3.9

Created with Sketch.
50 reviews
68%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I use this almost daily to add volume and texture to my fine hair. I also use this to tame fine, fly away hairs when I have my hair up. Easy to use and you do not need a lot of product to get results. A light sprinkle into roots of hair and I have some volume. I like this as much as the Redken Powder Grip 03.

About reviewer (3077 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Straight, Fine

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love this stuff!!!! Never did I think a powder could do for my pixie cut what this does. I have thick, coarse, heavy hair and no amount of pomade or hair spray could give me the texture, lift, and hold I was seeking. I stumbled across this on Pinterest (a lady was styling her pixie into a faux hawk) and knew I had to try it. I was a little taken aback by the price point, but that quickly disappeared when I saw how little it takes to get my hair the way I want. After blow drying, I separate my hair and sprinkle a little bit in each section and on the top layers of my hair - I work it in and am able to create just about any look I want. I then set with hairspray. So bomb. I've had my first bottle since December and I am barely halfway through it - mind you, I use it every other day, so that in and of itself is telling. Ulta recently had these at half off, so I picked up another bottle. This powder is the absolute truth!

About reviewer (299 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I've been using this for six months now and I wish I had discovered it sooner. I recently re-purchased this on Ulta during Black Friday as it was 50% off. I use this after I shower, blowdry and straighten my hair to add volume to my hair. I love a volumized sleek hairstyle and that's exactly what it does for me. This is definitely a product I'd recommend to anyone looking to add volume to otherwise flat hair, but hate using sprays/liquid of any sort. Have re-purchased this and would definitely again in the future.

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Other

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Believe me when I say I have tried a lot of products for volume. I have tried high and low end products and never found anything to provide the volume I wanted. I wasn't asking for tons of volume, just enough to make my hair look halfway full. I started using this product after the Ulta Rep recommended. I went in to buy foundation and came out with this and the root pump. Little did I know that the root pump would not be needed. Talk about volume....I have it now. As much as I want and more I cannot say enough good things about this product. It feels so good on the scalp as u r shaking it on. It has a cooling effect as it hits the scalp and u just want to keep shaking more out. But, don't keep shaking more out because u don't need it. U just need a tiny amount to get the volume u want and need. But, should u find u do want more volume, just shake out a little more. It is best to apply little at a time as opposed to a lot at one time. But I tell u, I have never seen anything like it. My hair is so flat and somewhat thin and first time I used, I could not get over the amount of volume I had. I actually had to stand back from the mirror and take a second look to make sure I was seeing the same head of hair. Was that my hair that was full and beautiful at the same time...no white residue and no stickiness. Unbelievable...no way I said to myself. So I walked back up to the mirror and examined the area I had sprinkled and there was truly nothing there but a head of volumized hair. I know this is a long review, but, if u only knew how amazed and shocked and happy I was because of this little red bottle, u would understand. If u r thinking and still pondering whether to buy, please, please, please give it a try. After so many years of thin and lifeless hair, I finally found what I had been searching for and once u try it, u will be as happy as I am. It's magic in a little red bottle.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinVery Dry, Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Have used this product for over a year. Best product out there if you want lift at your roots. When I use this, I don't need any styling products--just blow my hair dry with nothing at all on it, apply a tiny sprinkling of Powder Play to my roots when my hair is dry, tousle the roots and finish with hairspray to hold. The people complaining about it making their hair sticky and clumpy and going flat after half an hour are using FAR too much product. You only need a very light sprinkling at the root, like you're putting salt on your food. The less you use, the better it works, actually. And for those complaining about the price, I've used Powder Play at least every other day for over a year and the container is still at least half full so I find it quite inexpensive, especially considering I no longer need styling gels, creams or mousses. As for the small container, I much prefer that over huge containers that are 1/10th full--takes up very little room in my cupboard. :-)

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I am not a fan of this product, while it did volumize as it claimed, it left my hair so sticky, goopy and clumped together I had to wash it immediately! I couldn't even get it up into a ponytail it was so knotted. I didn't even use the bottle, I threw it out after two uses with the same results.

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Does give your hair instant volume but no better than many dry shampoos in an aerosol can. PROS: -does give you instant volume -no discernible (and awful) scent as with many other dry shampoos CONS: -initial volume is not very long lasting (but better than not using anything) OBSERVATIONS -prefer the control of spraying a product as opposed to sprinkling in my hair (as this requires) -this product definitely does mattify your hair so if you're sprinkling into your roots and your hair is dark, it may make the hair around your roots look a bit ashy and unnatural

About reviewer (135 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

This product did ad volume but the texture of my hair was rough -lt like felt straw. I was a bit put off by the price, expensive do such a tiny container. I heard if I used dry shampoo I'd get the same effect. I tried many but I didn't get the volume that I got with Sexy Hair Powder.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I LOVE THIS STUFF! I have apparently had my hair go through a crisis where it decided to become thin in texture, although i do have a lot of it. Because of this, fresh out of the wash, it was flat and i looked weird. A friend of mine had this with her on vacation and i have never loved a product more. Although this does take some getting used to in terms of how heavy handed you need to be, this has been the most volume my hair will hold. The benefit for me is the next day my messy buns are phenomenal due to the leftover product ;) The price is a little high, and since it's so light i can't tell how much i've used in the last few months. I will update as soon as i have a better grasp of how long this really lasts!

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have thick layered hair, I bought this product to add volume to my hair between washes. It did for about 10 mins and then went flat. Waste of money.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Medium Brown

HairBrunette

EyesBrown