Buxom Full-On Plumping Lip Polish - Sugar

Buxom Full-On Plumping Lip Polish - Sugar
Full-On Plumping Lip Polish - SugarFull-On Plumping Lip Polish - SugarBE Buxom Lips gloss in Sugar

4.6

43 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 2/20/2019 12:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had gone off lip glosses for the longest because matte lips were in and also because I didn’t enjoy the feel of gloss nor the look I would achieve with glossy lips. I realize now that I was actually applying them wrong, especially for the shape of my lips. Once I discovered focusing the applicator on the center of the lip, I was astounded by the difference it made. That being said, I had yet to find a gloss that didn’t feel gross and sticky until Buxom. I own mine in the shade, Sugar and it’s the perfect addition to a nude lip, especially during the harsher winter months. What I especially love about the buxom glosses is the tingly feeling it leaves behind; it truly feels like they just add some life back into my lips. They also smell faintly of chocolate which is awesome.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 11/24/2018 2:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel







Pros:
Feels moisturizing and light
Pretty your lips but better color with a sheen

Cons:
I don't really notice any plumping
Doesn't last long

Overall: 4.5* - pretty and flattering, but doesn't really plump


on 9/12/2018 8:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This just isn't for me. I received Sugar as part of a Sephora nude favorites package, and it is not a favorite.

First off I'm not crazy about glosses, and I really don't care for most minty or plumping gloss formulas. This is both.

Applied I really noticed a powerful tingle, and if I lick my lips I taste mint and a bit of that numbing flavor that's kind of fake mint paired with something else. I'm not sure what. It doesn't feel totally unpleasant on the lips, more minty and not really numbing, but I'd rather just apply a lip product and have it feel neutral or slightly moisturizing, not like tingly slickness. (That said, it's a lip-plumping formula, so it's not exactly a dishonest offering. Just not my taste.)

The feel, when I consider how it feels apart from the minty tingle, is nice. It's a bit slick, but not sticky and would be nice on its own. There's a bit of staying power, provided you don't sip a lot of coffee, etc. The color is kind of a metallic warm nude, which is another thing I'm not wild about. If it's a metallic red or wine color, sure, it's fine, but metallic or pearly or shimmery nudes are not a personal preference of mine. This isn't super metallic or pearly in appearance, but it's just not anything that I'd gravitate towards.

So, it's good if you like that sort of thing, but on a personal level, it's not for me.


on 4/21/2018 10:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

Pretty, sheer lipgloss with a mild tingling/burning sensation that does mildly plump my lips. Shade is neutral enough for pretty much any skintone. This is fairly sticky which helps it last longer but doesn't make it the most comfortable. A little more money than I like to spend on a lipgloss. Would probably repurchase.


on 2/1/2018 9:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

WARNING: if you live in a cool climate, this might be a bad choice, as it has a quite strong menthol feeling, so your lips might feel very uncomfortable if you add actual cold to that

I really like this (for California weather) :) I received it in a Sephora Favorites Nude Lip kit. I have tried some other lip glosses before, but I'm not really looking for much in a lip gloss - I see lip glosses as slightly sticky, usually a little less hydrating, colored lip balms. I do have some requirements though: good color, smoothing action, hydration and for it to not be too sticky. On top of that, I DO have a major requirement: my lips are quite sensitive, and many lips product have in the past given me dermatitis or eczema on my lips.

I generally don't like when lip glosses have a tingly feel (because it often reminds me of the start of a reaction to lip products), but I'm quite fine with it in here. It's feels like the tingle you get from menthol. The smell is caramel, but I don't think this gloss has much of a taste... or maybe it has, but the taste doesn't get into my mouth, because the gloss stays put really well, and is actually moisturizing. I don't usually like smells and tastes in lip gloss as it makes me more prone to lick my lips, but I think the menthol in this prevents me from doing that. Oh, and this doesn't irritate my lips at all, except: NOT GOOD TO USE IN COLD CLIMATES. There, this is either not moisturizing enough, or something else is an issue, but it doesn't work out well for me in places where it's cold

My skin is light neutral olive, about NC20 in MAC. I think this color is very pretty: a transparent caramel with microshimmer. IMO, it's not shimmery though - just gives more of a glossy look to the lips. I actually like the effect this gives: it doesn't actually plump the lips, but it fills in the cracks, so the surface is evened out. If you have flaky lips, this gloss is good at hiding that. When I run out of my sample, I'll definitely repurchase this!



on 11/9/2015 10:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

These lip glosses are horrible I bought one and when I put it on it was sheer tbh I have worn cheap lip glosses that have more color and shimmer and thickness to them I returned this and bought marvelous moxie lip gloss which is 100% better. And id like to add that most products are all hype because females see other females on youtube advertising them so like monkey see monkey do they just have to run out and buy it and pretend its the greatest product they have ever used just try these and you will see they are crappy.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

This is my second Buxom gloss and it is in the shade Sugar. I find that the Buxom glosses are rather pigmented. This is a medium to dark nude with tiny sparkles. The lip gloss has a minty scent and tingle on the lips. I HATE the taste of these glosses it doesn't taste like mint but a bitter mint. It is not pleasant. I won't repurchase because I prefer other lip glosses that are just as pigmented but taste better and are a lot cheaper.


on 8/16/2013 2:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Sugar is a universally flattering color. It's an any-season color. You can throw it over a lipstick to add dimension or wear it alone. It's expensive, but there is no other duplicate product that plump, moisturizes and wears as well as this puppy. There's shimmer, but no gloopy cheap-o glitter. HOLY GRAIL status. Note that this product does give a tingly sensation to your lips, so if that's not your thing, sorry. but i love it!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 6/24/2013 2:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

PROS:
- Inexpensive
- Nice scent
- High shine


CONS
- A little sticky

I have this lip gloss in many shades and am addicted. Embarrassed to say I am extremely fussy about lip products as I find many colors look strange on me ( I am still looking for an everyday lipstock ) - but Buxom's glosses always work for me. I will repurchase again and again.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Let's be real. Buxom lipglosses are expensive. However, they do last forever and come in such a great variety of colors. Sugar has been my absolute favorite Buxom lip gloss shade for years. I've repurchased it probably 4 or 5 times now. It is slightly tacky as some have mentioned, but I quite like that in a gloss because it lasts longer. I own several MAC glosses, in their various formulas but find I prefer Buxom because they don't seem to settle in the lines of my lips and they're typically opaque. With MAC, I have to wear a lipstick underneath or put on several coats for complete opacity. For a reference, I use this quite frequently and have to repurchase every 6 months to a year. In my mind, that makes the gloss worth the price. I love the tingling sensation and I do find my lips look slightly plumped. The gloss isn't gritty despite having shimmer/glitter in it...I've found with NARS glosses, the glitter is extremely abrasive to the lips and the SCENT! Don't even get me started. They smell like burning plastic. Even some of the Revlon lipglosses with glitter are really abrasive, in my opinion. I get compliments every time I wear this shade and I find it layers well over mauve and nude lipsticks the best.


Back to Top