3.6

Created with Sketch.
82 reviews
67%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I've had my Tria for about two years. It works. But a regular commitment of time and tolerance of some pain is required to make it work. I learned after a few false starts that I had to follow the treatment directions to the letter to see results. But that's no different than making a bunch of appointments with the dermatologist, and it's cheaper and more convenient. The only gripe I have is that two small cracks developed in the housing near the top of the device. Very strange, as I always keep it in its box when not in use, and I've never dropped it. The cracks don't affect operation, but it's disappointing to see in such an expensive device. So minus one lippie for that.

About reviewer (393 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Okay, so: I said, in my review of Summer's Eve feminine wash a number of years ago, that it would probably be the most embarrassing review I'd ever post on MUA. I was wrong. THIS review here, right before your very eyes, is about to be - far and away - the most embarrassing review I've ever posted on MUA and perhaps the single most embarrassing thing I've ever posted online. But if I can help just ONE other person who's going through something similar, it's worth it. *** tl;dr - This is an amazing and effective product. It is 100% worth every penny of the (admittedly-high) price tag. *** The longer version of my review: I have PCOS (Poly-Cystic Ovary Syndrome). One of the many irritating symptoms of this condition is an abnormal growth of hair. I have very fair skin and very dark hair, so I always had a tiny bit of a mustache that was visible up close. My hair has always been a bit more noticeable throughout my life. But once I hit about 19, it was like every single one of my follicles exploded. Thick, dark hair began to grow throughout not only my upper lip, but my cheeks and neck as well. I was horrified. And as anyone who's ever had this problem (or a similarly noticeable condition) knows, some people just aren't nice about it. They don't understand. They'll make comments behind your back. I remember how painful and embarrassing it was when one of my co-workers took me aside to tell me that someone else had been talking about me. I remember bursting into tears in the car one day because I was so upset. Shaving was out of the question. Nair burned. Waxing was sticky and messy. I began going for professional laser hair removal treatments, but they were so expensive. Enter the Tria. Yes, $449 is a steep price. This isn't a casual purchase by any means. But if you're already seeing a dermatologist or laser specialist, getting a Tria is SO much more cost-effective for hair removal. And instead of having to worry about booking an appointment (or any added embarrassment that comes along with going in for a treatment), you can treat your the hair yourself in the privacy of your own home. Now, one really important thing you need to know: The Tria isn't going to work for everyone. In order for the Tria to be effective for you, there needs to be enough of a contrast between the pigment of your skin and the pigment of your hair so that the laser can "see" the follicles. (It's the only circumstance where having such a dark mustache was a good thing for me...) Another very important thing: This WILL hurt. The degree to which it hurts will depend on your pain tolerance and on your choice of treatment setting (there are a few to choose from, with "1" being the gentlest and "5" being the most painful but also the most effective). It's recommended that you use the highest setting you can tolerate. (For me, that's sometimes only the second setting, and I've still seen results.) The third thing you must consider is that this is a process. It takes time. It takes time to do an individual treatment and also to see results in general. Yes, you must completely shave each area you're about to treat (that way, the laser will zap the follicle instead of the hair itself). Yes, it will take months to see results. But if you're having a similar problem with dark hair, your patience and effort will be SO worth it in the end. The Tria truly changed my life. I can now go out in public knowing that people are looking at me and not the unsightly dark hair on my face. I feel so much more confident about my appearance. I feel beautiful. This is a pretty lengthy review and, like I said, it's embarrassing. But I really do hope it will be helpful to someone.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairBrunette, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I am at the beginning of my 6th week using this product. I have found it tedious so far with no results. I am writing a Review about my Progress and intend to Keep going for the next 6 weeks. Please check it out here: https://triareview.wordpress.com/ and send me your thoughts and comments! Thanks :)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

The Tria really does work. I had a few areas that had constant ingrowns for over 20 years. Looked like acne and it was a constant. Two dermatologists told me that I should just cut the hairs with scissors. That was not an option so I kept plucking. I saw a commercial about professional laser treatments and a lady show a picture of her neck before treatment that resembled my problem, and it disappearing after a few laser appointments. I bought the Tria and it took about 5 treatments to fix the problem. I no longer have ingrowns. For the first time in 20 years I have no bumps and redness under my jawline. I highly recommend it. Thicker hairs are easier to kill. Finer hairs take a few more rounds.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

To everyone complaining it hurts, what did you expect? If you want hair reduction/removal, news flash: there will be a little pain. But ITS SO WORTH the 3 second zap. I've used the Tria 4x on my chin for two weeks so far, and seeing marvelous results. I have a hormonal imbalance that causes me to grow a lot of facial hair. Yuck. For years i have suffered through it... Shaving, plucking, even pro laser at one point. Nothing comes close to the freedom I'm already feeling thanks to my Tria. Worth the zap, worth the money.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Tria lazer hair removal system is terrible. Don't waste your money. For what it costs you could go to a spa and get professional lazer hair removal treatments that would actually be successful. I ordered mine 5years ago. The lazer window is no bigger round than my pinky. So it doesnt cover a very big area at a time. In fact can you imagine how long in takes just to.do one straight line up my leg from my ankle to my hip? We are talking at least an hour. I line on one leg. Now I have skinny legs but it still takes about two days or more just to do my legs. With very little noticeable results, if any. Its painful, which I wouldn't mind if it worked. I used this thing faithfully for a yr. No results. Seriously, going to a professional is about the same amount with much better results.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

It really hurts! But it worth it! Just follow instructions and be sure that it compatibles with your skin type. Read review to learn about it more http://laser-hair-removal-systems.bestadvisor.com/

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have bought the new model of Tria Hair Removal Laser 4X for 360 USD in Japan. Following the recommendations, I am using it every two weeks and had 4 sessions so far. I have light color skin and very dark thick body hair. I have bought Tria without any expectations to completely and/or permanently get rid of the hair, but rather to reduce the amount and maybe slow down the speed of growing. That would be a huge achievement for me since I have been struggling with in-grown hair on my legs and bikini zone for years... I know 4 treatments with Tria laser cannot lead to any definite conclusions yet, but there are a few things I am ready to share: - first of all, it DID reduce the amount of hair already. I think I started noticing it after the 3rd treatment. For some reason, it is being most effective on bikini zone so far and least effective on my armpits. The reduction on the bikini zone is by approximately 50% now, and maybe around 30% on my legs... I am quite impressed already. - I am very glad I did not get scared by consumer reviews saying how terribly painful the procedures are (yes, I read many reviews before purchasing). Please have in mind that pain is such a subjective topic. I am using my Tria laser on the maximum level 5 from the very first day on all areas of skin and I do not think it hurts AT ALL. Some spots are a bit more sensitive and I can definitely feel short sharp tingling sensations, but nothing long-lasting and nothing I would complain about. That is not to say I don't believe some people experience real pain during the procedures, I'm just saying definitely NOT EVERYONE. - I find Tria laser to be very convenient and easy to use for areas like bikini or armpits (I did not try it on my face), but leg treatments are quite time consuming. The battery lasts for the treatment of only one lower leg and then needs to be charged again (for approximately 3 hours) before you can continue. Have this in mind if you are super busy and do not have time nor patience. So far, I have no regrets buying my Tria Hair Removal Laser 4X, but I hope to update this review in a few months with more conclusive results. UPDATE AND FINAL REVIEW on July 15, 2016: It has been almost 8 months since I started using Tria device on my lower legs, armpits, and bikini zone. I was using it every 2 weeks (always on intensity level 5) for much longer than recommended 3 months, and I reached the maximum reduction of the hair after about 4 months. I am still using Tria on my armpits and bikini (because these areas take very little time for me to treat) once in 3-4 weeks. The best results I am seeing are on the bikini zone: about 70% of the hair are gone and not regrowing so far (not sure if the once-a-month procedures are helping to keep it this way or not). The lower legs and armpits have about 50% of the hair gone. The rest 50% are growing back at the usual speed after shaving and not any finer or lighter in color. That means I still have to shave every day :( On the other hand, because I was suffering from ingrown hair and bumps, my leg skin looks much better after reducing the amount of hair and potential marks of ingrowing hair. Even though I never expected lifetime permanent clearing of most of the body hair, I guess I wanted a slightly better result on my legs. Because of that reason I am now taking one lippie off. However, I cannot say I am regretting purchasing Tria.

About reviewer (97 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

This product just does not work. I got a refurbished one. Totally not effective. The older versions did work moderately for a temporary time, but the current model is complete junk. I am of Indian origin with super thick face hair. The Tria literally makes no difference in my hair. Notably, I have also failed at least 6 full courses of actual YAG laser treatments. DO NOT BUY!!!

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

great product

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther