Essie Tart Deco

2.9

135 reviews

40% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/19/2015 5:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Tart Deco is a bright pastel orange colour - not light enough to be considered 'peach' but not an in-your-face orange either. It is more orange than I thought it would be, I would have preferred it if it had been a bit more of a true peach colour. The formula is thicker than my other Essie polishes - quite thick and can apply patchy. It takes two thick coats or three thinner coats to reach a smooth opacity. It is quick drying though, considering its thickness, and has good staying power like other Essie products. A nice enough polish, but I'm not a huge fan of the formula or the colour.



on 8/18/2015 1:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

looks beautiful outside but has to be one of the worst formula I've worked with


on 5/18/2015 11:25:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love the colour, but it goes on patchy/chalky even with three coats. Gloopy, strokes dont blend well into one another.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/18/2015 6:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Essie call this creme shade coral but I call it electric peach, but either way this is one of those shades that is OMG for me; I just love it, and it makes my skin look tanned. A perfect polish for this time of the year.


Unfortunately Essie is well-known for being hit or miss with their polish formulas, and this isn't one of the better ones; the formula for Tart Deco is on the workable-but-thicker side, so it takes some care and patience while applying it. Sometimes I can do a nail flawlessly in just one one coat, sometimes two, but it seems that most often I need three coats to level everything out.

I still recommend this polish as it still very wearable, and I think all of these types of shades have iffy formulas; since Christmas I've tried to find a bright peach shade in various brands (including Zoya, Illamasqua, Barry M, and China Glaze), and Tart Deco has had the best formula out of all of them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2015 1:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Surprised by the ratings on this!!
I wore this like crazy a couple summers ago..Absolutely loved it!!
It lasted on my toenails for-e-ver!!
Applied just fine!!
No complaints!!

Great fun color..will re-purchase..


on 9/25/2014 3:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Beautiful orange coral color but it is super hard to apply! It took 3 coats and it didnt turn out great. I cant stand bad formula polishes, if i decide to invest my time pampering in a manicure it has to be enjoyable and easy! Not a fight with a polish!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2014 7:22:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My ultimate Favorite polish!! I apply 2-3 thin coats bec of the streakage. I've turned 2 others on to it. I always apply a shiny top coat & it looks even prettier.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/7/2014 3:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I so wanted to love this but in the end I could not bring myself to even like this one. For starters, I'm no Essie fan. I don't like the brush, color names and most formulas oxidize on me and morph into something shameful. This was no exception.
I loved this color in the bottle at CVS. Love ended there. On me this was straight up creamy orange. Not. Pretty.
The formula initially streaked then failed to layer with any real success. Dry time wasn't great. But, the final outcome just didn't live up to the hype. Back to CVS this went.
If you love orange, come play with this one. If your skintone is warm and medium deep this will look great. If your pale like me, keep it moving as this will not be flattering. 2 lippies for the name and inspiration. Beyond that: epic fail.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Just bought this polish a week ago I tried it on right away, I used no base or top coat and it has not chipped. I don't understand the bad reviews, for this was a good formula, I only used one coat! Beautiful color. I think these polishes are a hit or miss because a few years ago I bought a limited edition one called 'barefoot & top less' beautiful nude color but terrible formula.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2014 7:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This colour is my fave!! It is like a bright pastel, so nice when you have tanned hands :-) In contrast some other reviewers I haven't experienced any trouble applying the polish. Two layers and a top coat last days and days! I'm wearing it for several weeks now and I get so many compliments!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
149 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

Lollipop

40 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
image

Watermelon

55 reviews
Back to Top