4.1

Created with Sketch.
55 reviews
71%
would repurchase
4.6/5
package quality

price range
$32.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I'm not sure how I came across this product, but I'm glad I did! Where I live, it's hard to feel summery when there's nothing but June Gloom clouding up the sky, but I very much wanted to feel summery and what's more summery than tanning? I don't have much experience using self tanners -- the only other one I've ever used is the Jergen's lotion tanner, which is also great by the way -- so ease of application is a must. The idea of dropping tanning serum into a lotion/moisturizer you already have in your routine intrigued me, as it works with what you already use. You don't have to switch out products at all -- it just enhances the products you already use by adding a glowy, tanning effect. And... the results are lovely! When I naturally tan in the sun, I usually turn a weird grayish red, so I wanted something to counteract that dull, sallow look. This is perfect. The results are gradual and SUBTLE -- I actually use this both on my face and body, and it took me 4 drops per application, once a day, for 2-3 days to get a lovely sun-kissed look. (For my body, it takes 5-6 drops per area.) I don't know if the consistency of the moisturizer or lotion you use in tandem with the drops affects the tanning process, but I get a feeling that it does. It's crazy the sort of confidence you get from a good tan -- I'll get that "it's golden hour power hour honey!!!" vibe when I catch myself in the mirror. Even my friends complimented me on how good my tan looks! However, I would not recommend this to those who are looking for an "obviously" tanned look. When I say gradual, I mean gradual! It takes a few days of curing yourself to get a noticeable "tan", which I can really describe as a slight tan, but it works more as a skin enhancer because I've never gotten the bronze-y look (nor am I going for that). I go for the "there's something different about her, but I'm not sure what exactly" sort of subtlety. After achieving the color I want, I use it every 3-4 days to enhance and as upkeep. I would describe myself as light-skinned but definitely not pale, which may be why it took a few days for pigmentation to show. All in all -- despite its pricey-ness -- 5 stars! Fun extras: The bottle is 0.5 oz, or 15 mL, which converts to roughly 300 drops in this bottle. That is 10 cents a drop, in case you were wondering!

About reviewer (194 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I can’t say enough about this stuff. I have always been leery of fake tan products but this is super. (Between this and Jergens Natural Glow I have the total tan thing covered without sun exposure. ) It really gives me a natural tanned look on my face and neck. Just add a couple of drops to your moisturizer and you hardly need to use foundation. I do it every two or three days.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Even though I love the packaging so much, I have to b honest that this product is quite pricey and it’s not suitable for my asian skin. So, I’m asian and pale. This is my first self tanner and im not happy w it. It takes abt 2 days on a row of applications to see the result on ur face. And it’s actually yellow, not brown, not natural at all. In fact, it makes my face so yellow that my colleagues asked me if I needed their tips to remove the tumeric on my face ????. I did give it a try one more time on my face but it still gave the same color (I use 4 drops of product to mix w my Clinique moisturizer everytime). I finally gave up and only used this on my body. Yes, believe it or not, I tried St Tropez bronzing mousse and I applied this on the day after to maintain the color. That’s it! Consider before u buy this. ***My top self tanners after 5 months: +Sephora tinted self tanning body mist- 24 usd/ bottle of 150ml. I can use it for 4 times of whole body applications +St Tropez bronzing mousse- 34 usd/bottle of 240ml. I used 8 times already and I can still see quite a lot of product left in the bottle.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is so natural looking. I have the face version and the body version. Mix a few drops with your normal facial moisturiser (i use it at night) and apply evenly, i always comb my eyebrows through so there is no clumping/also the hairline. Let it dry and wake up with a great and natural glow. Same with the body version. I am pretty clueless about fake tan and the like but i have yet to make a mistake with this. I have never had any irritation from it either. Price is fair in my opinion for how long the bottles last. This is not a fake tan - it will not give you a differently coloured skin but it will give you a natural golden glow. I love it and hope its never discontinued. For reference i have sensitive dry skin - i wear medium in Glossier Skin Tint.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

A real hidden gem! This is the perfect face tanner (can be used for body as well). It’s fast acting, user friendly and no orange colouring to the skin tone. In the recent years I have limited sun exposure and am looking for alternative bronzing product. I’m not a fan of self tanners cuz of the orangey skin tones and have always declined tanning beds. To be honest I really hate the feel of sunscreen on my face but have finally found a skin tint/moisturizer that has a good feeling SPF. But I lack colour esp in the summer months. Onto this product... it comes in a small arcrylic bottle, twist top lid reveals a pointed tip which dispenses product in drops, turn the bottle upside down and there is a soft touch bottom that aids in dispersing the drops.The bottle is inverted (tip down) where you press/tap the bottom and drops are dispensed onto your facial moisturizer of choice that you already have set aside the amount needed for your daily skincare. Mix the moisturizer and desired drops well and apply to face. Within a couple hours a gradual bronzing is noticed. I use 3 drops for the first x3 days, then maintenance x3 drops every 2-3 days. I must stress this is not orangey in any way but more of a tan colouring. There is a subtle scent, definitely not overwhelming, Clarins products are often scented. The drops themselves are a semi-thick oily/viscous consistency and blend well w/ creams/lotions. I have not noticed any streaking or muddy appearance after 6wks of use, nor have I noticed any adverse skin reactions. Overall this is a fantastic fuss-free product that is part of my weekly skincare routine- love it!!!

About reviewer (248 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I wanted to like this, but it just doesn't do much. Even if I use 6+ drops, the impact is minimal. To clarify, I don't use this on my face -- I use it on my legs, mixed with moisturizer -- so maybe my review isn't valid for the typical user. On a positive note, virtually no scent and it absorbs very quickly -- no stains on my sheets like with St Tropez.

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have been using this product for about 2 yrs now. I tan easily in Summer but my face is just too pale in Winter. I use 3 drops when I paused a few days or 2 drops every 2-3 days.I use it in the morning and sometimes even apply makeup after a few minutes. Golden glow by lunchtime :-) pros: - can be added to any cream, lotion or oil - customisable - even result every time - has never irritated my relatively sensitive skin - believable colour, i was NEVER asked if I used anything. Only got compliments how I look so fresh in Winter. - no self tanner smell! - the bottle lasts for ages, seriously con: - initial price to purchase - cheaper in France If you have no results, your skin might be too exfoliated for the process to work. You actually need some dead skin cells for self tanners to develop colour. I exfoliate max. 1xweek. I am on my second bottle. 1 Bottle lasts me approx 1 year. I don`t use it in the summer, as I practically live outdoors then :-) I hope this was helpful.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

So my skin is very fair, maybe NW13 or even paler. 4 drops mixed in 1/2 tsp lotion on my face at night for 2-3 nights gives me a very very light "tan". It looks as natural as any fake tan ever looks (this has DHA + erythrulose, so the 2 existing self tan agents). Haven't seen any streaking. I have dry flaky skin, but haven't noticed it getting drier from this either. I use it with a fairly heavy clinical body lotion. Edit: I lost patience one night and used 6 drops, after first rubbing quite a lot to get off a mascara, and it stung a bit and I woke up with a few red stingy bumps. So use as directed I guess. Pros: - *Very* minimalist formula means it doesn't interfere with the my skincare routine, which is my main thing with it. No oil-soluble ingredients, just water, DHA, alcohol, glycerin, aloe, erythrulose, xanthan gum, coloring, citric acid, preservatives and a musk perfume chemical (ethylene brassylate - it doesn't have a discernible "scent", though; this substance is often used lightly just to offset other smells). Fake tan smell is much much less intense than from the St Tropez products I have - barely noticeable really. Cons: - Expensive as hell, I use a cheaper fake tan lotion on neck and chest - Not cruelty free - Guessing folks with deeper skin than mine will get impatient with it. I do sometimes. It's probably not an option for anyone who regularly self-tans, or anyone with medium and deeper toned skin. Btw, DHA leaves skin much more prone to free radical damage from sunlight for at least 24 hours, so you should use serious SPF the next day even if you normally don't.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This product was presented to me at Sephora as a radiance booster. I decided to give it a try. It is absolutely one of the worst products I have ever used. It has a extremely sticky texture that does not absorb into the skin. I tried using for about one week and noticed zero benefits. It also interred with my other skin care. I am sad to have waisted the money on this, it went in the trash.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've used it every day for a month - first with 2 drops, then i went up to 4, then 5 and eventually 6 (!) but it has done absolutely nothing whatsoever :( I usually use the Clarins Liquid Bronze but I tried this on recommendation from the lady at the John Lewis Clarins counter. I thought it would be good to add to my night time routine so I can wash it off in the morning and get rid of the weird fake tan smell you always get. I know this is a gradual tanner rather than a full strength fake tan but as I wear a high SPF every day and I have very fair skin I thought this would be perfect to maintain a soft summer glow. After reading all of these reviews think I must have bought a dud or something because no matter how much I use or what moisturiser I mix it with, it doesn't do a thing. Back to the Liquid Bronze for me...

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.