3.9

Created with Sketch.
9 reviews
67%
would repurchase
4.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

After reading few reviews I decided to try this compact foundation. This foundation isn't perfect but it's not awful either. Shade 12 is wonderful fair skin shade with pink-ish undertone! (Shade 10 is darker and more on the yellow side!) It offer long lasting matte finish. This can be very heavy and thick if you use it as setting powder, so be aware! (I use it on top of Chanel Tenue foundation and it make the overall skin texture extremely matte and heavy!) Although on the heavy side, funny it doesn't conceal imperfection well. So I felt this somehow get the job half-way done! One more issue to be extremely careful... if you like your powder surface staying fresh and smooth, be aware when using a Brush, with the extreme density it is hard to pick up enough powder, and if you over done, it somehow leave the powder surface look very "worn" and "bumpy"! This is market for 75$ Canadian, which is similar to DIOR's Forever skin foundation powder. (Dior asking price is around 70$CND!) I've always like DIOR's foundation powder until they reformulated the color, Dior shade are all on the darker side, but it offer a better smoother texture (and better coverage!) but the lasting power isn't as strong as Chanel. I didn't pay this foundation powder myself, someone cover for me, if I have to buy foundation powder again, I would probably go back to DIOR's. (Already finished two compact!) PRO: - Sleek package (just like it's rival department store french bred company) - Good shades! Shade 12 is lovely if you have very fair skin with pink-ish undertone. - It has a "18M" expiry date once open, so it's a long-shelf-life product. - It's very very matte! (IF this is what you are going for....) CON: - It's heavy if you use it as setting powder. - Although heavy, it doesn't conceal blemish all that well. (Overlaying only make your skin look heavy, matte and less alive). - The foundation powder is not as smooth as I expected! I often spray face-mist after applying to bring back some glow. - Brush doesn't pick up enough products and may leave powder surface look kinda bumpy. - Very expensive! (Dior is a few dollar cheaper option if you can find your shade!)

About reviewer (93 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Fabulous product again from Chanel. I have used Perfection Lumiere Velvet for many years now, but I've always had a compact as an alternative. I didn't feel the liquid version of Le Teint Ultra Tenue was for me, it gives a heavier coverage I don't need, or like, but the powder compact is an excellent alternative. Its typically very finely milled and exceptionally smoothing. With the sponge it goes on slightly creamy and gives a very clean air brushed blended look. Provides a lovely light coverage so you can still see your skin, covers redness etc - the areas that you want to anyway, and you can go heavier to spot cover over concealer if you need to, but I wouldn't recommend doing this full face being a powder base. It won't be a choice for a very problematic skin. Typical chanel slight fragrance. I never really notice this, I've been using Chanel for over 20 yrs now so perhaps that's why. It really does last - one light application has lasted for 10 hrs with minor blots over my t-zone throughout day - warm climate and I was active outside for a period as well. Recommend to moisturised oily combo skins that are wanting perfected light- medium coverage.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a perfectly nice powder foundation compact. The compact itself is very stylish and has a nice quality mirror & comes with a nice quality sponge & the spong compartment is ventilated. The sponges do was up nicely & Chanel sales reps will give you replacement sponges anytime too. I bought it to touch up my make up on the go. In my opinion it really needs a spritz of Fix+ to look nice. I usually use a loose powder such as my La Mer, Laura Mercier, Ben Nye or Coty airspun to set my concealer and foundation. A couple of times when I have been late for work & in a rush I have used this very sparingly with a brush to set my undereye & foundation and it did work very nicely. I don't think I enjoy it as much as the Diorskin Forever powder foundation compact which has been my HG compact for many years. This is a very light coverage velvety smooth powder that evens out the skin & helps to minimise the look of pores. If you use it with a brush it is a very barely there coverage but used with the sponge you are able to get medium coverage though it will look powdery so a finishing spray is a must. I have never used this product without foundation as always use a liquid foundation. It can even be made to look Glowy almost dewy if you spray over Mac Fix+ Pinklite it literally melts into the skin and the Fix+ pinklite leaves a gorgeous glow and leaves the powder undetectable even when I've touched up a few times. Then I set with Urban Decay all nighter & it lasts very nicely. I would say with fix+ and all nighter it lasts 8 hours. I would definity buy it again but still prefer my Diorskin forever compact.

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Fav!! Light weigh I would say this is a light to medium coverage I use this one a quick and easy day when i only apply concealer and powder with this. It evens out my skin very nicely.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairSilver, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I prefer powder over liquid foundations because its faster to apply and less hassle. Ive been looking for the double perfection but it is discontinued. This was the replacement and i must say it's less pigmented so its less coverage. I still like it because its smoothing and mattifying. It still works, if you want a lighter coverage. I use this with my mac 196 slant flattop brush its a dense short kabuki type bristles. Its very finely milled with no fall out since i dip my brush gently into the powder. Ive also tried this with the tarte smoothie blender brush and it was a lot of fall out maybe because its a dome shaped brush? Def try it out before you order it because ive known many people who reviewed this on nordstroms and hate the new formulation. I dished out the 60usd for this compact because it doesnt break me out like other powder foundations. Ive broken out with bare minerals, mac, maybelline, physician formula, too faced. Basically most powders out there except chanel. I have oily tzones and normal cheeks. I am nc20 in mac. 120 classic ivory in maybelline. In chanel i can do 20 beige(neutral) or 22 rose beige(pink undertone). Although i must add downside is if you have dryness it will show so make sure to moisturize those patches and areas of your face. It doesnt cover acne as well as the double perfection but it does cover redness. Just the stubborn big red pimples are the ones you would need a concealer to worry about if you are only using this as foundation. Will repurchase and good thing theres refill pans Pros - smooth and soft looking, Great for in a hurry, Melts into the skin evens out skin tone, Not a bad smell, doesnt linger No breakouts, Refill pans are cheaper Cons- Drying without fix + or a good primer need to blot after 6 hours Can feel dry/heavy if you put on too much Edit- acnes been clearing up and not as dry as before. Benzoyl peroxide has helped and slowly trying to stop using it all together since pregnancy hormones calming down. After a couple month of battling very bad acne and scarring, my face has cleared up a lot. I felt like this got heavy looking because its not as much coverage so id have to pack on more powder and so it felt a bit drying, cannot wear this without fix +. It does look a bit cakey if im not careful. After 5 hours being out in the cold i see some separation and drier areas on my face(cracked/patchy).This is still a great powder foundation for those who want light to medium coverage and who is on the oily side that like the feel/ look and quickness of putting on an effortless powder foundation. I wouldn't repurchase but this def still deserves a soft spot in my heart for helping me feel better when i was battling hormonal acne! 2020 jan 15- Last edit i promise, Ive moved on to using Makeup Forever Matte Velvet Skin Blur Foundation Powder instead because it has less ingredients, no fragrance and no spf. I find it has better coverage and just overall a better for a cheaper price tag as well.

About reviewer (425 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Hands down the worst powder foundation I've ever used. Worse than the typical drugstore brands. the foundation itself is compressed so densely into the pan that it is impossible to pick anything up with a brush, with a sponge you can get a tiny bit of product each time, but the surface gets caked and gross if you use a sponge on it. So basically the whole thing is useless after three uses. And as for the performance on the skin, nothing. It doesn't do anything to your skin. No coverage, no mattening, no highlighting. Such a waste of money and another disappointing foundation product from Chanel.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I have oily/combination skin and of all the types (liquid, cushion, powder) I like this formula the best. The powder is finely milled, soft and blends very easily. Does not leave patches and the powder just feels luxurious on my face. The powder helps with shine, but because I live in a humid country so I do need to fix my face at about 4 hours (not sure if it's the humidity or the make up's fault). The packaging is so beautiful and the sponge is awesome. The Chanel counter lady told me to come back and get my dirty sponge exchanged as needed, instead of washing it. I really love that option!

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I bought this on a whim at a duty free store in panama. I'm not really a powder person - I prefer a dewy look. However, living in Houston in the summer makes powder fdtn a must for me. I wear this in 30 beige and I'm nc20. You can wear it alone but I prefer to wear it in my tzone and over Dior nude air fdtn. It's also great for covering up cystic acne. It actually works better with a sponge than with a powder brush. This stuff is worse the price and is great to travel with since it can be used as foundation alone and has a great mirror. It's worth it to treat yourself to Chanel sometimes!!

About reviewer (259 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

"If I ran out or lost this product, would I...?" Heck yeah it already happened on one occasion it's somewhere with my chanel fdtn brush I'm sure I will find it let's hope sooner than later. This foundation eclipses my former fave MAC studofix powder fdtn for all reasons except price. Studiofix powder fdtn is half as expensive so I don't know if I can justify the price of this $60USD but the chanel plain powder absorbs oil well but doesn't to have the coverage but it is cheaper by $15 if you have to buy a compact every month it gets expensive ridiculously but you wouldn't put diesel into a Ferrari, right? Chanel can take care of all of your MU/skincare needs. It's really the best!! The coverage is great, has SPF & all chanel MU is derm tested hypoallergenic. This has never broken me out.

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us