3.9

Created with Sketch.
45 reviews
67%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

feels sticky still after cleansing and then skin feels tight after drying. Would not purchase again. Will use this up as a first cleanse and then finish with the most comfortable of all my cleansers so far which is Dr Hauschka cleansing milk

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair

HairGrey

EyesViolet



3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

Ok, I will start out by saying I have some issues with Paula. Years ago, when she first broke onto the scene with her books, I loved her. Finally, someone exposing the truth about the beauty industry and all it’s bogus claims, meant to do nothing but separate gullible women from their cash. She preached that we didn’t need to spend a lot on skin care. That eye creams and toners were marketing gimmicks. That ONLY people with dry skin needed to moisturize, and that using moisturizer when you didn’t need it was problematic...but look at her website. A dizzying, overwhelming array of eye creams, toners, and moisturizers for every skin type. And then some. It is absolutely ridiculous. And I HAVE tried a lot of the products. They are ok, nothing to get all excited about. For a year I used her super strength retinol stuff, and a few of the boosters, and saw no marked improvement in my skin - so even HER claims are BS. Not saying some of the products aren’t good, but I certainly wouldn’t call them affordable for everyone, and you can find similar, if not better, skin care products for less. That all being said, I do like this cleanser. It’s creamy but almost gel-like, and I like to use it in the morning, or at night as the second step after oil cleansing. My skin never feels tight or stripped, but it does the job of removing the oil and whatever makeup is left on my skin. Yes, it has cucumber and aloe, but I don’t see where they justify the $23 price tag for a small bottle. La Roche Posey Toleriane Hydrating Cleanser has an almost identical lotion-gel texture, and is double the amount for $8 less, plus, has ceramides and niacinamide and all that good stuff. So, while I do like it and enjoy using it, i think this PC Cleanser is way overpriced. I won’t be repurchasing.

About reviewer (391 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal

HairBlond

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

About to purchase my fourth bottle. I use this after I've removed my eye makeup. It is not drying, good value for money. When the pump "informs me" it's empty, I cut open the hard plastic about a 1,5 inches from the bottom. The plastic is robust - use a stanley knife and no brainer: be careful. I can get many more cleanses done with the remains on the bottle. I put a lid from an empty glass bottle on top to stop air getting in. Agree with the reviewer apply this on dry and just wet your fingers after the product is on. I give my face a good 10 - 20 seconds massage = adding wettened fingers for more 'slide effect'. I use a warm wet face washer to remove excess (and exfolliates at the same). And sometimes not and I just rinse with water. Recommended.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a solid cleanser. It does a pretty good job removing makeup. It doesn’t strip the skin. It has a creamy texture that I enjoy. I like having this one in more as a morning cleanser as I don’t need a heady duty cleanser then. I use the balancing foaming one at night. I will repurchase.

About reviewer (541 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

UPDATE: had to lower this rating. I developed severe hives around my eyes and mouth area. Never happened with any PC product and I wouldn't say I have sensitive skin. Back to old reliable CeraVe. I am a devoted PC user but passed on the cleanser since I felt CeraVe did a good job and I could pick it up at the drugstore.. I got a sample of this and I was wowed. It has a creamer texture than CeraVe which makes it a better match when I use my Clarisonic at night since it doesn't slosh all around. It is very thick and luxurious and cleans better than CeraVe but certainly doesn't strip away moisture. I always felt that CeraVe was leaving something behind after cleansing and I don't use (or believe in) toner. I clean my makeup/skincare off (I don't use foundation, just concealer and blush - honestly after using PC products I DON'T NEED It ANYMORE) first with a Neutrogena wipe and use eye make up remover so I didn't intend it to remove makeup - that's too much to ask of any cleanser. It is however twice the price of CeraVe per ounce so I will continue using CeraVe for mornings and save the Optimal Results for night.

About reviewer (478 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I received this as a sample size with one of my orders. I have combination skin that leans oily. I tend to use cleansers for normal skin as I don't like how stripping cleansers for oily skin can be. However, this cleanser felt very cleansing, boarder-line stripping. My skin felt a little tight after using but the tone looked very even. I think this would be a good cleanser for days you went to the gym or had a lot of grim/dirt build up. However, on a day-to-day basis, this cleanser would be too harsh for me.

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Over the past year and a half, I switched to using physical sunscreen because chemical ones were irritating my skin. Unfortunately, physical sunscreens tend to dry my skin, so I've had to switch to more emollient cleansers, which I tend to use at night. I tried a full bottle of Paula's Choice Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser in the hopes it would be a good solution for me. I found the texture to be amazing--creamy and elegant, but not too lotion-like. Upon adding some water, the cleanser becomes fabulously cushiony and slippery, which is ideal for not pulling and dragging on skin. It is fragrance free, with many skin-beneficial ingredients. The product is not drying, but also doesn't make me extra oily, which is a nice balance. On the surface, there is nothing to dislike about this cleanser. On the less positive side, I found the cleanser to sometimes be irritating, probably due to an ingredient sensitivity. I also needed quite a bit to cover both face and neck. Given the hefty price, I find this is a poor value for money. The biggest negative for me is that I did not see much difference between this cleanser and less expensive ones that don't have "anti-aging" properties. In fact, I find Paula's Choice own Skin Recovery cleanser to be much better because it is more soothing and a tiny bit goes much further. One final nit--although the packaging feels heavy and luxurious, it is kind of a pain to handle. I know that people were begging for pump dispensers, but I find that the product thickness means having to put a lot of pressure on the pump, and the tall, narrow bottle can easily slip. As an alternative, holding the bottle to pump doesn't work well with damp hands. I definitely prefer PC's shampoo-bottle style for facial cleansers. I probably will not repurchase, but do think this product is worth trying.

About reviewer (155 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have dry, rosacean, acne-prone, sensitive, aging skin. Because of my dry skin, I only use creamy cleaners. (I have tried several oil cleansers and have never found one that works with my skin.) I wear foundation and sunscreen so I need a cleanser that cuts through them, without the need for double cleansing which irritates my skin. My favorite cleanser ever (REN Ultra Moisture Cleansing Milk) has been discontinued so I am trying out a few. This is a lovely cleanser. My favorite way to use it is to apply it to my face dry (don't wet face first), then remove with a damp muslin washcloth, then splash to rinse. This cleanser rinses very clean - no greasy residue left. It removes makeup and sunscreen beautifully, without the need for a second cleanse. (Note that I use a separate eye makeup remover, Sens'Eyes by MakeUp ForEver, which works great.) This is a much more substantial cleanser than something like Cetaphil or Avene Extremely Gentle Cleanser - those do nothing to remove sunscreen or makeup. This product does, but also doesn't overstrip my skin or cause any irritation, rosacea flushing or breakouts. I appreciate the fact that it's fragrance-free. The price feels a bit steep ($30 USD incl tax), especially in light of Paula's schtick about the cosmetics/skincare industry overpricing their products. Overall, I really like this cleanser and do plan to keep using it for now. Once we're in the heart of winter, I will need a cleanser that adds moisture back, which this one doesn't do. For that, I will keep searching.....

About reviewer (504 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I agree with the reviewer below who compared this to Cetaphil. To me, it feels like a higher end version of Cetaphil. This feels more luxurious to use, the bottle is much nicer, and this does leave me feeling a little cleaner - but they seem very similar. On days that I wear makeup, I feel like I need a good oil cleanser to get everything off. Otherwise, this is pretty decent.

About reviewer (307 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This cleanser didn't do much for my skin. I always use the EL Double Wear foundation and even after washing my face with this cleanser twice, it still left so much make up! Before, I used the Skin Recovery cleanser which removed my make up way better. So, going back to that one. Love the packaging tho!

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Olive

HairBrown

EyesGreen