4.4

Created with Sketch.
53 reviews
87%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

This stuff is a lifesaver. I have naturally dark hair. It's been dyed darkest brown for years. I heat style AND occasionally I bleach it so that I can play with color. I recently bleached the tips in preparation of using Overtone Rose Gold for Brown Hair. I bleached it twice. Then I toned it with a Wella T31 beige blonde to get the red out. Now I have soft brown high lighted tips. BUT in the process, I fried it. Immediately went into the medicine cabinet and whipped this out. This stuff helps to balance the moisture in your hair. It saves it. It does what hundreds of thousands of dollars flushed down the toilet on masks do. Every time I hit a hair road block I come back to this. If you bleach your hair, abuse it with heat, you should be using this every 6 weeks. It works.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I don’t do reviews, but after spending a few weeks researching ‘how to save over-processed, breaking bleached hair’ I promised myself to write one when I found something that helped. Enter Aphogee2step protein treatment. All I can say is THANK YOU all for your product reviews on this as it is what convinced me to use the product. I have have had a couple of hair disasters over the last 3 years in my quest to go from dark brown (but with major grey coming in) to blond (to disguise the grey?!). All of said disasters were at the hands of trusted hairdressers! I have used Olaplex since it first became available in the UK. I patiently wait 3months in between highlights and buy expensive brands of shampoos. I take care of my hair, lots of regular air drying, only heat every few weeks, top up Olaplex treatments, supplements, I eat protein at breakfast and lunch etc. Alas during my last appointment 4weeks ago something went wrong. I think my regular stylist decided to NOT mix Olaplex 1 into the bleach but to put it on after the foils were washed off. Maybe she was in a rush? Who knows but 2years of care and length went down the drain. I never see pieces of broken hair- but this time my hair broke off at the slighted touch and I found pieces all over my shirt. My hair strands are so thin and when I pull a wet strand of hair it stretched and coiled into a bendy curly tiny strand! I bought and tried all masks, Aveda, Keratese, Olaplex stand alone treatment and even tried Smartbond. Nothing stopped the breakage. I have hundreds of broken strands all over my top layer of hair where she packed in the half head of foils. Most of the hair in the front crumbled away! Its all flat and thinned out. I also had a haircut last week to just above my shoulders and yet the breakage continued. Panicked I came across aphogee videos on YouTube. I read all the reviews I could find and bought the 2step treatment. But then felt scared to use it “what if even more hair snaps off and I have to have a pixie cut”. Last night I finally felt brave enough. I poured some treatment into a little spray bottle. Washed my hair with PK moisture shampoo. Towel dried Detangled gently and divided my hair. Started spraying it on the bottom layer of hair. Brushing through and taking a next layer and repeat until all covered and combed through. Used my hairdryer on medium heat for about 20mins. Jumped back in shower and let the water cascade down my hair for probably 5mins before I applied their moisture balance conditioner for 5mins. I could already feel my hair felt different!! But read some reviewers wash hair with shampoo after this step to ensure all traces of product removed followed by deep moisture treatment. So I used my Aveda range for this. Must say after Aveda shampoo it felt courser again but after 10mins with heat and the moisture mask it was better again. I let my hair air dry.... It dried lovely curly and so far no breakage! Fingers crossed for the next few days and will see after the next wash. Will probably redo the treatment in 6weeks. But for now I am relieved as it looks as if it stopped the breakage!!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Drastically Bleaching your hair anytime soon and can’t afford the olaplex route? This stuff is the real deal and a total must. you can find it at your local sallys and although prices may vary by location for it its always cheap to buy yet so worth it. It smells gross and may feel weird when you notice how hard your hair gets with the first step but remember that is just the proteins doing their thing and “beefing” your hair back up replenishing it with vital nutrients that were just lost to chemical processing. part 2 seals it all in with moisture. While this product is effective, dont fool yourself into thinking that its going to magically reverse all of the damage done by bleaching because that’s just unrealistic tbh.. but you will notice that your hair won’t be gummy and break at the slightest pull after using this treatment. It will definitely help revitalize your hair and make it much stronger after the bleaching process without spending an arm and a leg. side note: They also have a 2 step amino acids strenghtening treatment as well that come in tubes. So far I have tried both and they both did a wonderful job however I want to say that this one with the protein is a little better for substantial damage done by bleaching. If you are an avid bleacher they sell this in full bottle sizes aside from the single use packets. Will definitely be repurchasing

About reviewer (205 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

My hair was severely damaged by bleach. My ends were gummy and I lost a lot of length due to breakage. I was scared to even get my hair wet. This worked! Of course it can't make your hair perfect but my ends aren't gummy anymore and I could actually wash and style my hair!!! Days of tears fixed by spending a few dollars.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

My hair was going through a major funk, no matter what moisture treatments I used nothing seemed to work for me. My ends were super dry, thought about chopping it off myself. I have been letting my hair grow for the past year without haircuts with a few minor home trims. I thought what the heck, let me give this and try. I am soo mad that I didn't think of this sooner. Shampoo + Aphogee+ Macadamia Professionals Moisture Recovery Mask and the results were AHHHHHMAAZING!!!!! Whenever I used this in the past always had good results but really saw the difference it made to my coarse dry hair.. This is now HG!! I am gonna stock up on the bigger size now.

About reviewer (413 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I give 2 products credit for my COARSE almost WAIST-LENGTH hair. I use aphogee every 6 months. I usually go to Sally's to get this. It does make your hair unusually hard but the hardness goes away and your left with some steel strands that are durable. In between aphogee treatments, I use Mermeida which has been my new favorite product for the last year for 2 reasons. Reason 1: It's natural. Reason 2: It works. From the first time I tried Mermeida I knew it would forever have a place on my vanity. It moisturizes coarse hair like a bad mamajama and if you follow the guide, your hair grows faster than it would had you not followed the guide. Thumbs up or Aphogee and Mermeida for giving me almost waist length hair.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Tan

HairBrown

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I just recently went from a level 2 to a level 7-8 in hair shades and I can honestly say the condition the bleaching left my hair was terrifying. When wet it was gummy and clumpy, when dry it was breaking off when I ran my fingers through. I went to Sally's initially looking to buy the Ion's 2 step rapid repair packet, but Sally associates convinced me to try Aphogee's instead. Packet was easy to rip and use, step one has a watery-consistancy so it was easy to distribute, but was smelly. I used a hairdryer to heat it and get my hair crunchy (took maybe 8mins on high heat) per the instructions. Rinsed that out, and applied step two. Moisturizer was very creamy and easy to put into a bun and left on for about 10 mins (instructions say about 3mins) and rinsed out. First impression, my hair was definitely on the road to recovery. It wasn't gummy like it was before I used the treatment when it was wet. I did leave this to air dry (I don't use heat tools and if I do, I use it to straighten my bangs as I like my natural straight-wavy hair) and it wasn't breaking AT ALL as it was when it was dry. Seriously a miracle. This is my first protein treatment that I've ever tried and my hair stylist did originally suggest Ion's version of it so I will give that a try in a couple weeks to compare, but I am impressed with Aphogee's packet. Only serious negative is the smell but if you're in a well-ventilated room it's not so bad considering the results it gives.

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

So, I joined this site purely to read reviews of this product after decimating my hair with a combination of bleach and professional colour removers. Over the space of the last year, I have taken my dead straight, dyed black hair from black, to blonde to ginger to light brown. In the process I have lost all of the length, going from lower back to chin length, and upon the last colour removal at the hairdressers last week, my hair has pretty much disintegrated at the front on either side. What is left is the consistency of chewing gum when wet, and as it dries is snapping off, ending up looking like a singed mess that has as much movement and life as cardboard. The hairdressers told me that I needed the whole lot cut to eyebrow length as was unsalveagable. In fact she was almost insistent that I did, and when I refused she told me that I wouldnt have much choice as over the next couple of weeks it would break off anyway. So, I now have the most horrendous looking hair and want to cry. It's shorter than I ever wanted to go, but will need to be cut further still. Aphogee was really my last ditch attempt. Purchased the 2 step process from amazon for about £15. (Pretty reasonable considering the hairdresser charged me £143 to get my hair in this state in the first place!) I googled how to use it, but ended up just following the instructions on the bottle. I washed with a normal shampoo for damaged hair, then applied the liquid all over as instructed. It does stink, but not sure if I agree with the other cheesy feet/rotten egg comparisons at all. I thought it smelt sweet like treacle with a really weird undertone. But hey, in for a penny and all that. So I slapped it liberally all over my precious remaining strands, then blowdried until hair became crisp. Again, my hair never reached the rock-hard status that others describe. It just felt a bit twiggy (if you have ever slept with conditioner in your hair, imagine that). I then rinsed thoroughly and repeated this process. This is what it advises on the bottle, but again have not seen others mention doing it twice. I then left the aphogee balancing moisturiser on for a few minutes, rinsed through and applied the Aussie 3 minute miracle reconstructer which I left on for around 30/45 mins. When washing out I could see that my hair still looked crinkly, which is a pretty good sign to me that not much has changed in the condition. I have just partially blowdried my hair, using a ridiculous amount of spray on argan oil, and whilst there is a dramatic improvement in breakage, it still looks just as awful as it did before. It feels like wire-wool and each strand looks like frayed rope, and whilst pieces are still breaking off when I run my fingers through, it's not covering my hands like before. If your hair is as damaged as mine, and you can afford to, just get it cut. My once silky long locks are trashed and it appears the only way forward is to start again. (Sob!)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

OMG To all the wonderful ladies out there, I have especially login in to my MUA first thing this morning just to write a review for this Aphogee 2-step Protein Treatment. I am still trying to find the best words to describe how it has completely saved my hair!!!!!!!!!!!! Background: My natural hair is level 0. It is down to to my waist and I have this long hair for the past 13 years. I maintained my hair to be at waist length at all time. For the past 6 years though I been wearing my hair, double-processed (sometimes triple even) level 10. Needles to explain, you can just imagine the amount of damage my hair has gone through from completely black to whole head platinum blonde. While I super love the shade of my hair, the maintenance is pure hell. I only used Kerastase for my whole hair routine, from washing all the way to styling. You name a Kerastase, I probably have tried it. The only thing that is not Kerastase in my regime, is Redken anti-snap leave in treatment. I GHD-ed my hair every single day for the straight look. If i settle for any other brand, my hair will just be a mess. Starting late 2015, I notice my hair seriously cannot handle the bleaching anymore. So I reduced my developer volume from 9% (30VOL) to 6% (20 VOL) as advised by all bleaching Gurus. I been using Wella Blondor the whole time. This year i switched to Schwarzkopf BlondME system. It is not available in my country so I ordered online. Unfortunately I am weary of the authenticity of the 6% developer in the set. Cos having the bleach in my hair for 50minutes, it completely fried my hair. I have processed 6% longer in my hair previously with no such ill-effect. Cos that is what 6% is supposed to do, hold bleach longer in hair with lesser damage. I have experimented using a 12% (40Vol) before which give the same result as this. So I am really SHock. My hair turned extreme gummy in the shower. After done styling, I just cannot get it to behave like hair again. It feels like I have a head full of straw instead. I do all sort of treatment and let time pass. My hair remained the same, What is most horrifying it snapped off in clumps if I just run my fingers through my hair! in 3 days, I swear the amount of broken hair on my floor could make another wig. I can literally feel my hair is dangerously thinning and limp. Aphogee Treament: I have 2 sets of the Aphogee Treatment (one-time use) in my cabinet for a long time. Out of desperation I set out time to finally open and use it in hope to save my hair. I don't even have time to search online tips and tricks how long to keep it in hair. I only followed the direction on the package. After applying Step-1, I waited for it to dry which it didn't. I proceeded to use a blowdryer in medium heat setting to speed up drying. My hair did dry up about 70% with the bottom part still rather wet. I waited further off-dryer till i feel my hair start to harden. Problem is I got excited could not wait anymore... I washed it all off and applied the Step-2 conditioner that came in the pack. I left it my hair throughout my shower 20 minutes. While rinsing it off I could already feel my hair so smooth and thicker!! A 100% turn-around from its previous gummy state. Held my breath and proceed to dry and style. I applied my usual Redken Anti-snap treatment and Kerastase Ultime Elixir before blowdry. !!!!!!! OMG !!!!!!!!!!!! Throughout the blowdry, my hair is so strong and did not even break 1 strand. It is sooooo smooth and shiny. My hair is gloriously back to its flowing state I had many years ago. My platinum blonde is giving off highlights of its own at the top of my head. (Pls Note: This is sign of healthy hair when your blonde could reflect the lights to produce beautiful dimensional highlights of its own) My hair volume doubled like I dunno where did the "extra hair" has magically come from?? All this effects and I have not even GHD my hair yet with shine serum. After I done Ghd, first thing i checked my floor to count how many hair has been sacrificed. NONE!!! None on my clothing either. Omg I am so happy and thankful! There is finally hope for my hair to be normal again. If I had known the Aphogee Treatment would be this powerful to give this miracle result, I would have not wasted another second to put it on my head. FYI, before I did the Aphogee. I tested Olaplex a few months thinking it would perform better. That is why I had the aphogee treatment unused in my cabinet for so long. The Olaplex stained my platinum blonde which take 2 rounds of toning to remove it. I dunno why it happened to me cos Olaplex is designed particularly for processed blondes. I have very high expectation for it to perform :( In 101% honesty, now that I have tried both Olaplex and Aphogee. I am sticking to Aphogee to treat back my hair to health. If u understand me by now, I certainly do not compromised my hair to save dollars. But not only Aphogee Treatment is cheaper, It gives me better result after just one use. Of course I am going for the big bottles now!!! I really really regret not trying sooner. It could have saved my poor hair from breaking so much. The only thing now, I am not sure how often I can use Aphogee Treatment without overdoing it. Hope this helps, thanks for reading :D

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I stumbled across this product a few days ago, saw the amazing reviews/watched countless tutorials on it on YouTube, then ordered the 16oz bottle from Amazon for £11.00. It came today and have just finished blow drying my hair.... I have bleach blonde hair which is pretty healthy, purely the ends and few mid length strands are damaged. I was almost scared to use this product too, even though it's just protein, but it's entering the unknown which is the nerve racking thing! But nothing to be worried about, this product is amazing. Clearly the one thing I have been lacking in my hair is protein! Aphogee has done an amazing job on my hair. I followed instructions, had hair drier on for about 25 minutes till it was dry & crispy, then rinsed and conditioned with Acure Organics and left that in for 10 mins. My hair felt very strong when wet afterwards. I let air dry like I usually do then blast with hairdryer and brush for last bit. My hair is SO soft, can't stop running my fingers through. When I run my fingers down my hair it all feels healthy, rather than before when i got to my ends it would feel damaged. Not any more! Hope this review makes someone else thinking of buying it to GO DO SO! Very very pleased. Only thing is my hair smells slightly still even after rinsing out. But I'm sure the smell will go after the next shampoo. Also I feel like it's stained my blonde hair the colour of the liquid...but again, hopefully comes out the next shampoo. :) go buy this product! 5*

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Tan

HairBlond

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us