3.8

Created with Sketch.
98 reviews
64%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

In the past I have had Tam Dao in EDT concentration. Right now I have it in EDP concentration. I am a sandalwood lover, and it is very high quality in this fragrance. Diptyque's website says the sandalwood used in the fragrance is from East India (Mysore) and takes extractions from trees over 60 years old. I can also pick up on the cedar and cypress. It is definitely a woody scent. The EDT is just a bit lighter, not as smooth. This is high quality, and I would expect nothing less from Diptyque.

About reviewer (142 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I got this as a gift for my father, a former master woodworker before he lost his vision. He loves the scent of a wood workshop, so I was naturally enticed to treat him to some Tam Dao. It certainly delivers the aromatic scent of sandalwood,cedar and rosewood, but the dry down is the most lovely chapter. Woody/evergreen scent very quickly calms into a soft amber powder withe faintest hint of white musk. It's like fine woodworking. A beautiful cut of wood sanded and finished, ready to be transformed into a gorgeous, but functional piece of furniture. The scent makes me think of what you'd imagine the smell of a very chic northern California spa to be. Wafts of a massage under the bows of a redwood tree, yet with the rough edges smoothed away. I spritz some on every time I visit my father and I plan on getting myself a bottle. As an aside, I am not generally a fan of unisex scents, but this is an exception. I consider it more masculine than feminine FWIW.

About reviewer (82 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

One of my top 3 favorites. This is a feminine woodsy fragrance with a hint of freshness. Hard to describe but it's smokey and delicate without being cloying like some other woodsy scents out there (Santal 33, I'm talking about you.) To me, this is a gentler more delicate version of that. Good for day or night. I have the EDT.

About reviewer (645 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is one of those "great scent, lousy chemistry" things: On my skin, TD starts out as the perfect sandalwood: Creamy, velvety smooth, meditative, introspective, exotic... The dream sandalwood. And out of nowhere, it makes a screeching halt into a burning cedar pit, which someone tried to smother with... plastic bags. Now, on 2 friends of mine and obviously countless others who love it, it remains the perfect sandalwood. But TD has decided that she hates me. That b!tch. Harrumph.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I've always been interested in the house of Diptyque and luckily I stumbled across this beauty when purchasing samples on eBay. This is now my signature fragrance. The perfect woody fragrance, not over powering and very wearable. Many people say this is a winter fragrance but I wear it year round.

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Medium Brown

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I think I'm alright at writing makeup reviews, but there's something about fragrance that makes me wish I could just draw an MS Paint portrait of a stick figure either sniffing their wrist like it's loaded with meth OR running away from a steaming pile of cartoon dung. Between body chemistry, personal nose preferences, and what you want to present to the world -- fragrance is so personal. I've kind of been on a quest to find my next love (a $$$ quest, amirite?), something more complicated and sophisticated than the simple "hippie" oils I've been favoring lately, but with kind of the same vibe, and Tam Dao is just...it. I will attempt to write a review because: I have skin chemistry that tends to amp up notes and make them sweeter -- for example, citrus-y scents tend to smell great on me, as they become less sharp, a little rounder. Anything gourmand becomes totally disgusting on my skin. SO if you have a similar situation, maybe this will help. From Luckyscent: "In discussing Holy Grail fragrances with sandalwood lovers, Tam Dao is a name that comes up again and again. While not solely sandalwood, this blend of woods and ambergris features a gorgeous, dry sandalwood note that has earned it a devoted following. The opening is primarily cypress, very green and sharp, with a vaguely industrial feel. Then the blend of exotic incense-like sandalwood and softer, sweeter rosewood begins to develop slowly. The sandalwood becomes luxurious and creamy, with additional richness from the ambergris. Luminous and tranquil, with a meditative quality – Tam Dao smells a like a precious carved object. Even at its creamiest, it still has that authentic, dry bite of freshly-hewn wood and that transparent quality that is the hallmark of so many Diptyque scents. A must try for sandalwood lovers." On me, the opening is a bit sharp but dries down to an addictive woody creaminess, with yes, a touch of fig. It's not an angular, straightforward figginess though, like BPAL's Eden, which is a scent I enjoy but just can't wear for an extended period of time. The green quality fits the bill in regards to my desire for something more natural, and the drydown is just...*obsessively sniffs wrist*...skin that has seen the sun all day, that's been touched by water, not the ocean, green things, skin that's been Out There. And the There is someplace exceedingly beautiful. I have a decant, so sillage is affected by that particular kind of application, but it seems to have some throw, though the magic definitely occurs closer to the skin. It's gorgeous. Sexy, without being too much. EXTRA BONUS: it plays amazingly well with the scent of coconut oil, which I slather myself with on the reg. Sidenote, if anyone has a bottle they're looking to get rid of, message me! :)

About reviewer (542 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I love the smell of sandalwood but most sandalwood fragrances smell too figgy on me. Unfortunately Tam Dao is no exception. After a raw, robust and realistic start, it quickly mellows to a creamy figginess as if I layered it with Philosykos:) It's not too sweet or cloying but not exactly what I'm looking for in a sandalwood fragrance, either. Medium sillage and good lasting power of 6-7 hours on my skin.

About reviewer (594 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairRed

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Based on reviews here I purchased a sample vial to try out. I agree that a moderate dab or single spray finds this scent only lasting 2 hours and only noticeable to you. Be generous and perhaps dab on underclothing so that your body heat will make it last longer. It's green and resiny, grassy fresh with a touch of deeply flavoured manuka honey. Slightly industrial so unisex. Gives you butterflies in the stomach once it opens up. Great for all weather but more suited to sunny days. I'm glad I tried it. I normally wear fresh florals so this was a little bit of a deeper, cooler and sharper change.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

I'm getting soft, creamy, wood, but wow. Like zero sillage. Obviously, I'd need to use more or this is indeed a wood for summertime wear.

About reviewer (763 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Other, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

This starts out with a sharp, green note, and shortly after dries down to a delicious, creamy sandalwood. It's a very pleasant, easy to wear, unisex fragrance, but has virtually no sillage. I have yet to find a Diptyque fragrance that projects well. Their longevity is decent, but most people won't notice the fragrance you're wearing unless they bury their faces in your neck ;)

About reviewer (77 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown