April 21, 2014 | 947 users online

Brows - Merle Norman - brow pencil



image 0

rated 4.5(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/8/2009 10:19:00 PM More reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This has been my favorite brow pencil for over ten years. I work from home, so it lasts forever. It has a great brush at the end and I use a Q-Tip to remove the excess color. It goes on so smooth and the color match is perfect. I just wish I had a Merle Norman store in my area.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/27/2009 4:23:00 PM More reviews by MissBrittanyM

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I am a former MN beauty advisor, and a huge fan of the Definitive Brow Pencil in Taupe. This is a standard pencil that must be sharpened, and it is a powder brow color rather than a thicker waxy pencil, which is why it looks so natural. One pencil retails for about $12 and lasts me about one and a half years. Unfortunately, this product is now being replaced with a mineral version, and the colors and textures differ quite a bit. I am stocking up while I can.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/26/2008 2:35:00 PM More reviews by theriddler01

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I've been using their brow pencil for years. One pencil will last me about a year, maybe longer. I use the light brown. I love it b/c it doesn't have the reddish color other pencils I've tried has. Sometimes I have to rub it on a piece of paper to get it going though. Probably b/c mine get so old? I recently went to get another one and they have a powder brow pencil. I bought this one instead of the regular one. I actually like it a little better b/c it does go on with little effort. You must be careful b/c it is a powder in a pencil you will get it too dark. But next time you go to get a pencil, try the powder one too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 7/9/2008 4:56:00 PM More reviews by pupster

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This used to be a good product but has since been "improved" and not for the better. The color taupe is still a perfect color, but the pencil is now a powder pencil. This makes it more difficult to apply compared to the former waxy textured pencil, it also breaks very easily due to the powder consistency.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/21/2006 6:40:00 PM More reviews by klyde

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Thanks to the rave reviews I tried this and love it. I have light brown hair and use taupe. What a great shade - looks so natural! Usually I end up with a color that is orangey brown or too dark (scary Joan Crawford brows) or a waxy pencil that wears off right away. I have some powder I like the look of but it doesn't last and I often get some in my eyes when I apply it. This Merle Norman pencil is great because the color is perfect, it wears well, and it's easy to apply. I am very cheap - I was only using Wet n Wild pencils, but wasn't quite satisfied. This one was around $10, but it's worth it. I'm getting a second one for my purse and one for my Mom.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/9/2004 9:08:00 PM More reviews by minxgirl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I'm going to agree with the other gals 100%: this is the best eyebrow pencil on the planet. I too use the taupe shade for my light brown eyebrows. It goes on smoothly and looks natural. Another great plus about this product is that it includes a brush right on the cap, so there's no need to purchase a separate eyebrow brush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/26/2004 11:12:00 AM More reviews by BarrysGirl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This brow pencil in Taupe is hands-down the very best brow pencil I have ever used. Revlon, Almay, and others have discontinued their excellent ones but this one is even better. The Taupe color is perfect for those with light brown hair--like a cross between ash blonde and light brown, both of which are too light and too dark for me, respectively. Buy this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/3/2003 6:03:00 AM More reviews by remag

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I never thought of walking into a Merle Norman Boutique but was given a gift certificate so I thought, why not? I was very impressed! I ended up purchasing quite a few items! One of the items I was very impressed with is the Definitive Brow Pencil in Dark Brown. This goes on beautifully, is very natural, doesn't tug when applied and leaves a powdery finish. I have yet to find an eyebrow pencil that stays put like this one and I have tried many. I sell on ebay (cosmeticprincess)and receive tons of items before they are even released so I get to try all kinds of stuff! I will buy this item again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No