4.2

Created with Sketch.
372 reviews
80%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

It's rare that I actually buy a product twice. But this is one of those products that I made an exception for. Quite simply, it's one of the best deep conditioners out there. My hair is fairly healthy, but I like to use a deep conditioner/mask once a week to make sure it stays that way. So I can't really attest to how it helps damaged hair. But when I use it, it makes my fine hair super soft, manageable, and sweet smelling. (It smells a bit like coconuts!) This is definitely a product I can see myself re-purchasing to maintain the health of my hair. Because, after all, healthy hair is pretty hair. :-)

About reviewer (453 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This is one of my favorite hair products! I have completely virgin, long hair past my waist. Remember, long hair = old hair. Old hair is much more damage prone and needs babying. I use this product once a week. I clarify my hair twice with Neutrogena Anti Residue and then put the Reconstructor on my length only. Any product residue left on my hands gets put on the roots. I leave it in for 5-10 minutes, wash out, and apply a deep conditioner. This product has made a huge difference for me! It makes my hair feel thicker, stronger, and I am noticing I get less split ends and less breakage. A 5.1oz bottle of this lasts me 3 months. I buy it from Ulta.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

For about four years up until several months ago, I was bleaching my own medium brown hair blonde. I stopped doing it myself because I had a scary episode in August which left me with extremely damaged, spongy-textured hair. I realized that a similar mistake in future could very well leave me bald (I can practically hear all the hairdressers reading this post saying, "no s***"), and now my hairdresser is now doing the bleaching for me. Anyways, after my scary episode I was ready to throw money into my hair to get it back to some semblance of health, allowing me to keep as much of it as possible and allowing me to continue with (professionally) blonding my hair. This is one of the products that seemed to come highly recommended. I've been using it about once a week for about 3 months, leaving it in for the recommended 5 minutes each time. I use it after shampooing, before my usual conditioner. I use quite a bit of it to ensure all my hair is saturated. By the way this stuff smells strongly of bananas which I'd have thought I wouldn't like, but it's actually quite nice. This product does make damaged hair much more manageable and feel healthier. In the short term, after I've used it I notice it's tamer, softer, and less frizzy or prone to flyaways. I'd use it with every shower if I could, but 1. It would be annoying to wait 5 minutes in the shower each time and 2. I've read that it's not a great idea to overdo protein, and anecdotally I've noticed counteractive effects from using another good protein product, Beyond the Zone Protein Cocktail spray, twice in a week: more dry and frizzy hair. Btw I prefer K-Pak Reconstructor to the Beyond the Zone stuff, in case you were wondering. In terms of long term effects, the last time I went to my hairdresser about a week ago, she commented on how much healthier my hair feels and asked what I'd been using. I did 2 Olaplex treatments shortly after my hair disaster in August, but I've seen my hairdresser a few times since then, and since then the only difference has been the K-Pak Reconstructor. I've read time and again that it isn't scientifically possible to undo damage to your hair, but fwiw my hair absolutely has improved since I did all that damage 4 months ago. Some of it has probably broken off, which would make my hair seem healthier on the whole, but definitely not all of it (a lot of my hair was damaged). Anyways, will repurchase.

About reviewer (194 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I am not one prone to write reviews, but felt compelled to write this one because JoicoK-Pak Deep Penetrating Reconstructor saved my hair. I was a platinum blond as a child and over the years my hair has gotten darker to the point that it's now a dark blond. Needless to say, dyeing it blond got harder and harder over the years. I went from a standard box dye to a high-lift blond box dye to bleach. I only started using bleach about 6 months ago, but never using bleach before, I didn't know to be super careful to not let the bleach touch previously bleached hair when touching up my roots. The results was a fried mess that made my hair look like an exploded bail of hay. Yesterday I gave up on doing it myself and went to a stylist. She gave me a K-pak deep conditioning treatment and my hair feels like it used to when I was younger. All the fly aways are gone. It's soft, silky and smooth. I can't say enough good things about JoicoK-Pak Deep Penetrating Reconstructor. It's my holy grail hair treatment. Recommend to all!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This, along with the K-Pak Intense Hydrator, has made the biggest difference in how my hair looks and feels that I've ever experienced. I'm a convert. My hair; fine, slightly wavy and permed, to help my regular pin curl wet sets last better. The perm is quite rough on the hair, of course, I tend to get a lot of frizz if I'm not very careful about how I do the set and brush-out, and I do brush the sets quite a lot, which is also hard on the hair. This helps a lot, making my hair feel smoother, stronger and better, more like my hair when it's not permed. I do agree that this needs to be followed up with a moisturising treatment, though, it really is a protein treatment, not a hydrator. I'm on my second tube of this, on my third tube of the Intense Hydrator and gradually switching my entire haircare routine to K-Pak products, that's how much of a difference it makes for my hair. Never used salon products consistently before, though, so it could be just that, but either way, I recommend this and will keep repurchasing.

About reviewer (80 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I've been using this consistently for a decade now which should tell you just how much I love it. For reference, I have very fine (but plentiful!) blonde hair which is put through the ringer what with my weekly swim in a chlorinated pool and then lightening it with lemon juice. I use this once or twice a month if my hair is in good condition, and once or twice a week when it needs some extra care, and it always visibly improves the strength and texture of my hair. I have found that it's necessary to follow it up with a deep conditioner or oil to stop it from feeling dry, and I would definitely consider this to be more of a strengthening treatment than a softening one. The only complaint I can think of is that the top always seems to be really stiff and difficult to open which isn't great when your hands are wet in the shower! ETA: I forgot to mention that I first started using this when I had white blonde hair (that, whenever my roots started to show, I would bleach all over out of teenage laziness!) and this is the only thing that stopped my hair from completely disintegrating whenever I tried to run a comb through it. So if you're looking for something to save your bleached locks this might be just what you need!

About reviewer (114 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

One of the best deep conditioners I have ever used. My hair was getting very dry from highlighting and this stuff saved the day. I am sorry I didn't discover it years ago. My hair feels so soft and the dryness has virtually disappeared with the exception of a tiny pinch on the bottom. I have not found a better product. I love this product. Highly recommend.

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I got this because I was hoping this would be a good alternative to the Aphogee 2 step protein treatment, which I like but I just wanted something I can do in the shower. I got lazy with my 2x weekly deep conditioning treatments and I also got a little flat iron happy (and was skimpy with my heat protectants ????) this summer and my hair was wavy or straight at the ends instead of curly. This was $20 for a 5 ounce bottle, which isn't terrible, but still up there. This did give the midsection of my hair it's curl back, but the ends are still on the wavy side. I'm not too crazy about the ingredients (mineral oil is the 3rd ingredient) but I love the banana and coconut smell. I did notice less breakage after using this. I like it and I am satisfied with the results but I can't get over mineral oil being so high on the ingredient list, so I probably won't repurchase.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Nothing holds a candle to this. I have literally been using this since I was 12 years old to repair my many bad hair choices. When will I ever learn? *sigh* at least I have this stuff as my savior. From black to blonde over and over in the past 10 years with varying shades of brown, bronde, ombres, balayage and everything in between. The fact that I still have hair is a miracle, let alone long, healthy hair! The olaplex step 3 is just okay, but this stuff is amazing. I jumped on the olaplex bandwagon (getting the in-salon service and the take home step 3), and while it wasn't bad, I was wondering why my hair this past year wasn't growing as fast as usual and why it just wasn't as soft and healthy. I realized that I stopped using this, and it was totally the reason why! This treatment works wonders.. no it does not moisturize really, so you must use a good conditioner afterwards. That's not what this is meant to do, though. This stuff makes your hair STRONG, resilient, and healthy. It's helped my split ends tremendously and is really helping my hair to grow again. After many years of using this I can't believe I never left a review. Don't buy into the hype of all the other products out there, this stuff is the real deal. If your hair is bleached, damaged, fried, in need of serious repair go buy this ASAP! It also smells amazing, like a coconut banana smoothie.

About reviewer (79 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have color treated and bleached hair which needed some serious help two months ago. I'm a serious hair-junkie and have always chemically treated my hair for years, but due to a poor diet with barely any vitamins and nutrition my hair got really dry.. So when I wanted to go back to blonde from black a few months ago my hair become chewing gum-like and way too dry! I couldn't even do a cold blow dry! So I had to cut my hair from a medium length to a short bob to get all the chewing gum hair off, well most of it, and dye my hair from a bleached (and gross!) color to dark blonde (which I now am really loving!) to get a nice hair style. In-betwen all of this HELL I used Joico K-pak which SERIOUSLY helped my hair!!! Now my hair is in such a good condition. I am so glad I've spent so much money on this product. This is my third tube of this product and I am ready to purchase another one! What is really important with this product is that it only gives your hair proteins, so it won't leave your hair softer. In the beginning I didn't know this so my hair kept breaking and felt "hard". But when I started combining it with a intense hydrator from Moroccoanoil my hair became new over night. HIGHLY recommend this product!!

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue