4.2

Created with Sketch.
100 reviews
75%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

The best foundation! A fantastic product that took me nine years to try since I first heard Wayne Goss raved about it on YouTube. Each time he does a 'best foundations' video, he always mentions this one as his favorite. I haven't tried it earlier because I hate full coverage foundations, Estee Lauder Double Wear is a nightmare for me. This one is another story. I apply it directly from the pot with my fingers, and it becomes one with my skin. Completely undetectable. I can put a thin layer or build it up. I don't have to put it all over the face, only on areas where I want some coverage - it completely blends with my skin. It also works fantastic as a concealer. I have normal dehydrated skin, I put a moisturizing sunscreen under and a tiny bit of RCMA no-color powder to set it for the longevity. When I remove my foundation, my skin looks better than in the morning. I don't need to blot or touch up during the day; it's fantastic! Shade wise I'm a bit darker than Nars Santa Fe (my best match from the brand), and KO-3 matches my skin perfectly. I will never buy anything else.

About reviewer (667 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel



3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This was a flop for me. I am generally the second or third lightest shade in most foundations (I am a 15 or 20 in MAC) and decided to go with the KA palette after a bit of deliberating between that and the KO palette. Luckily, the shades were dead on for me. They are true neutrals. For the color selection, RCMA gets five stars. It took me a few tries to figure out how to work with the formula. I have dry skin and this foundation is prone to settling in my fine lines and grabbing on to flakey patches, so when I apply it I mix it with a bit of moisturizer/oil. This makes it easier to spread but sacrifices coverage. I would say this foundation has a matte finish. I found that dabbing it into the skin with fingers produced the best finish. That said I will not repurchase this. It was way too much of a hassle to apply and the results don't justify the effort. DEFINITELY NOT good for dry skin either.

About reviewer (57 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I got a pretty wide variety of samples in the KO and Shinto range. Most any of them work for me when mixed with the super light ones (porcelain and ivory). So I ended up with quite a lot of this foundation to play with. The samples from Camera Ready are generous. It looks fantastic at first. Very “my skin but perfected”. (If I’ve properly moisturized that is- it will emphasize flakes if you’ve got ‘em.) I’m quite exceptionally oily but not acne prone. It does take some fussing to apply, more time and fiddling than a liquid. You’ve got to warm it up on the back if your hand, you’ve got to expend some effort getting the finish correct and sheered nicely. I absolutely have to powder it with translucent loose powder and a setting spray. Then, it looks utterly smashing. Just like you were born with naturally perfect skin! Not mask like, not cakey, just beautiful skin and it photographs that way too. But, and for me this is the huge catch- it fades off like nothing I’ve ever seen. About 5 hours and it, and any blush/contour/highlight etc., are just... gone. Where is it going? I’m not touching my face... maybe just my natural oiliness breaks it down and makes it invisible. Who knows. It certainly is a good “dinner with in-laws” or shorter special event choice, no doubt. Or for a photo shoot for sure. But not daily wear for me unfortunately. (Basically it does exactly what it is designed to do- looks fabulous on a camera for a short period of time.)

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I accidentally came across this when i was watching some other makeup channels on youtube, then starting to research about this and bought the KO palette. I am MAC NC20, MUFE HD N120 and KO1 match my skin tone the best (In fact its actually a mix between KO1 and KO2 but on its own KO1 matched better). It is very pigmented as they claimed, i scrap the tiniest amount on the back on my hand (tiny as in less than my concealer) and it will cover my whole face. If i want a little more coverage i will repeat until i get the desire outcome. What i like is that this is very very comfortable on, it does not feel like i have foundation. Yet at the time same, the coverage is like when i wear prolong wear (which is my go to foundation). I must set this foundation with powder, and it last all day. Really like it but i still love my prolong wear and mufe. Price is great and i think i will repurchase, palette is great to start for me because i didn't know how fair or dark i need (since there are no place to try this on) but honestly i don't see myself using the darker colors even for contouring (they just don't look right on me even using as contour). Overall thumbs up.

About reviewer (76 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Kinky, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This foundation clings to my dry patches and settles into fine lines. I have to add some white and green to match my skin tone on KO2 . What I find weird is that this foundation looks greasy but feels very dry.. To get full coverage you have to build it up. I agree with other reviews that the foundation fades throughout the day. UPDATE 5/2017 So..I gave this foundation another try. I first moisturized my faced - I have super dry skin- then went in with the Too Faced Hangover Primer. As that was setting I put a small amount - not even a full drop- of the Inglot Duraline on the foundation and swirled it with a buffer brush. AND OMG THIS SUCKER LOOKS AMAZING!!!! LASTED ALL DAY AND LOOKED BEAUTIFUL.!!!!! I still had to set my face lightly cuz it has a dewy borderline greasy finish. As for the color, since I have been trying a new skin care routine I don't have a lot of discoloration and redness so it matches better. Glad I kept this Foundation

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have Dry/ Sensitive skin rarely get oily. except on my nose. It cost over 100+ (SGD) for the sample size K.o Pallete. I live in Singapore and its Summer ALL year round. Hot & Humid and the occasional raining seasons. I did my research before purchasing this product. i know it's a wax based and its mostly creme based. i know u have to lightly scrape it off and warm it up on your hand before applying it. i used a beauty blender/Brush/Fingers. I am seriously done with this palette. It makes my skin extremely oily after 4hours of wear. And it comes off when i touch my face. i was a greasy hot dog by the 5th hour. and on that day it wasn't even hot. it was raining all day and i was in an aircon room most of the time. It exaggerate my pores like no other. Will not recommend this at all.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

That's it...I give up. This one's going back. Before buying this foundation, I did my research. I understand that it is a highly pigmented foundation, that it is made with carnauba wax. I understand that the application is different than other foundations. But no matter how I apply it..whether fingers, brush, sponge (wet or dry)....it looks like crap! Settles into my pores almost immediately and by mid-morning it's gone. I've watched YouTube videos and nothing works. The best thing I can say is I got the shade KO-1 and it's perfect.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This a low down review for media foundations—you are reading this if you are researching Cinema Secrets or RCMA foundations (my favorites), which are mainly used by pro MA’s for television, movie and still photography work. But they are becoming more and more popular for those of us wanting superlative natural makeup in day to day life on the streets. Both are versatile as they can function both as opaque concealer or heavy foundation, but also as a more sheer foundation, all from one product. They may turn some consumers off, as they come in very plain pancake screw top packaging—no fancy frosted glass jars, and they aren’t available at your favorite department store with gleaming counters and shimmery lights. With these foundations you often hear--over and over again--that they apply like “a second skin”. And this is TRUE--being marketed for high definition cameras sets them apart from foundations formulated and marketed toward the consumer. CS and RCMA most often look completely natural on the skin and yet they provide a flawless glowing natural looking coverage. Part of what makes these foundations so natural, so undetectable and so glowing, is not only great unique formulations, but also the fact that they come in a vast array of human skin colored tones and undertones, making it much easier to get a very close match to your skin color. In fact matching colors with CS or RCMA can be dauntingly hard as online color swatches are miserable, and since so few brick and mortar stores sell these foundations for you to try on (except in the largest cities). Camera Ready Cosmetics in Dallas has a wonderful mail-in color matching service for media foundations, and I highly recommend their website. They help over the phone with superlative service too. Plus they’ll even sell you modest samples of these foundations making an excellent color match that much easier to make, not to mention that the samples are large enough that you can try these foundations for a week or more before deciding. These foundations (particularly RCMA) have a learning curve, and they will take more time to apply in the morning than say slapping on Double Wear or Colorstay or Armani Silk. Media foundations meld into the skin wonderfully, disappearing as they cover redness and imperfections. With a good color match you cannot blend these foundations by spreading the color around on your face (as most of us do with traditional consumer foundations), because you won’t be able to SEE any color as it just melds and disappears into your skin. Instead you have to learn to blend and cover by how much more perfect your skin looks, and how well the redness or scaring or other imperfection, have vanished. While these foundations are heavily pigmented, they do not cover opaquely quickly in one pass—not like more “grease-paint” full coverage foundations such as MAC Full Coverage or Lauder's Double Wear Camouflage. For the few that need complete full coverage foundation you need to go back over and layer with a decent amount of product where needed (though you can just spackle it on for smaller concealer purposes). On the plus side, they also don’t look nearly as cakey with this much coverage like the more traditional and greasy textured full coverage foundations or concealers can quickly look. These foundations absolutely have to be set with a powder, preferably a loose setting powder. So powder selection becomes more important. Many rave over RCMA’s low cost No-Color powder, I prefer MUFE HD powder, while others adore Laura Mercier. Just be aware that powder will be needed, but when a high quality powder is well applied, no-color or translucent powders only enhance the glowing finish of CS and RCMA foundations, and make them crease proof and all day lasting. Cinema Secrets is my favorite with its silicone base. Their color selections are marvelous and broad, and the formulation is more creamy and easier to work with than RCMA. Cinema Secrets vanishes into the skin with lightening speed. It’s also a little easier and quicker to build up to full opaque coverage if that’s what you’re looking for, or if using as a concealer. Cinema Secrets is very long lasting (particularly over a silicone primer), as in often lasting for 12+ hours. Damp BeautyBlender or Sigma F80 work wonderfully with these foundations for me, though the damp Blender can soak up a fair amount of the creamier CS. I also strongly feel that the Cinema Secrets is much more hydrating and comfortable for drier skin types (though if you do set with the right amount of powder, it can start to feel dryer toward the end of the day). RCMA is a tad more natural looking—truly a second skin. However the wax formulation has one of the most unique textures in the cosmetic world—it’s hard like butter from the fridge and can sometimes be downright chunky or cloddy. For more sheer coverage applications a damp sponge or brush pounced into the pot might work in a warm bathroom, but for most applications RCMA needs to be dug/scraped out of its pot and then warmed slightly and coaxed with warmth into a more creamy (and flat) texture; on the back of your hand or on a palette with your finger work best. More work than CS, but the finish is truly gorgeous, glowing and approaches truly invisible more than any other medium-full foundation I have experienced. HOWEVER, in my experience (with dry skin no less!) RCMA does not last well—it starts to fade after 3-4 hours (taking blush and contour and highlighter with it); only about 50-60% coverage remains after 6-8 hours, and mere wispy fragments are left at the 12 hour mark. For this reason alone, I pass on RCMA (and I have experimented with various primers). It’s very slight advantage in glowing invisible appearance is completely negated for me by its poor lasting power, and the extra coaxing it takes to get it to the right consistency in the morning. BUT, others claim long

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

First I should say these are not as cheap as Ben Nye or Mehron and the colors come off a little unnatural looking but don't snub them, they are super pigmented and so creamy and lovely and the coverage is amazing you can wear as thin ( with some RCMA thinner) or heavy as you like in broad day light it looks undetectable. I use shinto 2 and 3. they both need to be colored corrected I mix green and yellow into shinto 3 and just yellow into shinto 2. Its really a great investment you just need to learn how to use it and adjust them to your liking. this is truly a artist brand. I also have the RCMA color foundation adjustor platelet, but LA girl green and yellow correctors work just as well.

About reviewer (223 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I use this palette for concealer in shades SH-1 and SH-2. I set with a sheer finishing powder and it lasts me all day, even with oily skin. This has medium to high coverage and is on the drier end of cream foundations/concealers when compared to the Bobbi Brown foundation sticks, which is good because it has a better staying power. I think this product is best for spot concealing because of its consistency and would not use it as a foundation even on my oily skin.

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us