August 22, 2014 | 2003 users online

Shampoo - Dove - Energize Grapefruit and Lemongrass Shampoo



image 0

rated 3.2(34 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.2
  • 52% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 4/1/2013 6:41:00 AM More reviews by mzmaheen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Black

Okay so I was IN LOVEEEEEEEE with the old shampooo...the smell made heads turn, and my friends would always complimented how nice my hair smelled..
My boyfriends traffic lawyer even commented that "you smell really good" which was kind of weird but whatever...

HOWEVER!
This shampoo has since changed, I don't know whats different other than the packaging but its changed drastically.

It dried my hair out, my scalp itches like CRAZY, the smell is barely there..and my hair feels sticky the next day..

im over it..no more of this. I'd rather my hair be clean and my scalp not be itchy..
i know its this shampoo..because it never did that when i used herbal essences or the macadamia oil one.

Skip this guys and go for Herbal Essences Honey I'm Strong

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/8/2011 10:35:00 AM More reviews by smileechild

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is a very basic shampoo. I really like the smell. It does what it's supposed to do, clean hair. It leaves my hair nice and shiny but it doesn't really moisturize too much.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/3/2011 6:17:00 PM More reviews by Jennlw5

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

The scent was just so so. I have fine thin hair and it just didn't do much for me, my hair wasn't as soft and shiny as other brands did for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 2/28/2011 4:47:00 AM More reviews by ah63

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This made my scalp itchy and dry!!! I was alternating this with another shampoo and thought the other shampoo was drying me out. Well, then I ran out of this and started using Pantene every day. With the Pantene my scalp and hair felt fabulous! I then bought Dove again and my itchy scalp came back within a week. Well now I know never to buy this Dove shampoo again! And the conditioner wasn't great either. I'm sticking to Pantene for thick hair.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/9/2011 11:16:00 PM More reviews by obsess1beauty

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I bought this shampoo again after having purchased it a while back when it was cone-laden. This new formula is much lighter than before and has NO dimethicone- thank god. It's clear-ish yellow in color and smells sooooooo good. I can smell the lemongrass in there, but not so much grapefruit. It smells wonderful nonetheless. Not overpowering and not too terribly sweet. It does wear off after washing/conditioning.

I feel the same as another reviewer said regarding it becoming drying after a while. I only wash my hair once a week so I think as long as I keep that up, it won't kill my hair. I relax every few months and don't color my tresses so I think I'll be fine.

After much trial and error with all kinds of shampoos, I think I'll stick with this one for a while. I also noticed less visible split ends and my hair wasn't totally stripped afterwords. A fair shampoo at a decent price overall!

EDIT: Well-----I found the opposite to occur for me regarding dryness. This doesn't really thoroughly cleanse hair but instead lathers and makes it feel like its dirty still. I returned it! Way to light for any kind of cleansing whatsoever.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/16/2010 12:02:00 AM More reviews by shorty87

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

This shampoo was ok. Did not particularly do anything for my hair although my hair is generally low maintenance anyways. I wasn't a big fan of the smell. It got sickening after a while. Cleansed my hair fine but I could see it being too drying for some people with chemically treated hair. Would not buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2010 9:54:00 PM More reviews by IronPill

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this shampoo and conditioner for two weeks, plenty enough time for me to tell if I'll continue using a product or not. I really like this one. I have long, fine, oily, non-colored hair. I wanted something simple, something that will clean my roots well and make my hair feel light and clean. I normally use shampoos with volumizing and body building ingredients, but have recently found these to be too heavy. (I've decided if I need body-building ingredients, I will seek them solely in products like mousse and sprays instead). I also had a dandruff issue which has gone away after starting this shampoo, and my scalp no longer itches. I can air dry my hair now and it will still look and feel pretty good. The conditioner is definitely not conditioning enough for someone with dry hair, but works well for someone like me who needs a basic, light conditioner (if you have very damaged ends, you will need something else or to cut off the damage. I opt for cutting it off, that's always the best option IMO). My hair does get dry in the winter, so I will be deep conditioning with packs I pick up at Sally's Beauty Supply while continuing to use this duo.

And I went with this s/c combo because of one other thing - no dimethicone ingredients! My hair gets so flat and staticy from s/c with this, it hates them.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/28/2010 4:06:00 PM More reviews by JenniferDeann

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Smells good, but oh so drying. I used this only once, and blech. My hair is dry, fine and color-treated so perhaps this shampoo is better suited for one with normal or even oily hair. Not for me. Update 1/19/11: I pulled this out to try again and while it did clean my hair well, I think it took some color out too. This would be an excellent clarifying shampoo, but not for every day use for those who have dry, color-treated hair.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/25/2010 9:36:00 PM More reviews by athena_xxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have long brown oily color-treated hair and I used this shampoo at a friends house once and absolutely loved it! This is weird for me because I'm all about salon brand hair care and I've tried a lot of different salon brands and I seriously haven't found a shampoo that compares to this. Even for my oily hair it does a really good job, sometimes I have to use a bit of dry shampoo the second day but its so worth it. My hair isn't weighed down and its shiny and easy to style. I've been using dove for a few months now and I love it. Definitely reccommended!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/19/2010 8:43:00 PM More reviews by hurricanenika

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this on a whim at Sam's after I ran out of my TiGi Foxy Curls shampoo. I don't know why I bought this, the two aren't even similar... I think it was the "lemongrass," because that's one of my favorite scents in the entire world. :-)



It comes in a huge bottle with a nice pump. It's very sturdy and won't slip off the edge of my bathtub, which is actually something I take into account for, because I hate the heart attack I get when I hear the loud thud of a bottle falling onto the floor!




It's a yellow-tinted gel that lathers very well and really gets all the gunk out of hair (I wash it every day, because you wouldn't believe how oily it gets, even though it's not thin by any means!) without stripping it. The shampoo smells more of grapefruit honestly, though. The conditioner smells more lemongrass-y.




After I use it, my hair is very shiny, soft, and clean, and it smells delicious! Granted, the smell lasts about an hour... but what can you do? (That's what the body spray is for!)



Overall, I gave this a 5, and I do plan to rebuy. :-)

Is this review helpful? Yes No