3.4

Created with Sketch.
614 reviews
53%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I've had this for 2-3 years and I've only just opened it recently because I keep buying mascaras that don't get used straight away. I was shocked to see how perfect the formula still was, I was expecting it to dry out and get clumpy but I was pleasantly surprised. It perfectly separated my lashes and "doubled" their length hence the name. It doesn't thicken the lashes, they just look naturally long. If you're looking for thicker lashes, this isn't for you. However during the day, It transfers a little bit on my under eye giving me a slight panda look so I need to keep checking througout the day to wipe it off.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Tan, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have extremely long, thin, light colored lashes. 99% of mascaras clump up my lashes and weigh them down. I am deathly afraid of eyelash curlers. I also have a sightly hooded eye that gets more hooded as I age. I also have sensitive EVERYTHING. My eyes water a lot. This usually presents a problem for me when it comes to mascara. I received a sample of this in an order I purchased online from Clinique. I was skeptical of it, because almost all mascaras let me down in one way or another, because I am demanding. I used it once and had not a single complaint, except, it takes awhile to dry. The applicator brush wasn't some scary contraption and coated my lashes great. No clumps, no reaction, didn't weigh down my lashes no smudging or flaking, despite it not being waterproof, which I love. Waterproof is usually too difficult to remove and the pulling and tugging isn't worth it. I'll be switching from the NYX one I currently use. ***UPDATE**** for the last month, I have noticed an annoyance with this product. All of us ladies and gentlemen who wear eye makeup are familiar with the black, stringy weirdness that happens in our eyelids. I actually didn't have this problem with my last mascara, and it scared the crap out of my husband when he saw a black stringy thing in my eye. He had never known of this, because I didn't have them before and he doesn't wear makeup. In the past, I used a mascara that did this, and switched. No irritation or inflammation that I have noticed over the month, but these black strings in my eyes are embarrassing and annoying.

About reviewer (237 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Easily my favourite mascara of all time, though to be fair, I'm a fan of all Clinique mascaras. To break it down, this is a scent free, clump free, fairly long lasting lengthening mascara. I've had this for over two years now and I don't believe the formulation has changed for the worse overtime whatsoever. Impressive right? The best thing about this mascara is that is goes on oh so clean - no clumping and perfect seperation! This is the first mascara I've ever owned and trust me, I've tried my fair share of drugstore high end mascaras in the past but this one definitely takes the cake.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I received a demo size of this in a GWP set. I love the shape and texture of the brush, which makes application really easy. I can easily reach the base of my lashes and the color spreads easily and evenly. I do find this a little bit wet, so my with my long lashes, I have to be really careful to not blink before it dries, or I have transfer onto my upper eyelid. The thing I can't get over is the smell. This product has a very strong odor, and it lasts for about an hour. I'm sure some people don't mind, but I'm sensitive to it and I'm not a fan of smelling my mascara all morning. It performs well, but I won't purchase the full-sized product.

About reviewer (132 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

For a supposedly high end mascara, this was so much worse than most drugstore mascaras I had. The only good thing about it is the brush, I love the long cone shape, it grabs lashes really well, even the tiniest one. But the formula is really really wet, it takes forever to dry on my lashes, the tube doesn't get dryer and more crisp with time either, it's always always so wet. It's not that black, it doesn't give a lot of volume, length is kinda "eh". It doesn't flake much but smudges instantly on me (I have oily lids, it's expected, but from a high end mascara? What's the point of that price tag then?). It also doesn't hold a curl, like at all, my lashes just fall down and they close off my eyes even more. I should have known better though, I bought this because Kathleen Lights raved about it, but she has dry skin and lots of lashes already, a world different from my fine, sparse ones. I'll wash and keep the brush to brush out my lashes/eyebrow but other than that this was a waste of time and money.

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive, Cool

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This was my first ever high-end mascara, purchased after finishing up all of my samples of the product. This mascara is great because the tip of the wand is pointed, allowing you to really coat all of your lashes with ease without stabbing yourself in the eye trying to get at those inner corners. It's also a very pigmented and non-clumping formula. The only negative thing I have to say about this mascara is that it really lacks on the volume. It's nice for just a light eye look, but not if you're someone going for big, thick lashes, like myself. $16 is a little much next to comparable drugstore mascaras, which I tend to reach for more often than this, but still not as steep as some of the other high-end mascaras out there.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I've only received this in samples and have never been a fan. I find that too much mascara gets caught on the very tip of it. The wand doesn't distribute product evenly. The formula is way too wet. Whenever I use it, my lashes clump together (in a really slick looking way, not a spidery way) and it straightens my lashes out. I don't think I've ever used up one of the samples. Huge pass for me.

About reviewer (66 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Lash doubling? More like mess doubling. This is one of the wettest mascaras I have ever used. In fact it would probably take the cake for the wettest. It takes a ridiculous amount of time to dry so you can forget doing one eye and then doing the other without getting this all over your face. The wand shape is cone and is terrible, it does nothing for my lashes except make them clumpy. Clumpy. Wet. Messy. Two thumbs down!

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I would say that this product is a little pricy for the things it can do. Also I did notice a little change that my eyelashes stop falling out, this mascara does tend to itch but it does not leave any marks which is good. I like how it fans out my eyelashes.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This mascara is very thin and dry, and does not double my lashes. It doesn't do much more than an average mascara. Also, it STINGS the eyes!!! I had a little drop of water land in my eye on my way to work, a little got in my eye and holy cow it burned so bad! My eye watered SO much and by the time i got to work both eyes were a raccoon mess! I didn't expect it to be waterproof, but i also dont expect a product that goes on directly adjacent to the eye to be so painful to the eye. Don't buy this.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us