Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock SPF 85

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock SPF 85

3.6

67 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Avobenzone (3%), Homosalate (15%), Octisalate (5%), Octocrylene (4.5%), Oxybenzone (6%) Inactive Ingredients: Water, Butyloctyl Salicylate, Silica, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Beeswax, Ethylhexylglycerin, PEG 100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Diethylhexyl 2,6 Naphthalate, Acrylates/C10 30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, BHT, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Acrylates/Dimethicone Copolymer, Acrylates C12 22 Alkyl Methacrylate Copolymer, Disodium EDTA, Triethanolamine, Fragrance, Methylisothiazolinone, May Contain: Chlorphenesin, Benzisothiazolinone 5/21/09


on 5/5/2016 12:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I really liked how it protected and hydrated your skin without making it appear or feel oily or greasy for a long time. Water resistant and a nice price, perfect for summer.



on 11/26/2015 1:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is great on my body as is it's not sensitive like my face is. Stings my skin a little upon application and definitely stings if you manage to get it in or even near your eyes; but it's not too greasy or shiny and most importantly has been doing a good job of keeping me from getting burnt this Summer. I think I still prefer titanium dioxide based sunscreens for being gentler on sensitive skin than avobenzone ones. But I'll definitely use this one at least until the bottles empty.


To Read all 67 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I use this as my daily sunscreen and I'm so happy with it. After finding out that my primer with SPF 30 is actually useless (you would need to apply a thick layer everywhere in order for the SPF to be effective) I tried every sunscreen I could find but they all left me greasy or with a sickly white cast. This one dries matte, doesn't feel like sunscreen after the first 5 minutes, and I can reapply without it messing up my foundation. Love it, I'll buy this one forever... Or until neutrogena decide to change the formula.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this sunscreen for just over a year and i love it! I originally purchased this since i get bad eczema in the summer and needed something with a high SPF so my face wouldn't be irritated by the sun. The cream itself is very thick, feels almost like a liquid zinc. Despite this, it goes on clear and does not make you look washed out. Smells like any other sunscreen but has a nice 'Fresh' smell to it. You don't get that 'blocked up' feeling when wearing this on your face like i get with other sunscreen. I do have sensitive skin and it has not made me break out once! It is only water resistant for 80 minutes. I bought this on my trip to bali where every day was 35 - 40 degrees celsius. I did not get burnt once (on my face). This is the only sunscreen i buy, and will ever buy! I have recomended it to all my friends who now use this as a daily face moisturiser/sunscreen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2014 12:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Broke me out instantly. Put it on in the morning, and by noon I counted about ten little tiny whiteheads across my nose and cheeks. That was last week. This week, and I am still trying to get rid of the little bastards! Didn't get burned that day, and it didn't leave a white cast (which I'm grateful for, though maybe a white cast might have helped to camouflage my new "friends"...), but this stuff is terrible and absolutely unsuitable for acne-prone skin. A shame, because it was recommend by my dermatologist.


on 8/21/2014 1:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

From past experiences, sunblock just doesn't agree with my skin. It gets greasy fast sitting on top of my moisturiser and makeup slips off fast sitting on sunblock. Plus I hate the feeling and smell of sunblock on my skin. But since I needed to add sunblock to my daily routine, I decided to try this product based on the MUA reviews.

I was quite impressed with the "dry-touch". The product sinks into the skin immediately as you apply it and doesn't leave skin feeling greasy, oily or sticky. There is an evident layer of sunblock similar to the feeling of foundation/ bb cream but it's not heavy or noticeable unless you touch your face. It doesn't have the sunblock smell which I'm quite happy about and I've found that it reduces the amount of oil that accumulates on my skin when I go to reapply. The sunblock only mattes my skin for a 1-2 hours, so I still need to use blotting paper before I reapply sunscreen.

I haven't had any breakout issues or clogged pores, although I do use this product on top of moisturiser which may or may not have provided a layer of protection between my skin and the sunblock. I've also had no issues with removing the sunblock that I've seen on some reviews. Overall, will repurchase unless I found something better.

*UPDATE*
This product is clogging up my pores on my forehead even though its supposed to be non-comedogenic. I didn't notice before but it's definitely getting worse the longer I use this sunscreen! Other areas of my face are surprisingly fine, but this product is just not agreeable with my forehead.

Also noticed that if it gets in your eye, eg from sweating or rubbing, it stings A LOT and you will be immobilised from the stinging. Prepare to have tissues with you for such an event!


on 10/21/2013 5:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this, nice high protection but you need to use moisturizer before put the suncream or IT WILL BREAK YOU OUT. Only bad thing about it it takes absolutely forever to blend in


on 10/8/2013 7:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm really disappointed by this sunscreen. I had high hopes- it's got relatively high ratings, and its cousin (spf 30 Ultra Sheer) has been raved about in almost every sunscreen article I've read. Here's my take on it:

Pros:
- Absorbs quickly
- Non-greasy
- Doesn't leave a white cast

Cons:
- Broke me out
- Doesn't deal well with sweat
- Can't be used well with certain makeup products and other products (especially benzyl peroxide).

Overall, not very pleased. If you have to wear makeup on top of your sunscreen, and your skin is prone to breakouts, do not use this on your face. I will have to use this on my decollete and hands instead. What a shame!


on 9/5/2013 2:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This sunscreen is not greasy or whitening, unlike many I've tried. I haven't noticed any breakouts, but it does cause my mineral makeup to slip off my face after 5 or 6 hours, and generally I think I look worse with sunscreen on. But, this is true for all sunscreens, and this one doesn't make me look super shiny (unlike Bioderma Photoderm). My main concern is with all the chemicals - especially for daily use. I think I will be switching to a physical sunblock once this bottle runs out. Or, save it for days when I know I will be out in the sun all day, and use a less toxic product for my everyday.


on 7/20/2013 5:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I haven't found another suncreen that I can trust to give me the same amount of protection. I use it every morning and it doesn't melt off. I find it hard to wear makeup on top of this though- it doesn't last. I'm not too fussed about that though because I hardly ever wear makeup during the day.

Back to Top