October 20, 2014 | 1854 users online

Hair Styling Tools - Conair - Mini Straightener



image 0

rated 2.8(12 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.8
  • 50% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 7/5/2012 10:52:00 PM More reviews by Marjacobs27

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Nice and compact but heat is very low. Works fine for touch ups but if you plan to get straight hair with this then you're better off with a different flat iron. I wanted something petite but after this I ended up buying a full sized Karmin G3 salon styling iron! Much better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/15/2011 11:55:00 PM More reviews by kfife10

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this on impulse because it was on sale, and it looked super-cute being so tiny. I really didn't put a lot of expectation on it. It took a little getting used to because the plates are so small, but I find it works fine. It will never replace my larger Conair flat iron, but I never meant it to. It's great for short pieces of hair. Honestly, I don't really need this, but it's so dang cute and it does work, so I wanted to give it a good review. I also love the cute bag it comes with! I'm sure it will be great for travel.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/12/2010 12:31:00 AM More reviews by wildviolet

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Edit: I wish I could delete this review. There are so many better hair straighteners than this cheap thing. However I am leaving my original review here for posterity.
I bought this on a whim because I am so frustrated with my wavy cowlicked bangs which I have never been able to control. I don't normally use a flattening iron and I was planning on buying a curling iron. Instead I bought this and tried it out when I got home and it has revolutionized the way I wear my bangs. They actually look reasonably cool-- my bangs actually fall the way I want them too and actually stay in place. After years of cursing my bangs it seems too easy that just one little styling tool would make such a difference. So if someone else out there is looking to control their stubborn bangs--give this a try! It seems to be smoothing/controlling mine very well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/24/2009 2:48:00 AM More reviews by happylynngilmer

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Another positive here. I have shoulder length wavy hair and this is great when I use it to do my bangs or compliment my 1.5 inch Jib Tourmaline straightener. Great for travel! I don't regret my purchase at all and I travel alot, so I'll be taking this lil guy instead of of my Jib five times the size. Love this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/30/2009 3:30:00 PM More reviews by sal4evr

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This tiny flat iron does the job it is meant to do: straighten on the go and quick touch ups. I actually used it for the first time today, and used it to straighten my whole head to put it to the test. It did an amazing job! The plates got quite hot, and it made my hair sleek and shiny.

I wouldn't recommend it for everyday use or for people with very thick, coarse, and/or curly hair because it is really small. My only concern was that near the plates on the outside it got hot enough to possibly burn absent-minded fingers.

Got it on sale at Target for around $16! Pretty sweet!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/28/2009 12:30:00 PM More reviews by sharner

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I actually really like this for its intended purpose - it's great for short styles and for travel. Small enough that it could even fit in most handbags (cute little black & white case comes with it, too).
Is it for everyone? No.
If you have very thick, curly, long hair, I cannot see this being useful, but I don't think it was meant for that.
Do I wish it had heat settings? Yes.
For me it's a little hotter than I tend to use, but I have fine hair with just a bit of waviness to tame. Also, it's not too hot to hold like some other mini irons - just keep your fingers on the little rubber pads.
Do I wish it had an auto shut-off feature? Yes.
Is it going to replace my everyday flat iron? No.
I use this in addition to my 1" iron which is just too big in some places - especially for those hairs by the nape of my neck that want to do their own thing and curl out.
Is it a big help and essential with short hair? A big YES.
In fact, when I go on vacation next month - I'm only going to take this one. It can get the whole job done in a pinch, and it's just so much more convenient for travel.
In conclusion... If you need a mini flat iron and have reasonable expectations, you can't do much better for $19.99!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/24/2008 9:38:00 PM More reviews by missvegg

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This hair straightener was so hard to get out of the box! I do love how tiny and cute it is :). It takes getting used to because it is really small and is a reall ceramic straightener. It gets really hot too.

Great for shoulder legth, thin or short hair.

Pros-
heats up fast
easy to handle
real ceramic
comes with a cute bag
can take when traveling
Sturdy

Cons-
Gets reallly hot
Small

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/30/2008 10:11:00 AM More reviews by karmarge

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I'm in the minority here but I really like this straightener. My fine hair is already on the straight side with a tiny bit of wave. This item got plenty hot enough to give me the stick straight style that emphasized my bobbed hair. Since I am a klutz when using full scale hair appliances this mini was very easy to use.

I know this compares very poorly to the Chi or any other high priced straighteners but I am very happy with this low priced item.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/16/2006 4:54:00 PM More reviews by Catamia

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Pure crap. Its only good point is that it's kind of cute. Plates don't get hot, and even if they did, they're waaaay too small to do any good. Also, it doesn't clamp tight enough, so even if the plates were good, you'd never get a proper grip on your hair. Don't buy this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 6/30/2005 11:07:00 AM More reviews by TeeCube

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Doesn't even get hot enough to style a baby's hair (not that I would but that's just a good way to say this thing does not heat up enough to straighten even the simplest fine hair, much less my thick curly long hair or even my bangs). Cute but useless. At least I can't kick myself for the price--I got it for $4 in a dollar store! Oh well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No