3.9

Created with Sketch.
18 reviews
78%
would repurchase
4.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

This is an ideal sunscreen for those who are looking for a slight sheer tint (which does not cast white on skin like some sunscreens do). This is ideal for normal to dry skin I would say, it is a bit hydrating, although any skin type could use it. SPF 50 is also great to have for high sun protection. It is fragrance free, has a matte finish, and it doesn't pill or break out on my skin.

About reviewer (155 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Update: Went to a different store and tried a fresh sample on hand. Brown neutral colour (not yellow undertones like Skinceuticals or pinkish under tones like Paula Choice Resist spf 30) April 2019 - Purchased at 20% off on sale at Shoppers Drugmart Canada. Based on the tint disappearing and the ingredients, this should work. Patch testing. Pros: *FUNGAL ACNE safe product as per Skincarmisa.com. I check products/ingredients there. * thin runny texture * UPDATE: Neutral brown colour that is sheer. I am approximately NW15. * Available at drugstores that sell Neostrata ie: Shoppers Drug Mart, Pharma Plus, well.ca in Canada * zinc and titanium dioxide * $33.00 cdn is SRP (can go on sale) for 50 ml bottle. (Less than SkinCeuticals tinted physical SS) * Patch testing chest and forehead, OK. No irritation. Matt finish even on forehead hours later. * Months later, still like this with no skin issues. Update score to 4 overall. Cons: * Needs to be shaken for at least a minute * Formula separates - had looked at old sample. 2nd sample was fine. * Very very thin watery texture. Concerned about application. Description and Ingredients from Neostrata.ca site This mattifying fluid sunscreen combines potent antioxidants with a Polyhydroxy Acid (PHA) complex to protect and strengthen skin's moisture barrier against environmental aggressors. Formulated exclusively with mineral sunscreens: Zinc Oxide and Titanium Dioxide. 1.7 fl oz / 50 mL Medicinal ingredients / Ingrédients médicinaux (w/w) Titanium Dioxide 7%, Zinc Oxide 6% Purpose / Utilité: Sunscreen / Écran solaire Non-medicinal ingredients / Ingrédients non médicinaux Aqua/Water/Eau, Dimethicone, Isododecane, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Butyloctyl Salicylate, Gluconolactone, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Alumina, Ammonium Hydroxide, Lactobionic Acid, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Phenethyl Benzoate, Nylon-12, DL-Alpha Tocopheryl Acetate, Epigallocatechin Gallate, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tocopherol, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Isohexadecane, Sodium Citrate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Magnesium Sulfate, Dipropylene Glycol, Propylene Carbonate, Sodium Bisulfite, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Phenoxyethanol, Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Iron Oxides (CI 77499 The ingredients look ok for my picky skin. Fungal acne safe. suggested trying a fresh sample and or buying with a good return policy. Oct 2019 - I have been using this. I like it and my skin does also.

About reviewer (222 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

1. It is very pricey in Europe. 2. It stinks and irritates my sensitive skin 3. It is too much liquid and watery, so it doesnt sits on the skin, also not water resistant. 4. It is very small tube and it finishes too fast because of liquidity. I dont think it can cover and protect the ski from sun properly. Only think I like about this product is it is not comedogenic (didnt make acne on my very acneic skin) and its color is exactly my skin color. Also I totally agree to this comment completely: This product is Garbage. Honestly, just don't bother. It goes on patchy so the protection is probably compromised. It doesn't layer over itself well. It cakes up and separates. It pills on top of moisturizer. It cakes up foundation. Settles into lines. The protection just isn't there (I burned twice with this WHILE reapplying it. WHy? Its not water resistant in the least. If you sweat a little it comes off. If you rub your nose? It comes off. I you lay your face on your hand momentarily? It fades. God I hate it XD Also if you have sensitized skin, this BURNS. Not good for post procedures. The only good things it has going for it are that its non comedogenic, and its thin (not thick and greasy like baby sunscreen). The performance and look are terrible though. Will not repurchase. I'm very dissapointed with this sunblock. First off, adherence is not great. It dissapears from my nose and chin in no time, and it travels and settles in the finelines around my eyes, nose and chin. It's not water resistant AT ALL. I had reapplied the susncreen 4 times in an hour or two. It has a watery consistency, very very liquid. Liquid makeup does not fare well on top. It cakes up and separates. I didn't experience breakouts while using it, thankfully. I will not repurchase, and can only reccomend it for women with light skintones, around NC 15-25 who don't wear a lot of makeup (because the tint will match your skin) as a city sunblock. Not good for working out or anything involving sweat/water.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I assume there’s something wrong with my bottle as it’s nothing like the reviews I’ve read. It smells like petrol, it takes a really long time to dry down and when it does, it’s not matte at all but a normal, shiny sunscreen. It breaks me out and somehow manages to leave my skin with dry patches, yet greasy. I’ve tried A LOT of sunscreens and this one is by far my least favorite. On the good side: it does protect from sunburn.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Great sun screen with SPF 50. Tones great with my fair/medium skin. I have trouble with sunscreens as I always get it in my eyes and it is so irritatating. I find this sunscreen is great for my dry sensitive skin. It does not settle in lines which is a plus for 50 and over ladies. This is my new favourite. It is also endorsed by my daughters dermatologist. A bit on the expensive side $50 on Cosmetics Now Australia but lasts for a few months. Would recommend as very good sunscreen.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

UPDATE 2018: This product is Garbage. Honestly, just don't bother. It goes on patchy so the protection is probably compromised. It doesn't layer over itself well. It cakes up and separates. It pills on top of moisturizer. It cakes up foundation. Settles into lines. It has a white cast. The protection just isn't there (I burned twice with this WHILE reapplying it. WHy? Its not water resistant in the least. If you sweat a little it comes off. If you rub your nose? It comes off. I you lay your face on your hand momentarily? It fades. God I hate it XD Also if you have sensitized skin, this BURNS. Not good for post procedures. The only good things it has going for it are that its non comedogenic, and its thin (not thick and greasy like baby sunscreen). The performance and look are terrible though. Will not repurchase. REVIEW: I'm very dissapointed with this sunblock. First off, adherence is not great. It dissapears from my nose and chin in no time, and it travels and settles in the finelines around my eyes, nose and chin. It's not water resistant AT ALL. I used this on a bare face to mow the lawn in my yard and I looked like a tomato by the end. I had reapplied the susncreen 4 times in an hour or two. Still, I burned. It must've been the sweat that dislodged it..or maybe its an ineffective spf. This leaves a noticeable whitecast on my NC 42 skintone, despite it having a light, warm beige tint. It has a matte finish, a watery consistency, and it feels siliconey/oily while applying. Liquid makeup does not fare well on top. It cakes up and separates. I have to use concealer minimally and stick mostly to powder products when I use it. I didn't experience breakouts while using it, thankfully. I will not repurchase, and can only reccomend it for women with light skintones, around NC 15-25 who don't wear a lot of makeup (because the tint will match your skin) as a city sunblock. Not good for working out or anything involving sweat/water.

About reviewer (354 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

June 2018 Update: Sad to say I have to change my review. I went through two bottles of this sunscreen and loved it. There's something different about the third bottle. I'm not sure why... I don't know if my skin has changed, if I'm now reacting to an ingredient, or possibly got a dud. It does not dry down like it used to. It's also quite drying. It makes the texture of my skin look so bad. I haven't had dry flakes in months, then I started using this sunscreen again and my skin is so flaky by the end of the day. Original review: First and foremost, I LOVE this sunscreen. My skin is combo/oily, prone to breakouts and clogs, and very reactive/sensitive. My skin also gets dehydrated easily. I bought this because Dr. Sam Bunting recommended it in one of her videos about sunscreens she takes on vacation. She appears to have very fair skin, so I figured if the tint wasn't too dark for her, it would be just fine for me (NC15-20). I was also intrigued when I saw "PA++++" on the bottle. The tint appears a little darker than my skin straight out of the bottle, but it blends beautifully. It doesn't look like I'm wearing anything, but it makes my skin look nice. It dries down to a matte finish but isn't drying. I do use a light layer of Clinique's Moisture Surge Intense before applying because zinc oxide tends to dry out my skin. I can't comment on how it wears under makeup because I don't use foundation, but it seems like it could be a nice primer for makeup. It also seems to have good protection; my melasma hasn't gotten any darker since using it. No breakouts either, which is a huge plus! This has replaced Replenix Sheer Physical Sunscreen Spray, which I had been using previously but found incredibly drying and protection wasn't that great. Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 7.0%, Zinc Oxide 6.0%. Inactive: Aqua (Water), Dimethicone, Isododecane, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Butyloctyl Salicylate, Gluconolactone, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Alumina Ammonium Hydroxide, Lactobionic Acid, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Phenethyl Benzoate, Nylon-12, Tocopheryl (Vitamin E) Acetate, Epigallocatechin Gallate (EGCG), Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tocopherol, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Methicone, Isohexadecane, Sodium Citrate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Magnesium Sulfate, Dipropylene Glycol, Propylene Carbonate, Sodium Bisulfite, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Phenoxyethanol, CI 77492 (Iron Oxide Yellow), CI 77491 (Iron Oxide Red), CI 77499 (Iron Oxide Black).

About reviewer (155 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Another great product from Neostrata of course! I think this, and the Frezyerm's Velvet Sun screen, are the best sun creams ever. This one here won't leave you with the usual white cast at all. Instead, it has a slight skin tint thought you don't see much of it when you apply it. It's not as oily as most sun creams and has a slightly watery/runny texture (in fact there is a little ball in the bottle and you have to shake it vigorously for a while). It is not as matte as Clinique's City block which I also love,but then again I am falling out of matte textures the last few years, probably because I am now 41 and my skin behaves slightly differently - it's not as oily as it used to be anymore, and I find that matte textures tend to make me do all wrinkly, especially when I use them as primers on top of oil-free foundations... It does feel like you apply water on your face, and definitely does not leave the oily residue that most (if not all!) SPF 50s leave. I wear this every day on top of my Neostrata Ultra Smoothing Cream SPF15, as during the summer I don't like being out and about with an AHA moisturiser without additional protection. I've been using this the last few months, and I think I will probably be using it during the winter too (I am normally naughty during the winter and go SPF-free, thought I shouldn't, especially when powerful AHAs are involved in my skincare...). I put Mac's Prep and Prime primer and my Mac's Pro Longwer foundation on top of this and I am ready to go. It does make my skin slightly oily during the day (it looks more matte during the day when I don't use it after Prep and Prime) but it doesn't bother me at all. I will definitely repurchase this when I run out,and it has completely convinced me to use Sun creams every day now!

About reviewer (60 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've come back to this SPF after switching to La Roche Posay Anthelios for a couple of moths, which despite wanting it to, didn't work for me. This is an elegantly formulated physical spf with a dose of niacinamide from Neostrata that is identical to the Exuviance spf 50 (which comes in an identical container but is more expensive! Presuming both companies are owned under an umbrella cosmeceutical firm). It needs a good shake before using, and when worked into the skin offers a great base for make-up (I wait for 15 minutes before applying some Nars tinted moisturizer to warm up my complexion). It gives a sheer coverage that I would go out in the day time and has a slightly chalky smell that importantly has never irritated my eyes; and I like to use it right up to the lash line to protect the delicate under-eye area. It does settle in the creases under my eyes but easier wipes away and blends out. Wouldn't recommend this for darker skin colours or people with very dry skin as it does seem to cling if I've got dry patches if I haven't applied enough moisturizer and have been doing a treatment the night before (BHA/retinol). I find this slightly oxidises and thus gets darker as well (which for my slightly olive complexion is perfect) as it does leave a beige-y pale tint when first applied. This is an spf stable in my wardrobe and whenever I wear it people always comment about great my skin looks! Also - importantly - it has never broken me out. Loses one lippy as I wish they had different tints to cater for more skin tones.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is by far the BEST sunscreen i have ever used and i tried a lot because i have pigmentation and i am obsessed about sun protection. It doesn't leave a white cast like so many other physical sunscreens i have tried. Its tinted, it's unbelievably light weight and it's perfect under makeup. It is like a primer, if you don't have any pigmentation you can just use this as a light coverage base. Wonderful product.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us