3.6

Created with Sketch.
97 reviews
56%
would repurchase
4.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I have a light neutral/yellow-toned complexion and I wear No.50 as a bronzer, meaning I apply it lightly around the perimeter of my long oval-shaped face throughout the year. It has no orange or red in it whatsoever, I am very glad that the makeup artist at Nordstrom's Chanel counter, as she and another saleslady were quick to point out that fact. This is a chic two-toned(bone and black), included in a crescent-shaped brush that works beautifully to apply and diffuse the color encircling my face. In summer I lightly brush this across the high points of my face. This is scented and unfortunately, it does not smell like Joues Contraste, worth mentioning if you are sensitive to fragrance but otherwise, it is a blip in my contentment with this powder.

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

First off, this product is very sheer, and is not a powder foundation. This is more of a glowy, healthy powder that can be used to lightly set foundation to add some glow, and just give your skin a healthy look overall.. I'm not a full coverage foundation/base product kind of girl, in fact I only have 1 full coverage liquid foundation out of over 20 that I currently have. This is that perfect quick product to pair with some under eye concealer on a great skin day, even the fan type brush that comes with it is great. Definitely recommend.

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I should have paid more attention to the “sheer” aspect to this product name because it is very very sheer as in no coverage imo. I used it to mattify and set the Chanel Perfection Lumiere foundation. It looked nice when first applied, however even by afternoon I was shiny and the makeup was patchy after 4 hours sitting in an office. I also tried another day to take it to work with me for touch ups, and it did mattify but offered no coverage at all, which I needed since the foundation and powder didn’t look great mid day. So if it didn’t work well to set foundation for more than a few hours, and is too sheer to bring along for touch ups I really have no use for it unfortunately. I would consider this a very sheer setting powder of sub par lasting quality. So disappointing because I wanted to love it, even for the beautiful case and heavenly scent. Sadly this is going back.

About reviewer (163 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Though I was skeptical and bought this on a whim when I ran out of my other pressed powder, I have to admit that on my skin, this is awesome - especially in the summer when I am using a ton of greasy sunscreen on my face. I have dry skin, and this warms up my complexion, and reduces the greasy sunscreen look while still keeping my complexion glowy - it literally is like using some kind of photo filter in real life! Note that my natural skin tone is about nc35, and in summer more of an nc42. I have this in shade 30 and I still find that, despite my natural tan, it makes my face more bronzed/orange looking - the colour definitely shows up on my face, and I have to take it down my neck/chest to keep things matched up. In winter I may switch to shade 25. UPDATE Still love the look of this powder on my dry skin, but I’ve taken off a couple lippies because, first of all, after you use it for a month or two, the powder seals on top - this wasted product when I had to rub the seal off, and it then kept sealing repeatedly. Secondly, you don’t get much product - especially for the price. When you open it, there is a ‘dome’ of product, but the dome is hollow! This wasted even more product when the dome collapsed with use. Finally, though the packaging is pretty, it is flimsy - the compact hinge broke and came apart after a few months though I didn’t drop it, and actually barely used it after the summer.

About reviewer (40 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Tan, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I usually use 20 beige in chanel foundation and 10beige in concealer so gotten color matched with n.20 in Les Beiges because it has more of a yellow undertone. the n.10 does work also but its a little lighter and pinkier on me. I initially really loved the Le Teint powder foundation but that one was getting too heavy/dry for my liking. I needed something light. This powder is light coverage but will add a little color to your skin. This gives my skin a nice radiance without shimmer or glitter, so if you are looking for a silky finishing powder on the natural side, this would be perfect. The only complaint for me is that it doesnt control oil. I have to blot and touch up by the 4th hour and doesnt mattify me or add texture to my skin. Pros- Nondrying Natural radiance Great for Touchup Doesnt look heavy Lightweight Great for setting undereyes when using Vitalumiere Aqua as concealer Con- Price Smell/fragrance might bother some people No coverage Not good for oily skin Edit, april.2019 - my skin has been more dry as of lately due to benzoyl peroxide so i gave this powder another go. I bought it on a whim while trying to get a touch up powder and i am very happy with it this time around. I usually grab this powder for touch ups throughout the day if i am going out! The powder refreshes my base makeup and never looks cakey while helping my skin look put together and like healthy skin again. Takes away oil without making me look flat. I still get oily after about 2 hours in the hotter months but i didnt expect this to be oil controlling. This is such a beautiful little compact. The only thing is that if you keep the brush in the compact i do suggest cleaning it often because it makes the mirror very blurry. I think its because of the shea butter in this. I wish the brush had a separate compartment on the bottom, the little plastic the brush sits on is very flimsy and cheap. Anyways id repurchase. Final edit- i am pleasantly surprised at how well this works to set my undereyes. I actually skip concealer and use my Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua for my undereye dark circles and sweeps a bit of Les Beiges Powder on top, the result is beautiful. Its never dry and does not crease. (I have really dry undereyes and everything will cling). I am so happy i found this technique. I no longer use traditional concealers! I use this all over the face mainly when i am going out during the day when i use my UV Essentiel spf 50 Sunscreen. The sunscreen creates a white cast so this powder is perfect to add back some natural color to my face. No.20 is perfect because of the golden undertone. I dont powder if i go out at night, only to touch up ill bring this powder with me on the go. VITALUMIERE AQUA AND THIS ARE A PERFECT MATCH!

About reviewer (417 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is a nice medium coverage foundation with good staying power, and a nice clea scent, I just wish it wasn't $60.

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is not a powder foundation. It's a sheer light creamy powder with a demi matte that can be used as a setting powder/touch up powder/bronzer, contour etc. There's nothing quite like this on the market. I use this as a touch up powder. I use Lancôme dual finish powder in Ecru 230 as my setting powder but I find it too heavy to be used as a touch up powder. That's why I like Chanel les beiges powder. It mattifies, deposits a little colour and keeps my foundation looking fresh. Most important, it doesn't look chalky or settle into my lines. I'm in my late 20's now and am really starting to see the signs of ageing. I find I can no longer use just any type of powder. Sorry, but Rimmel stay matte powder just doesn't cut it anymore for me, it's just way too dry and chalky for my ageing skin. I use the shade 30 which is more of a light golden tan shade. It's a fraction too dark but it still looks natural. It looks really dark in the pan but it's actually quite light. Number 20 is too light, made me look kinda chalky and dry. I can always mix 20 and 30 together, but often I'm pressed for time and not really convenient to carry 2 powders with me. They do sell 25 but it's really PINK, not really suitable for my MAC NC20-30 skin tone. This powder is really expensive $88AUD for 12g. Which is why i only use it as a touch up powder. For setting I prefer to use something more affordable (Lancôme dual finish is $55AUD for 19g). If you're after a powder for dry skin that won't look dry or cakey, this is worth having a look. One more thing too mention, this powder seals/hardens up really fast if you aren't careful. You need to keep your brushes/sponge /fingers really clean when using this. Pretty much all the testers have sealed up because of this. Update: Number 30 turns out to be still too dark. It oxidises a lot, especially when the weather is warmer or you've been busy running errands etc. Looks like I'm going to have to stick to number 20. Update 2: Number 20 is still too light and 30 too dark. I'm one of many who have this problem, stuck in between 20 and 30. I don't want waste this so I will mix both in the future. Now, I'm using Dior nude air powder in number 30 which is perfect shade for me.

About reviewer (95 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I wasn't interested in this product when it first hit the shelves despite thinking that it looked very appealing. I held off buying for a very long time but recently caved and purchased it with a few other Chanel items (my bank balance is crying). I think the marketing hype on this product is ridiculous and I feel slightly confused about what this powder actually is or should be....I have the lightest shade but feel that perhaps to use it as Chanel intended I should have gone up a shade so it showed more colour? In the end I feel that you can use this as a setting powder, a light bronzer or whatever you prefer and there really is no general rule about it. I've rated this a 5 because as well as being ridiculously beautiful it is also practical. I finish my makeup with this every day and it gives me a very slight glow whilst taking any slickness off my skin. I am happy that it has SPF (although I don't rely on it), I like the fragrance because it makes me feel pampered (although I know that many won't). Obviously i look nothing like the beautiful Gisele when I have finished with this powder but if I wanted to add slight bronzing to my contours then I could go up a shade or two which perhaps I may do in the future. I love this powder because it is a covetable luxury item that does a nice job of finishing my makeup and the powder is silky and glides on well. For some, powder is powder but for me pulling this compact out when I'm bleary eyed in the morning is a nice thing to experience. This product would be good to carry with you because the brush it comes with is actually quite useable and the compact is sturdy and has a very nice sized mirror. It isn't a miracle product, it's a slightly glowy setting powder with a teeny bronze cast but the powder is so sheer that barely comes across when you apply it, but it is a beautiful item for people who enjoy packaging and guiltily but knowingly buy into the marketing fairytale. I'm very pleased with this and it brings me joy, that is all I ask for.

About reviewer (100 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Bought two!!cthis is AMAZING. Every time I wear it I get asked what I've done to have perfect skin. Never had anyone ask before. I just hope this never gets dropped by Chanel!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Chanel - Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Colour Broad Spectrum SPF 15 Sunscreen in № 30. Day 1: love it Day 2: Meh Day 3: OMG pancake face and hating it. Day 4: better than meh but worse than love. I think this comes down to me not knowing how to exactly use this as I thought it was more of a mattifying powder to put over my foundation as the woman at the Chanel a counter at Nordstrom did for me, which looked really incredible over my liquid foundation. She didn't explain what the uses for it were at all nor how to apply it other than I don't need to use much, now that I think of it. Upon applying it the following day myself, it looked rather patchy and weird especially along my jawbone and basically looked like my foundation had oxidized (which wasn't the case). Strange. Also, I feel that it may be way to dark for what I initially thought it was meant to be used for - or so I thought. But upon reading other reviews here, people seem to be saying it's more of a very light bronzer/glow powder rather than a regular pressed powder to use throughout the day. I'm thinking of exchanging for a shade lighter but unsure. Beautiful packaging, however! Will experiment more with it.

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.