3.6

Created with Sketch.
20 reviews
60%
would repurchase
2.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

11 days ago

This review is for the moisturizer that comes in the yellow jar, and all the packaging literature is in Japanese. I really hope Hada Labo starts offering this in a tube! Because that is my only complaint. I pat this stuff on my face immediately after cleansing. I actually let it sink in and get tacky before I apply something heavier over it (at night I use Perricone Firming and Finishing over this, the results in the morning are amazing!) One caveat is that I don’t think this works well with most foundations. I typically don’t use this in the morning if I will soon be applying makeup. Last, I transferred this to a silicone tube which is both hygienic and an efficient dispersion method. Please, Hada Labo, if you’re listening, repackage this!!!

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGray



4.0
Created with Sketch.

24 days ago

I use this at night as its a little tacky in formulation. I mist my face and then massage the serum/gel into my skin. Depending on how much I use it can leave noticeable residue, even over night. Its great value, considering the amount the tub holds. I can imagine this lasting a year.

About reviewer (208 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
fromjmp24

4 months ago

I love some of these Japanese skin care products. The HL Cleansing Oil is the best I’ve ever used. I’d been using Neutrogena gel moisturizer, which was recommended by my dermatologist, so when I ran out, I decided to try this one, since they are very similar, a gel being mostly hyaluronic acid. I got it on Amazon for under $15 and love the cute jar packaging, which has pretty much no English on it, but would prefer a tube for sanitary reasons. The gel is a little thicker, a little silkier than the Neutrogena one. What a lot of people don’t realize is that you shouldn’t use this product alone, most dermatologists will tell you to apply it to damp skin UNDER your moisturizer. I put it on immediately after cleansing, then follow with either CeravePM or Cerave Renewal cream. At night, I use Tretinoin, and usually to clean, bare skin....but depending on if I feel dry, I will apply this to my face first, then a light layer of moisturizer, let it dry, then apply my Tretinoin. Even on nights I don’t put it on my face, I ALWAYS put it on my neck. I then mix a dab of Cerave Renewal cream with a small amount of Tretinoin, and put that on my more sensitive neck skin. In the AM, I wash, apply the Perfect Gel and a light moisturizer (like CeravePM) then sunscreen. I apply my makeup, including some face powder, but all that extra moisture shows through as a sort of nice dewy glow. Not greasy, just fresh and youthful.

About reviewer (391 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal

HairBlond

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Bought this as a fungal acne safe moisturizer. While it doesn't exacerbate my fungal acne, it makes me break out big time, in painful hard whiteheads all over. I generally have issues with glycerin which is legit in everything, so that could be the culprit. Otherwise ingredients look pretty innocuous to me. Very siliconey feel and would make a good primer. Does leave a sticky residue though, so you can really 'feel' it on your face which I don't love. Would rec patch testing or trying a small size before buying full-size. I tried the 'USA' version.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I am in my 40s & live in a humid, tropical country. I would say this gives moisture, bounce and plumpness to my skin. I use this as a day cream and sunblock over it. I do not get any adverse reactions to it. I suspect this might be 'overkill' for those with oily/combination skill. Mine is normal/dry. I also spend a lot of time in air-conditioned rooms. I also would not recommend it for winter. I have used it In 4° temperature, and my skin just refused to 'plump' up. So, to wrap up, it's better for normal to dry skin, and in humid and/or warmer temperatures.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I'm surprised the reviews for this are so poor (tho it looks like some are from several years ago and may be for an old formula). I'm very picky, with sensitive skin, acne, seb derm and malassezia follicilitis, and this stuff it great! It is a little sticky so I only use it at night, but it has really transformed the redness and flakiness of the seb derm around my nasolabial area. It contains urea which is an underused keratolytic and lots of squalane and hyaluronic acid. My only complaint is the presence of parabens and the jar packaging which is unhygienic and exposes the ingredients to air, etc, but I decant it into a small squeeze bottle.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
fromraluko

8 months ago

This is a lovely, fragrance-free, affordable gel moisturizer with loads of good ingredients. I started using it as the temperatures made their way up in the high teens and it`s helping me a lot. It`s still very dry where I live, so this and my humidifier helps to keep my skin hydrated and plump over my Differin treatment. The only thing I would say, is that this is not occlusive enough, and if I were to use it in winter, I would apply a more occlusive moisturizer on top. It might sound like overkill, but as I am in my early 40`s and on Differin, I find that I need an extra touch of moisture during the cold season, more so than before. This is really cheap anyway, so it doesn`t make a dent in my wallet. Definite yes on repurchase for winter/spring.

About reviewer (878 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

My skin: generally combination, leaning dry in the winter and slightly oily in the summer, although the last year or so it's been settling in kind of normal, actually. I used to have mild to moderate acne for years and years, which I managed to mostly clear up last year. Apart from the odd acne flare-up, I've been feeling almost weirdly happy with my skin lately. I have large pores, but that's just life, really, some general texture issues and my first faint wrinkles are turning up now, at almost 41, but compared to how the acne made me feel about my face I LOVE my skin right now. I have a long history with urea. I went through what feels like hundreds of tubes of the Eucerin 5% Urea moisturizer, it was pretty much the only thing that would keep my face hydrated enough, especially in the winter, without aggravating the acne. I loved that stuff, and my skin loves urea as an ingredient, but it disappeared from the shelves where I am a few years back. Last winter I had a stress-related flare-up of acne, dehydration, irritation and general skin badness, and came across https://simpleskincarescience.com/ doing some research on how to deal with it. The Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium products were recommended as good hydrating products containing good, high concentrations of urea, so I ordered the lotion and the Gokujyun Premium perfect gel cream. I love them, the lotion especially made a huge difference to my skin, I haven't really been dehydrated at all this winter. The gel cream I felt more meh about, it has an odd, sticky texture on the skin, I don't like jar packaging and I felt like the lotion was doing all the magic. So when I ran out of the gel cream, and I got hold of the Eucerin 5% Urea moisturizer again, also had a large tube of The Ordinary's Natural Moisturizing Factors + HA which I enjoyed last summer, I didn't expect to miss the gel cream at all. After a week or two, though, I did. My skin became more meh, I started getting more smatterings of small whiteheads and more congestion, more irritation and dryness, more of the typical winter skin I used to have, but haven't been experiencing this winter before I ran out of the Gokujyun Perfect Gel. And I do still have and use the twice lotion daily, it's still lovely and helps a lot. It seems that a not insignificant part of the effect I ascribed to the lotion was due to the combination of lotion and gel cream, though, probably supported by the Gokujyun Premium sheet masks that I also got, used up and also felt slightly meh about until I ran out - and, well, I ordered a refill of the gel cream + another box of the sheet masks. I will probably take as much care to not run out of the gel cream from now on as the lotion. Still don't love the sticky texture or the jar, this is a night-time only moisturizer for me, but it's much, much better than I initally gave it credit for. I'm back on it now and my skin is getting back into shape. So, would I recommend? Clearly, yes. Would I repurchase? Yes, already have.

About reviewer (79 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

First: this is MOST effective over damp or wet skin, and followed by a more occlusive moisturizer, ointment, or balm (prob not necessary if you are super oily.) Applying this over dry skin and over-applying can lead to a very sticky finish and can potentially increase dehydration. Pea to dime-sized amount is plenty for the face. This is super hydrating on my problematic skin, and does not cause breakouts, redness, or irritation (YMMV of course). This doesn't flare my fungal acne. I apply this over wet skin on my face, neck, and upper body as soon as I'm done with a shower. This is the same formula as the American "Hada Labo Plumping Gel Cream," but has a different preservative system. This one contains parabens, which protect the formula from mold and bacteria very well and are typically well tolerated by the majority. FYI: this is a jar, and is cheaper per ounce than the American version. I think the packaging is well suited to the formula and is easy to open and close, and I am able to get to 100% of the product. Would re-buy and strongly recommend for all ages and skin types.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I like it, it's a bouncy gel type moisturiser that leaves my skin feeling very comfortable. It can leave a slightly sticky feeling on, the way the lotion and milk can do - in a plump and moist way rather than tacky, but more noticeable and longer-lasting. It's too rich to use as a day cream most of the time, but good when my skin is especially dehydated or irritable, or as a night moisturiser when it's too hot and humid for very heavy night creams. But it doesn't wow me the way the lotion and the milk do, so while it's a nice enough product it just didn't seem all that special to me.

About reviewer (195 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel