3.1

Created with Sketch.
148 reviews
47%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 months ago

I definitely wouldn't say that this is truly waterproof when comparing my past waterproof mascaras, but I like the volume it gives to my short lashes. I usually layer this between applications of a more waterproof, lengthening mascara. I also appreciate how the rigid-bristled wand combs my lashes too. In all, I wouldn't repurchase because there are better volumizing mascaras out there to layer with other ones. But the Clump Crusher does its job!

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack



4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I was so happy when Cover Girl was recently certified as cruelty-free by Leaping Bunny, and was eager to try one of their well-regarded mascaras. <br> My mascara has to be: <br> - cruelty-free<br> - priced < $10 <br> - waterproof; able to hold up on my very oily skin <br> - able to hold a curl <br> - dark brown <br> I'd been happily using Palladio Aqua Force for years, but when Cover Girl went cruelty-free I decided to give one of their mascaras a try, especially since Cover Girl products are more widely available than Palladio's. <br> Clump Crusher is good, but hardly thrilling. It does lengthen and define well, but it doesn't impart much volume, and, rather ironically given the product's name, it seems to make my lashes stick together a bit. Worst of all [for me],doesn't seem to hold a curl especially well. <br> In all, Clump Crusher is a respectable everyday mascara; I'll use it for the standard three months, then I'll have to decide between this mascara and Aqua Force.

About reviewer (847 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

In a word. NO. Do not buy this if you are looking for waterproof mascara. Water resistant even. I have stick straight eyelashes. I use Latisse so they're decently long for my age (55), but I need a waterproof mascara to hold the curl from the eyelash curler. Any other type of mascara takes the curl out. I do love several drugstore brands (that I've had the most success with), but wanted to try somthing new. I saw this reviewed by a youtube beauty influencer as her holy grail for the lower lashes because of the staying power and thought I'd try it. Put it on my lower lashes first...by the end of the night...clumps of mascara everywhere. Perhaps it's because I hydrate my undereye area, but never-the-less...not a good fit so far. This morning I tried it on my upper lashes after my consummate Ardell eyelash conditioner and curling with my Lancomb eyelash curler. At first, I thought it was good on the first eye, then following up on the 2nd eye...CLUMPS and I mean a lot. THEN all of a sudden I notice my eyelash curl wilted. So off it comes and here's the one and only positive. It came off without a hitch.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've bought a few tubes of this already, for various reasons which I'll list below. As a whole it has some serious shortcomings that keep me looking to replace it while looking for something that ticks the same boxes. The good: The brush, the lengthening/definition, the lack of irritation. The bad: Lack of volume (no drama, every day type mascara), the completely false "water resistant" claim, the flake and lack of curl holding power. So, let's start! I love this brush. I have finicky eyelashes that clump easily and honestly can be a pain to coat properly. They seem to splay out widely across my eye, with the outer corner ones literally facing the same way winged eyeliner would. It makes it hard to get in there with a larger brush and not touch my (hooded, ugh) eyelid. The size of this brush makes that possible. The bristles are perfect for combing through and separating my lashes, making them look longer and defined. I get long, fluttery looking lashes that help open my eye and make me look more awake. As a bonus, this mascara doesn't irritate my eyes like some can during the wonderful season of allergies. Now, the not so good. This is a one trick pony. All length, little volume. While my lashes may look long and fluttery for a bit, it doesn't quite hit the sweet spot I'd like. Admittedly, I'm picky and can build some volume at the root with multiple coats, but with my lashes it's 1 step from clump city. The main problem is no matter how much I apply, this just doesn't hold a curl. I have straight, but still fairly long lashes and keeping them curled is a j o b. I have yet to actually find a mascara that doesn't clump my lashes together but curls them/holds a curl for more than an hour tops. This is a good everyday mascara for work and basic makeup needs but don't try to rock this with a full glam look (unless using falsies). I wouldn't call this particularly long wearing, since it flakes onto my cheekbones. The ends just lose all product and unless I reapply it just slowly ends up all over my face during the day. It also smudges to my lower lashline because, surprise surprise, the water resistant claim is unfortunately B.S. I can remove most, if not all, of this with just water and a microfiber cloth even with 3+ coats on. It does not survive crying, showering, deep humidity or sweating, and especially not swimming. Disappointing, considering the orange tube lash blast is almost TOO budgeproof. I keep buying it for the brush, and keep being annoyed that I don't have a properly waterproof mascara. I have Wet n' Wild megalength in the mail at the moment, and I'm hoping that will at least close the needed gap for a waterproof lower mascara. If I can find something truly waterproof, budget friendly, with a similar wand... goodbye to this product.

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

OMG, this stuff is so amazing!!! I can't believe I have been spending double the price for mascara when I could buy this for like $8! I'm so glad I tried it! It lengthens lashes like nobody's business and the best part is NO CLUMPS! I freaking love this stuff! Granted, I use Latisse on my lashes, so they are already pretty long, but when I use this mascara, everyone thinks I'm wearing falsies. My mom uses this mascara and it makes her lashes look amazing too. I love the matte green packaging. It feels good in the hand and the wand is long, which makes it easier to apply with precision. It is water resistant, so it won't run if I cry, but is still easy to remove at the end of the day. I can't recommend this mascara enough! Don't waste your money on high end mascara when you can drive to your local Walmart or drugstore and get a tube for less than 10 bucks. If you don't like it, Walmart accepts returns with a receipt, so it won't affect your wallet. I bet you will not want to return it though. ☺

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is my HG lower lash mascara. I have not found one that works as good. It does not flake or smudge. This a a problem that I have because I have watery eyes and under eyes that are oily. It work well as a general everyday mascara as well but its primary function for me is my lower lashes.

About reviewer (90 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I wore this to a wedding and took a nap in the car on the way to the where the it was being held because it was so to be waterproof I was thinking that it was not going to have problems! We got to the wedding venue and I lift my head up off the pillow and I looked into a rear view mirror and I had black eyes! No a good one to try in my opinion

About reviewer (46 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Black Mascara has been the mascara for me but I wanted to try Brown mascara. I bought Cover Girl Clump Crusher Brown Mascara...not the water proof kind. I am very Pleased with it...its a very nice brown color & it does not clump. It looks good with my L'Oreal Chocolate eye shadow & my brown eyeliner.

About reviewer (408 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I wasn't sure about this mascara when I first bought it, but I've been liking it a lot. I purchased it to take to Florida, hoping the water-resistant aspect would prevent melting (spoiler, didn't wear it once, ha), and not wanting it to go bad, I started using it...and it's great! I'm usually a mascara snob and stick to high-end brands, but this drugstore product has pleasantly surprised me -- I reach for it every day. It holds a curl, looks natural-but-better, and doesn't flake or smudge. The black color is also very, very black, perfect for us ladies whose eyelashes go lighter in the summer. I'll finish my tube and repurchase for sure, and I plan to stick with the water-resistant formula because it's summer in the midwest and the humidity is not kind to mascara! EDIT 4/16/18: Upgrading to 5 stars. New favorite mascara! I've repurchased twice and will continue to do so.

About reviewer (354 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Been using this for over a year now, repurchased several times. Tried others, came back. It is just so easy for me to make my lashes separated and not spidery with this. I layer it up two or even three times, still looks good. Removal is easy with a micellar water or with a makeup eraser. It's water resistant not water proof, so if I cry it will flake off but it doesn't make a huge mess. Great mascara.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us