3.9

Created with Sketch.
454 reviews
71%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I’ve pretty much gone through every powder foundation on the market, and this one is definitely up there. I’m going to be thorough since powder foundations are tricky! First, I’ll go through the cons. The biggest one is the shade range—there are only 3 offered in-store at my Ulta, and 6 total. Luckily I found a SPOT-ON match, but it’s definitely a flaw since this powder does have actual opacity/coverage, i.e. you can’t really fudge it. If you are very fair or dark, you won’t find a match. Which is a shame, since the formula is great. It’s not cheap, but not crazy pricey ($29). The packaging used to be the ubiquitous green compact, but it’s now in a large shiny silver disc compact, which is pretty but does display smudges/fingerprints like it’s its job. There is a sponge, but no separate compartment for it. (This is fine by me—I won’t use the sponge, and I hate bulky compacts). You get 10g/0.35oz of product which made me clutch my pearls at first (I had been using the Laura Geller balance n brighten powder, which has a TON of product but you have to use wayyy more). A quick google search showed me this amount is pretty standard. So really in my opinion the only true con is the shade range. (Sidenote: I think they tried to discontinue this, but people got mad, so they “reformulated” it and brought it back. It took me forever to find it at the Clinique display, it was like nestled in a random product graveyard near the ground. I get they’re trying to stay modern and fresh and promote several other foundation lines, but don’t mess with perfection.) My skin background: I have oily skin that is generally good to me, but will break out angrily when confronted with specific ingredients. This hasn’t broken me out or caused any dryness. (No bismuth!) It has SPF 18 and you can reapply throughout the day to top up your sun protection if you want. I apply this over my Paula’s Choice sunscreen, which has a tint but only minimal coverage, and I can get basically medium-full coverage with a LIGHT application. Granted, my skin is good but I do have redness and large pores. I think if you stay away from powder foundations because you are worried they won’t have coverage, give this one a try. I use a Morphe dense-ish buffing brush and I love the combo. I’ll do the whole buffing thing but I don’t really need to. Even though my skin is oily I make sure it’s properly moisturized, otherwise this will look powdery and cling to any flakes. Even if I overdo it on the moisture, my oily mug is kept in check, even in June! I use rosewater spray if I want to make it dewier, and setting spray if I need it to be bulletproof. It will last all day on a normal day for me though. (I have a sit down job lol.) It stays demi-matte, doesn’t sink into pores, separate, flee the corners of my nose, or TURN ORANGE (the bane of my makeup existence). Everything looks beautiful over it, including cream blushes (Glossier Cloud Paint). Honestly, it’s a champ. I might buy backups just in case they DO actually discontinue it. Re: powder foundations: I’ve used and liked several indie mineral brands, Tarte Amazonian Clay, Kat von D, Too Faced Cocoa Powder, Makeup Artists Choice, Laura Geller Balance n Brighten, NYX, Maybelline, Milani, Cover FX, PUR, IT Cosmetics, and many more I’m probably forgetting. Each had pros and cons, but Almost Powder is absolutely the best overall. Laura Geller has a solid second place, but you need to use a lot more product and effort. With Almost Powder, the texture is so creamy that I just tap my brush on the pan and I get enough product. It doesn’t kick up any powder either, which can be so wasteful. I don't want to round down to a 4 for the shade range issues, just because it performs so well for me, but they should add more shades for sure.

About reviewer (542 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

This is my favorite powder foundation. It is not heavy, melts into skin nicely, and remarkably not drying (I would suspect the sodium hyaluronate is at play here). It layers on itself nicely if you need more coverage, works well with or without a primer, and holds up well in an office environment without frequent (sometimes any) touch-ups necessary. I wish it came in a better range of colors as Neutral Fair has my correct undertone but is noticeably too dark, while Fair seems ashy if overdone. Setting with a misting spray can help combat this, but there isn't really much this can do if you don't fall into one of the 5 or 6 limited skin tones.

About reviewer (76 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

PROS: - doesn't accentuate dry parts - semi-matte finish - coverage is medium (Redness on my nose is successfully covered.) - looks natural, not noticeable - feels light (Use a brush instead of the sponge for lighter coverage.) CONS: - it can get into wrinkles - price in my country is 38 EUR. - packaging could be better (Fingerprints are visible all over the packaging. And the sponge could be in a separate compartment, not in the same one as the foundation and the mirror) Shade 02 is perfect for me. It's neutral. Shade 03 is also ok, although more yellow. It's good when my skin is without blemishes. It can't cover them. Update: Too drying. Noticeable on larger pores.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Came back to this for summer for the build-able/re-applicable SPF reasons. So happy I decided to review it finally I've used this on and off for three years actually. Recently I was using MAC skinfinish with so so contentment, but the ingredients always have me a bit sketchy (for slow, sneaky, but ever so present clogging of the skin....!) Provided I am well moisturized (Vichy Mineral 89, followed by Reversa booster serum, both light but hydrating), this goes on perfectly. It takes me about 4 minutes to do this, add blush and mascara and look great for four hours before a touch up. I use a multi-purpose brush from Techniques and actually buff this in like it was a mineral powder. Then I spritz liberally with a simple soothing witch hazel (Thayer's cucumber non-alcohol witch hazel that I put in a small spray bottle) and it sets to a lovely matte but not cakey finish. I can reapply often, re-spritz, and wear this easily from 8 am to 8 pm, through yoga, walking in hot weather, etc. Because you CAN and SHOULD reapply it, you keep getting that nice, non-toxic SPF which is more effective than putting on spf at say 8 am in lotion form (and thinking it's still doing something at 3 pm. It is not, go google that if you are surprised.) The test? I'm in the sun every day all year round. I love it, I'm bad, I know. And this year I wanted my dark blonde hair to lighten so I have avoided my hats. Still not sporting much of a face tan, and the colour, the lightest olive-friendly one, is absolutely fine, and we are into July here.... NOTE re the finish: I had all but abandoned this last year when I first used it, and again this spring because I didn't do these 3 things: 1) You must really find the right light but hydrating base under this 2) do not just use the sponge; that is convenient for touch ups, but do use a good brush and try buffing it in. 3) do finish with a light setting spray; even a spritz of thermal water (Avene, Uriage, La Roche Posay, Vichy, whatever). Finally: it is buildable for redness, but use a concealer over top not under for any real issues. My Fit Me cheapo works well. Hope this helps because the price of this is great, the ingredients are very good all considered, and the packaging is super idiot-proof. I really think this product can cut many steps out of a busy gal's routine, and leave her polished but not overly made-up.

About reviewer (45 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I HAVE FINALLY FOUND MY HG!! THis stuff is MAGIC I tell ya. I have tried every single powder out there...i kid you not....and for some reason this one I hadnt tried!! SO GLAD I DID! AND NO BISMUTH!!! Be careful because some of Clinique's powders have this ingredient and it will break you out. (THis is why I don't use MAC). I am in between NC 15 and NC 20 right now. I got 4 Neutral in this powder and it works great. I use a brush to put it on. It covers better than any liquid and like all you reviewers said...it stays put...even when I was outside in 93 degrees humid weather...I sweated....yes...but it didnt melt off....I do use MAC Face and body under this....basically because it is great and I think it gives this something to stick to...I do wait to let the Face and Body to set before putting this on. Face and body is basically a tinted moisturizer so I'm not using this over a foundation. You wouldnt need to use foundation with this too. Like I said, It goes on NON CAKEY....NOT POWDERY....Doesn't settle in lines and looks great a the end of the day! I'm in shock at how great this is. ITs like no other power I have ever tried. This may be my very last foundation review as I dont see me ever using anything else. It's THAT good. I've been on a binge lately trying new things and this STANDS OUT LIKE A SORE THUMB...I typically stay away from Clinique because their liquid foundations are definitely way too pink, but this was a nice neutral tone. NO BISMUTH. I also started their cleansing system #2 which has really helped myskin. ANd they updated their yellow moisturizer which is FABULOUS! I'm 54 and makeup can make me look older, but this powder makes me look healthy....it's not a flat matte powder but somehow it has such staying power! It's amazing. I cannot say how good this is. I have tried high end, low end, drug store...you name it...powders....and this powder is different from all of them...I figured when I saw the good reviews a while back that it was just like any other powder foundation....it's NOT! It's in a class all it's own. And it stayed put longer than the Long Lasting Foundations that I have tried and I've tried a ton..THIS IS MAGIC IN A COMPACT. I NEVER thought I would get coverage, natural look, long lasting, in a POWDER! I'm officially done trying to new foundations and powder. I will use this forever.

About reviewer (122 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I though in my late 50's, I'm too old for powder foundation, but this one is an exception. Bought this in 02 Neutral Fair and although the coverage is not great, it did even out my skin tone, and I found it a blessing on hot, humid summer days, when my usual dewy-finish moisturizing liquid foundation would be sliding off my face. With summer coming again I will definitely keep this on hand for muggy days. The SPF is an added bonus, as is the fragrance free, non-irritating formula. For whatever reason, this did not settle into fine lines or make me look chalky.

About reviewer (443 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have this in 02 neutral fair. First off it was way too dark for my pale skin. Second, it makes me look cakey. Third, it had NO coverage!! I was very disappointed in this product for the price I paid.

About reviewer (27 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I really love this product! I have the medium and it blends nicely and smooths my skin out. I use it alone or on top of a CC cream. I love that it has SPF 15 also. Doesn't irritate my sensitive skin... What I don't love is it appears that they are changing this wonderful powder and eliminating the SPF...

About reviewer (97 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is a very good powder foundation. High coverage (for a powder foundation), creamy formula, BUT the lightest shade is NOT light! I have very fair skin, I use NW15 in MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation but this in Neutral Fair is quite a lot darker than that. It really bums me out as I like it a whole lot. I'm probably gonna repurchase if I start tanning, but until then I'm gonna use it as a bronzer.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Very , very, very good powder/make up foundation. If you want to use it like a fixing powder -he will be just ok. But if you want to use it like a base, foundation on naked skin-you will love it. Stays till end of the day , super easy to work with-incredible naked, beautifull skin effect. Ideal for sensitive 35+ skin Number 4 neutral( NC 20+25) Number 6 dark-the best bronzer ever!!

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrown

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us