3.9

Created with Sketch.
92 reviews
65%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

Beautiful product. Great ingredients.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I didn't find myself caring all that much for this product, even though some people seem to rave about it CONS - Expensive. (the pencil version, which I liked better, and performed better when using in the inner corners of my eyes and even under brow, is cheaper than this one version.... although that version isn't HG/perfect/amazing either) - Although this is a highlighter, it doesn't live up to that flashy highlighter look that many seem to expect and want from highlighters now. It is VERY SUBTLE. Sometimes too subtle to even make a difference or be noticeable. So what's even the point of using it then? It is a nice glow from within but -again- hardly noticeable. - I don't think this shows up. You'd get the same effect honestly just dabbing sheer lip balm on your cheeks to get some glow - Doesn't last long - I was mainly looking for a highlighter to use under my brows and inner corner of eyes. This hardly showed up when placed in those areas. Performed poorly there. Performed better on cheeks. - Not very hygienic: you have to dip your fingers in each time.... which brings me to my next point: - Because this hardly shows up, I find myself having to really dig in and re-apply. This means dipping in my fingers multiple times. But when I place it on my skin, on top of foundation, some of the foundation inevitably gets on my fingers. So if I go to dip in those same fingers in the pot, the foundation color gets mixed in with the luminizer. Options: use other fingers or wash your hands. Solution seems simple but for some reason that really aggravated me....probably because of how faint it is on your skin no matter how much of the product I try to get on my fingers the first time and then going over it on top and being stifled - I never feel, no matter how hard I "dig in" to the pot, that I have enough/lots of product on my fingers. If I dug that much into any other product (cream blush, cream concealer, etc), I'd have wayyy too much product and I wouldn't have to go back in for more - Be careful if your skin doesn't agree with coconut oil because that's the main ingredient ....in all/most RMS products actually PROS - Natural/green ingredients - This will last me a long time.....expiry date is 12 months though OVERALL - I won't be repurchasing this - I don't reach for this product very much at all (for all the reasons listed in the cons) - If you're looking for a highlighter that performs well under eyebrows and inner corner of eye, this IS NOT A GOOD PRODUCT - If you're looking for a highlighter that gives very natural *glowing*, barely there natural look on CHEEKS, you might want to consider this DUPE - Just use sheer/no color lip balm or vaseline or a drop of face oil and apply strategically to desired areas to get that glow-from- within/wet look. I honestly don't see the difference between doing that and using this product. It's cheaper, lasts just as long, and is less aggravating to apply

About reviewer (154 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a natural, glossy highlighter that will make the area you apply it look wet. It is thin and glides over the face; it is not like Vaseline at all. It has absolutely no glitter or sparkle; it really is a sheen. It is buildable, but I wouldn’t apply too many layers or it will get oily. I compared this to the champagne rose luminizer and have to say that while both swatch a little differently and look different in the tub, they honestly look identical on the face and I asked several people if they could spot a difference and they couldn’t. The price is a bit outrageous; the glossier halo scope in moonstone and quartz are near dupes. Moonstone might appear blue on some people, so quartz might be better; the haloscopes have that same dewy and sheer look but the pigment and sparkle is slightly more obvious in the halo scope, but that’s only if I nitpick. If you put both on either cheek and go out, no one will see the difference and after a few hours, neither will you. The haloscope does last longer; I find that rms does fade after a few hours. Update: one issue I have been having with rms highlighters is the formula; after a few weeks of use and disuse, I find that the product starts separating on top and an oily layer starts to appear. It also looks rancid and this stuff is too expensive to throw out. Glossier is much less oily, but does have a similar problem; it starts to smell if you use it and then don’t use it for several weeks. I wash my hands and store my makeup in a cool place, so i think it’s the formula reacting to the natural oils in my fingers and skin

About reviewer (168 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am making the transition away from any make up or skincare with silicone - which is not easy at all, but I highly recommend it, so I needed to find a new highlighter - I love that this does not have any sparkle in it and it melts into your skin. I can wear it to work - it's an everyday accent on the tops of my cheekbones around to my browbone, Here is the very best thing about this product, though - I can use it in the inner corner of my eye near the tear duct - it's a Kevyn Aucoin trick - and it blends right in - so many highlighters go crepey there when you are a Woman of a Certain Age I am really not crazy about the fact this is in a pot, but I can live with it.

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is perfect for people who want a very NATURAL(ish) "GLOW FROM WITHIN" sheen to their skin. This is not instagram bling-y type of highlighter, so when used with the right expectation of this product, one will see why this is item is such a cult favorite. I don't mind that the product doesn't have a mirror (I have other face products with mirrors-- I don't need a mirror on ALL my cosmetic items that unnecessarily makes the products bulky and subsequently weighs down my makeup bag) and am digging the simple packaging which is 100% recyclable. This product, while "natural" is not perfect and can cause issues for people with sensitivity to coconut oils and other natural oils used in this product-- if living in the states, I suggest getting a sample at Sephora and trying out for a few days prior to purchasing the item. I use this strategically and sparingly on top of my ELDW foundation for a bit of vitality for my dull and dehydrated skin and it does a wonderful job at creating the natural "healthy glow/dewy skin" without being shiny everywhere. The Living Luminizer does not seem to melt my base (sunscreen/lotion/foundation/bb cream/concealer) and wear well through the day (7+ hours without the need for reapplication). This is my HOLY GRAIL and I highly recommend this product and would purchase again when I'm out. It may seem a bit pricey, but considering I've been using this daily for the past year and didn't even use up half of it, it's more than worth the money and lasts awhile. This is a celebrity favourite for a reason.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I understand the shock one gets when finding out that this palette is small. It is smaller than a standard deck of cards. Also, another reviewer's comment about poorly glued pots is true. I had pots stick to my finger and pop out every now and then. Obviously, not a great situation. The package lacks a mirror, and that is another minus point for me. However, I can do so much with this gem! (which has a slight natural coconut scent.) The consistency is slippery but tacky enough that it easy to get just the right amount on my face. I usually start with the luminizer. I swipe my finger in the pot, then sweep the finger on the tops of my cheek bones. Really, there is not much blending necessary. I follow the bridge of my nose, cupids bow, temples, and under my brows for extra highlight. I follow up with the bronzer, applied also in sweeps with my finger. The creamy texture is so easy to work with. But, be careful not to rub too much, since you can basically smear the color away. After the bronzer, I use the cheek colors for cheeks, tempel and lips. For these shades, applying little by little with a finger dabbing is the best approach. On occasions, I also use the colors for eye shadow. You'd be surprised how well the cheek and bronzers perform on the lid. I look naturally radiant! Final tip for combination skin is to apply some loose powder on top. This will allow for the color to last. If I go without powder, the staying power is very low, and I will need to reapply by lunch time. Oh, and the small balm at the bottom of the palette is a universal product. I use it on lips and on some flaky areas of my face and hands. All in all, for a girl who loves to take little makeup on the road, a great companion! I take it in my purse with the small mirror I got with a bite beauty kit. So compact.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinDry, Fair

HairGrey

EyesViolet


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was so excited to try this when I recently saw it at Sephora. They were totally out of the sample so I just figured that it looked a lot like my Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector that I love and so I bought it. I tried it out as soon as I got home and ehhhhhh... what a disappointment. First off, hygiene-wise I didn't like having to put my finger into the product. And then I had to really push down hard to get any on my finger. I also couldn't tell when I had any on my finger it was THAT subtle. So I just kept patting it on my cheekbones and NADA. Did not show up AT ALL. Like nothing - no joke. That said, I am super fair skinned so maybe a different color would have been better but all the reviews said this works on all skin types and skin tones. Not only did it not show up but it was sticky and made some of my foundation come up. You can't really blend it either since it's not a liquid. Overall super disappointed. Going back to Becca liquid SSP.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is the best cream highlighter I have used hands down! I have the shade Living Luminzer, and I would say its frosty, def for the lightest of skin tones. This coconut oil based highlight is so easy to blend and leaves a naturally brightened and wet glowing look wherever applied, and when the sun hits it, Oh! It's so stunning! Exactly what a highlighter should do. I'm excited to try master mixer or another of RMS Beauty highlighters that are a bit deeper in tone for summer. :)) Also, despite having sensitive acne prone skin, this had never broken me out despite all the years I've been using it. I have to completely agree with a previous reviewer who said those that wear a strong highlight that may look good in their bathroom lighting, but in natural lighting, is in fact a stripe of shimmer across the cheeks. That is not a look I will ever be into. To each their own, but I prefer a natural glowy look as opposed to blinding those around me with a completely unrealistic glittery highlighter that fools no one and that's what this highlighter does. Good makeup is the kind that is hard to discern from what you look like naturally. I personally enjoy accentuating my features in subtle but effect ways. After all, more is not better in the world of makeup. ;)

About reviewer (177 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Glossy goodness in a tiny glass jar. For anyone that doesn’t want an “in your face” highlight, this is what you are looking for. It is creamy and smooth. It gives your skin a sheen that just looks healthy. It is not a typical highlight, there is no shimmer as far as I can see. If I am looking for that I simply layer a powder highlight overtop and it lasts all day/night. If you have dull or dry skin, I recommend you give this a try. Your skin will look youthful and alive, glowing with vitality. It has minimal ingredients (only 7) and it is certified organic so good for your skin. I don’t know that it’s a necessity in your stash, more of an indulgent splurge item, at least for me. I like the small simplistic jar packaging in sturdy glass and aluminum lid, fully recyclable - YAY! Since I have been using rms beauty products my skin looks better than ever. Solid brand.

About reviewer (951 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Great, natural, nourishing product! I have used this for 3+ yrs., have been through 2, needing to bu6 a 3 rd! Seems to last a good year, I use almost daily, price is fine, for quality product ..would not use any5hing else...highly recommend!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.