopped using it and realized how sensitive and dry it made my skin. It's been 3 days since I stopped using the soap, and my skin is dramatically improving. For some, this is a great buy!! But for others like me, this product did not work out.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This product broke me out sooo bad and dried out my face. I only used it for a week and realised I began to develop cystic pimples, I thought it was just a purging period but I was wrong. It got worse and worse, clusters of pimples all over my face. I've got oily/combination skin but this soap literally dried out my face so bad that moisturiser couldn't even hydrate it. Bar soap aren't meant for the face. Avoid at all costs.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

The first time I bought this was because I was experiencing some facial breakouts and wanted to experiment with something new and more natural, instead of staying with my usual Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser bar. Hmm, I wouldn't say I like this for my face because it stripped my skin from moisture. BUT I really liked it for my body because it makes you feel squeaky clean- very, very clean. I, honestly, don't know if I would use it for facial acne or troubled skin, because I suffer from mild rosacea and the excessive dryness exacerbates it, and this made my skin quite dry. It makes a lot of suds with just a little bit that you use. The smell is quite nice, kind of sweet and clean at the same time and the actual bar of soap is HUGE in comparison to regular soaps. It comes wrapped in a plastic paper, nothing fancy, but you can actually see the bar of soap. I buy this sporadically, whenever I feel like it. It's not like I NEED this, but it makes my body feel squeaky clean, which I like ^_^

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us