3.2

Created with Sketch.
20 reviews
65%
would repurchase
3.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The entire Ecoco brand is horrible. I have purchased products that are cheap that I really like, but never have I come across a cheap brand, where every product I've ever tried from them is just plain awful! The products are very perfumey and strong in scent. God only knows what chromic all,components are in the synthetic fragrances (parfum) that they put in their products. The company has horrible customer service. Contacted them via email and they never responded back to my questions and concerns at all. They like to put out info in order to keep people buying their cheap,junk, but the company just can't be trusted, when it comes to trying to really get the honest truth out of them, when you ask them questions or pose questions to them that they don't know the answer to, they just dodge answering ones questions period. Their gels are the absolute worst. I experienced very negative effects to my hair and health, from them. I only started buying their tofu to because of just how cheap they are, however, all I've ever experienced with their Eco Styler gels (and I've tried almost all of them) is having very dry, very stiff, very hard, very crunchy hair that would always end up flaking (whether it be a little or a lot). I only used them to do slicked back buns with. When it comes to my health, they made my eyes water/caused eye irritation, scalp irritation, scalp itchiness, my allergies would flare up, I experienced sore, scratchy throats, dizziness (due to the smell), and a level of nausea due to the smell as well. I had no choice but to cancel this line and never shall my money be doesn't on anything Ecoco sells. Their products aren't worth a penny, and I regret ever wasting my time on Ecoco's products ever! There are way much better products out there. And, I mean that 1000%!

About reviewer (972 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack



1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

My hair hated this gel from the moment it touched my hair. I could barely spread it through my strands. I wanted to wash it out right then and start over, but I continued due to a friends recommendation to try this (and excellent reviews). It turned my slippery, conditioned hair into hair that felt like I had just washed it in Dawn dish soap ( extremely dry, straw-like, stiff despite being completely wet) As it dried, there was no hold (also no crunch). My curls were so dry and puffy they started to look like dread locks. I don’t know how my hair could hate a gel so much.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I typically do not review hair products unless I love them or hate them. My last reviews for hair products (coconut oil and Palmers Olive Oil Formula Shampoo) were both hated items (especially coconut oil) and are now in the trash. I cannot say the same for Eco Styler Olive Oil Gel. I LOVE this gel. My hair is probably between 3c and 4a, with mostly 3c. I probably have some 3b at the very roots, as for some reason its my ends that do the most curling. It's just easiest to say that I have a mass of hair that forms into coils. Imagine a bunch of very small mattress coils and that's what my hair looks like. I typically live in wash n go's, and for a long time I had a lot of trouble finding a product that provided a decent hold. I like cream stylers but I notice that as my hair grows and gets longer, creams provide a hold for about 3 days, max. So I decided I needed a gel. The first one I bought was Frizz-Free Curls Goddess Curls at Target for $9.99. I really like that gel (and still use it sometimes) but the only problem is it's $9.99 and my Target doesn't always carry it. Also, the size is a bit problematic-you get 80z in a bottle, but I go through it so quickly that sometimes it's not even worth it to buy a bottle. Then my friend told me about Eco Styler. Apparently this gel is a much loved staple in the natural community. I picked up the small tub of this gel from Walgreens for about $4.99. It doesn't have any discernible smell, but it is a nice green color. This gel claims to be alcohol free and non drying, and I have noticed that it doesn't make my hair feel rough afterwards. There is a slight crunch, but I make sure to scrunch my hair with olive oil after each application of gel to prevent this. I really like using Eco Styler Olive Oil for my wash n go's. It's the one gel I've found that gives me the hold that I like for a long time, doesn't flake no matter how I layer it, is fairly curly-girl friendly, and is inexpensive and can be found pretty much anywhere. My curls always pop and are extremely defined after using this gel, despite the fact that my hair is on the longer side and that I'm starting to have trouble with definition :( I use this gel along with Shea Moisture African Black Soap Balancing Conditioner and plain olive oil and it works wonderfully for my wash n go routine. This is an excellent product for a natural girl to keep in her stash.

About reviewer (60 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This product is great for 2 strand twist (4a/4b hair type) I wouldn't use it for a wash and go bc it will not define your curls well for my hair type it won't. Overall its a great product.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Dark

HairOther

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This stuff is amazing. I love that it's alcohol free and doesn't make my hair hard and cry. I did use a lot of shea moisture leave in conditioner, coconut oil, and styling cream before applying the gel. Once it dries my hair looked amazing and had no crunch. My fiancé even took notice of how nice it's looking and it worked for him too!! I highly recommend getting it at Sally's it's about $5 for the big container vs the same price for a small one in CVS

About reviewer (54 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I want to start off by stating that my hair is not of ethnic origin. I have fine, high density, 3a/3b caucasian curls. My curl pattern is very weak, and mixed with my fine texture, I need strong hold gels for my hair to clump and stay put. My hair is also dry by nature so I need products that don't exasperate that. I've been hearing a lot about the Eco Styler gels and when I saw the cute little green pot sitting at Walgreens I couldn't resist. The Olive Oil version stated that it added moisture and was a strong, number 10, hold. I figured this would either be a success, or a disaster. It was a success!I smoothed the gel into wet, towel dried hair, over Kinky Curly Knot Today as a leave in conditioner and scrunched to activate my curl. I put my hair up in a high bun to air dry. *This gel does not have slip!* The texture of this gel is not slick or slippery. It is very thick in the pot and almost has a "grabby" texture to it that seems to coat the hair in a demi-matte finish. My hair did not look flat, but it sort of felt it. I'm very sensitive to scents, and I really do not smell any discernible scent. If you shove your nose to the product, you can get a little bit of a natural smelling scent, but once applied it smells like nothing. This product creates a gel cast, aka "crunch", which is something I look for in a product. It scrunches out easily and my curls were left structured, shiny, hydrated and smooth. Once my hair was dry, that "flat" feeling was totally gone. This is a win for me, so far. It's cheap and gets the job done. I'm excited to play around with it with other products.

About reviewer (363 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

This product just doesnt work for my hair. I wind up with dull, dry, frizzy looking hair. I've tried it every way...wet hair, dry hair, twists, wng. I also prefer soft holds and I didnt care for the smell. Most people I know swear by Eco Styler, the rating is based on MY experience with it. I wish I could love it, but my hair simply does not like it. I am thinking it may be the wheat protein...not sure. If I were rating it for my sister in law--I'd give it all 5s. I have dense coily/curly hair, but without product, the more "cottony" side of 4a/4b. With this, my hair looks like 17p hair...that's right, unidentifable! A frizzy, frightful mess...LOL That said, I know that oils don't do much for my hair (just soaks it right up). A better alternative for drier hair types is Long Aid Curl Activator Gel w/ Aloe.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

This gel is the business! I used it for a couple of months & switched to Ic fantasia gel & my wash and gos that lasted all week barely lasted 2 days!! Listen, use a little bit at a time to start a little goes a long long way with this gel. For my wash and go i do my leave in underneath, apply this gel in sections cos i have a lot of hair, smooth it through with my fingers then leave it to airdry. I don't put in any oil or anything. When it airdries it leaves a crunchy feel I usually leave it that way the first day or scrunch the crunch out, then run a little oil all over my hair. You have easily a full week with a fab wash & go. works a treat for the edges too! Love this!

About reviewer (118 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Dark, Warm

HairBlack, Kinky, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I think some of the other reviewers are using this product incorrectly, as there is a learning curve. This review is for Eco Styler Olive Oil. I've used the other gels from this line, and they are all pretty much the same, but this one is the most moisturizing for my hair. I think the Argan Oil and Krystal are maximum/level 10 hold, as is this product. I love this product! I wash or co-wash my hair, and then divide it in sections and apply this ONLY -- no leave in. Then, I let my hair air dry and I end up with frizz-free, bouncy, soft curls. I have type 4a/3c hair that is past my shoulder length when it's pulled. This gel is heavy, so it does minimize some shrinkage, but not much. However, I *love* my hair and it's shrinkage! The defined, curly look is what I'm after. If I wanted looser curls, I'd use relaxer, and I leave my hair in its natural state. I used to use Kinky Curly Curling Custard, but I cannot go back to paying $30 for a product when I can get better results using something that costs $4. There is no slip to this, and the hair can dry a little hard. If your hair is crunchy after it dries, just scrunch out the crunch! I have no flakes from this, and my hair is in a happy, healthy, natural state.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I learned about this gel from Mohagany Curls youtube channel. I bought the huge jar of it at Sally's beauty supply for about $5, which is a steal considering the jar is so very big and a little goes a long way. There is a learning curve to this gel. When I first tried it, I hated it, but then I decided to give it another change. I wear this gel with Aussie Moist conditioner under it (the bomb conditioner to take and define my curls. I leave a hefty amount in my hair). After getting out of the shower, I gently shake my hair so that the clumped curls can loosen, and then i section my hair off. I the sections out so that the curls can define and clump, and then I put on about a nickel to quarter size of gel on each section depending on how thick the section is. I rake the gel through and shake the clumps of strands (Oiudad style), then I move on to the next section. This gel does not have slip. When applied there is this coated sensation to the hair, but it doesn't dry that way. The gel cuts down on the drying time of my thick and plentiful hair, and then the curls do not frizz at all. I tell you, I get 7-day hair. 7-day hair! I used to be lucky to get second-day hair! Sometimes, this gel in combination with the Aussie conditioner can leave some white specks, but I just smooth/pinch them out, and I am good to go. Once I am done with this tub, I might try the argon oil one just out of curiosity, but I am very happy with the olive oil version. It worth giving a second change and working with it. Oh, and if my ends do frizz throughout the week, i just put a little of this gel on my ends (dry hair) and it seals the ends no problem! (I gave it a four because there is a little bit of an adjustment period, and the occassional white speck left behind.)

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown