4.2

Created with Sketch.
33 reviews
82%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

This is amazing. I have the trio DC1. This is just perfection. Figuring out how to work with it doesn't take long (depends on the person and type of problem areas they are looking to cover too) and it gives such a professional looking result! I have Nars, MAC, Cle De Peau and Dermablend, MAQpro, Guerlain, to compare as well as cheaper stuff like Milani's cover and conceal palette. Honestly I think this trumps them for that specific flawless but natural look that you see in ads and on films. The others are good and have their place but this would be the best bang for your buck considering the colour range and small amounts needed. The main thing is it needs committment to sit there for some time to work with it whereas the others are speedier. For easy and quick, and basic daily needs, other concealers are ideal, but for that amazing result with more time and patience to devote to an application, maybe mixing a couple of shades for different areas of discolouration, this is good.

About reviewer (105 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

The Dermacolor Camouflage foundation is by far the best foundation that I have ever used. It matches my skin tone perfectly and I don't think that I've ever found a shade that's so identical with my skin tone! This is a foundation that can be applied very light-handed (this is how I like it) or you can build it up to full coverage but then don't forget to set it! I would highly recommend getting one if you're on the hunt for a creme foundation! I do recommend getting in contact with Kryolan or find a store that sells Kryolan products as the pictures of the shades aren't the best! They are very helpful and offer samples as well. https://youtu.be/7I_oxP3RJ-s

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I was very disappointed with this product... The dermatologist recommended it to me as camouflage for acne. The dermatologist claimed that there are two products: this one and the Dermacol product, but the other one is hard to get... So I bought Dermacolor. It doesn't hide well and it smudges, I don't recommend it. For me - quite useless. I bought an alternative - a Dermacol product: Dermacol make-up cover (dermacol-cosmetics.co.uk) - turned out to be perfect. It perfectly hides pimples, shadows under the eyes and even a tattoo, and it looks very natural at the same time. I will never buy Dermacolor again.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I love this product and it will always be in my professional kit. But it's not for everyone. There are unique qualities about this foundation as to why it's more for pros and not enthusiasts and I will list them down below. I think this foundation is a litmus test of sorts for a makeup artist - if you can find a way to use it, you're probably a great one, and if you can't, then maybe you should learn how to manipulate products because that is what separates a pro from an enthusiast. CONS (and solutions to these cons) - The reason why this foundation transfers is because it's not a self setting one, which makes it way easier to touch up on set or on a photoshoot. To prevent transfer, I suggest a setting spray or setting the foundation with a good translucent powder and a powder puff. - The reason why it's difficult to blend out this foundation is because it's a full coverage wax formulation. 78% of the Dermacolor is pure pigment, while most foundations for the consumer market are made with 9% to 12% pigment. There aren't any special ingredients like hyaluronic acid or SPF to dilute the formula or to make it more "slippy". Consequently, it's a different beast than the foundations we're mostly used to, myself included! But what I do is I use a palette knife to scrape out a bit, and mix it for at least half a minute to make the texture softer. Then, I add a few drops of Kryolan Makeup Blend, which is a fluid (made of evaporating silicones) that makes the foundation more slippery like a liquid foundation. DON'T use an oil - I've tried this before and it doesn't work as well as you think. You can also mix it with MAC's Face and Body, Embryolisse Lait Creme Concentre, or even a mixing medium to make it easier to work with as well. - Skin prep is absolutely essential if you want the best results from this foundation (although to be fair this applies to all foundation). The bare minimum should be a good moisturizer on clean skin. I've always liked Embryolisse underneath Dermacolor but anything that's rich and nourishing (Magic Cream, Skin Food, ect.) will work really well. If you're oily skinned like me, opt for a hydrating serum. I've also seen demos that use squalane oil and letting the face fully absorbing it before application as well. IF YOU SKIP PREPPING THE SKIN, DON'T EVEN BOTHER APPLYING. it's not for lazy people. (As for primers... Well I just don't believe in primers so that will have to be a matter of what you prefer.) PROS: Now with all these conditions in mind, Dermacolor is going to make you look absolutely amazing in front of a camera. Because it's made with pharmaceutical grade ingredients, it's also safe for all different skin types (Rosacea! Acne prone! Melasma! Sensitive! Pick your poison!). Because it's made of wax, it won't oxidize, it'll stay on under water, and remain stable despite the temperature outside. You can manipulate the finish to whatever coverage you want - tinted moisturizer for that no makeup makeup look? Mix in some moisturizer! You have a serious case of cystic acne? Dot the foundation on moisturized skin and blend with a clean synthetic foundation brush! Do you have dark circles? Mix 1 dot of Face and Body with the foundation for coverage that just won't quit. - Application: I recommend using a clean synthetic brush. Sometimes I use the triangle sponges to sheer out the coverage. Focus on the places that need the most coverage. Use thin layers and really blend. You will be surprised how much Dermacolor can cover! - And talking about color choices, WOW. I can't think of another line that offers as much choice and selection as Kryolan. You can match anyone from the palest of the Irish to the blue black complexions of the Bantu tribes. On top of that, there's a straight up magenta. Olive yellow. A taupe brown. Obviously these colors aren't for foundation but for color correction and contouring. If you're hard to match, try asking for samples. I myself own a concealer circle with all the primary shades and a black and white just so that I'll be prepared for any situation. The last pro I have to add is that it's quite cheap for a professional quality foundation. It's about 3-5 pounds per pan which makes it a great choice for artists building up their kit. The versatility should be something to be admired if you're interested in saving space in your kit. I've seen artists with so many bottles and tubes in their kit that I'm surprised that they can carry it all without breaking their back. But with a simple pallette I'm pretty much set for the base.

About reviewer (134 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I've got nothing to add to the Kryolan-lovers' reviews except one thing: I'm 63. You'd think this would look like Grey Gardens on me. It doesn't. I use it on my nose (red) and to cover my bluish circles under my eyes. I use a areal Techniques concealer buffing brush and set it with Kryolan powder. You'd never know that I had anything on (I rarely wear another foundation) and it lasts until the moment I take it off 12 hours later.

About reviewer (417 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Ordered Kryolan DC Camo refill shade to try - first of all, their photos of shades are HUGELY mis-represented and don't bother calling them about it; they don't care. Plus this concealer is thick and creases badly (on me) even with primer. Had to toss it.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairSilver

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have a love hate relationship with this product. I have oily skin with some acne scarring and wanted something to help cover it up. So I initially used this product as a foundation (which I've seen makeup artists do) rather than just a concealer which is what it was intended for. I used a very dense, flat top foundation brush which I swirled into the tub and blended into my skin. Obviously the more product you use the better the coverage, but although less product doesn't cover as well, the finish is more flawless and natural where too much can be cakey. So here are the things I love about this foundation: - amazing, full coverage - natural finish - huge shade selection - long lasting And here are the things that I don't love about it: - extremely transferable (forget about taking an afternoon nap or putting a sweater on - this stuff gets everywhere!) - not breathable at all (summer is the worst, it feels like you're wearing a mask) - creases in places - the product in the tub oxidized Although this looked great at times, I could not handle my skin not being able to breathe and my makeup rubbing off on literally everything that brushed against it. If you don't have too many marks and if applied correctly, this will look great for a special event. Other than that just stick to using it as a concealer. The only reason I will purchase this again is to use as a concealer - it works great for my under eye circles when used with a setting powder.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This thing will cover up tattoos. The pigmentation is insane, the longevity is good depending on what foundation you us and what powder you have set it with, but I use this to cover up acne scars and spots and it has never disappointed me. Not only that, but because it's so pigmented, a small jar can last forever and it doesn't build texture. So if you're looking for a good concealer for spot concealing, you definitely have to try this.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Yesssss. Heavy duty concealer, finally one that really covers stuff. Kryolan to me is a brand that has this "experienced" vibe to it. When you make stage-makeup, you have to know your stuff, you have no excuses when you have to do sweaty dancer's and circus artists' makeup, it has to be good quality and staying power. I'm a Kryolan groupie and would repurchase their products again and again. They're cruelty-free, too. pro: - COVERAGE, COVERAGE, COVERAGE - blends beautifully - minimalistic packaging, no fuss or extra plastic that crowds up your makeup bag/ drawer con: - you have to like the somewhat prescription creme - like smell - consistency is very stiff, you have to warm it up first

About reviewer (324 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Yay finally found a concealer to cover tattoos!!!! So I've been searching for a while to find something that can actually cover tattoos. I have a pretty big tattoo on my shin and calf area. Many times when I have auditions or go to casting calls. I need to have it covered. I've tried many products in the past. They all seem to not cover completely and this stuff actually works! I add a little primer over the tattoo, add Dermacolor over the tattoo area. I after spray a little aerosol hair spray over the Dermacolor. Then add NYX's Stay Matte Not Flat Powder over. Applied with a medium sized cotton powder puff. Last spritz with NYX's Stay Matte Finish Spray. Stays on for hours and looks so natural you would never guess there's even a tattoo there.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us