October 1, 2014 | 1457 users online

Tinted Moisturizer - Mary Kay - Tinted Moisturizer with Sunscreen SPF 20



image 0

rated 3.6(75 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 7/22/2013 2:32:00 PM More reviews by andreaboo

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This stuff does NOT work for me. It didn't give me much coverage, it's very watery and the SPF 20 didn't protect my face from the sun. I got sunburnt the last 3 times I wore it out, which is crazy!

Also, this has horrible ingredients and I'm not sure why Mary Kay products still use parabens but they really aren't good for you or your skin.

For such high prices they should really upgrade their ingredients!

Fail.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/7/2013 8:17:00 PM More reviews by Etheli23

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Ugh. I've tried this product many times now, and each time it yields the same results: this stuff disappears once you put it on your face. Unless you don't blend it in well enough; if you forget to blend a spot or miss a spot you will have a orangish streak left on your face.

They must have changed the formula because I found that contrary to what the other reviewers have said this formula was very liquidy bordering on watery. And it is absolutely amazing what happens when I put it on my face: It both blends in well and flakes under my fingers at the same time. Like literally tiny flakes of color come off the second you blend or touch your face in any way.

And speaking of color, this adds nothing to my face. It doesn't cover any redness or frankly anything at all. My face looks as if I hadn't applied anything at all right after I've applied it. And if you try to layer for more coverage, your face grows more orange, has a greater chance of streaking, and gives off even bigger chunks of color.

And the tiny amount that I am forced to use so that I don't appear orange probably doesn't even give me the full SPF. Overall just bleah. If you absolutely must buy this product, be prepared to use it under foundation or concealer or something because it does absolutely nothing on its own. I tried to use this as a quick summer makeup to just apply and go, but it doesn't work at all for that purpose.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/28/2013 12:27:00 PM More reviews by DNeum

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have had this product for a while, and I do use it on and off. There was a shade that matches my skin pretty well, and I never noticed any orange tones coming out as other viewers have described. It goes on smooth and evenly, and does diffuse red spots reasonably well. However, I did notice that it looks a little dried out after only a few hours of wear or so. I would use this product only after moisturizing heavily first, and it might work better with a primer under it. I probably wouldn't buy it again, but it wasn't that bad either- I did get some compliments on my skin and it didn't really do anything "wrong" other than drying out a little. It opened me up to tinted moisturizers instead of foundation for sure, but it left me wanting to try Laura Mercier and Dior instead. I think this product is great for it's price bracket and probably will be what a lot of people are looking for- I just think I might take it up a notch and try some higher end products.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/30/2012 10:56:00 PM More reviews by jennarock11

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I wish I could love this. I wish it was my hg, but its not. It's far from it. So I have light skin. I tried the lightest shade that it comes in..talk about orange. People even commented on it. That's not cool. Plus, it does not blend at all. I don't know how someone would effectively go about putting this on, but I tried fingers, sponge, and brushes. this stuff is like a cheap self tanner, you put it on and it leaves streakes everywhere. If you have perfect skin, find your shade and i'm sure it will be just peachy. Other than that, don't buy it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/27/2012 11:47:00 AM More reviews by Lovestoriesx33

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My mom is a huge fan of Mary Kay and believes all their stuff is amazing so she talked me into getting this rather then getting one from Sonia Kash. The lady tried the colors on me and I matched perfectly to beige 1. This stuff was amazing when I first put it on then when I blended it in it made my skin have dry patches all over. So I used a moustirizer under to see if it was better but nope! So mad :/

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/24/2012 8:19:00 PM More reviews by dlessard

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have very congested, oily, acne prone skin. My skin tone is very uneven. After consulting with my esthetician And settling on a face care regimen I have been noticing improvement but the thing she strongly reccomended was that I stop using foundation and let my skin breathe as much as I can. She said at most I should just apply a tinted moisturizer. After trying a few and not liking how shiny or sparkly I would be, I tried Mary Kay TM in ivory 1 and I am pleased with the results. It is thicker then the others I've tried. I do have to blend it faster because it tends to dry fast. I also apply a pressed powder after because I like how it looks and a little bronzer for summer. I like the SPF in this. This doesn't make me orange and I only have to blot once a day. It does not cover spots but I feel it does reduce the appearance of redness.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/8/2012 8:08:00 PM More reviews by mh83

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

This TM is alot thicker then most i have used, the coverage is great however it dose'nt blend well and it seems to make my face oliy and I do not have oily skin! I love the med. coverage foundations so maybe i was expecting too much but i was not crazy about this and will not re purchase it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/30/2011 1:18:00 AM More reviews by xoxdollfacexox

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This is some strange stuff. I've never used a tinted moisturizer before, but I'm sure this isn't how it's supposed to be!


The product is thicker than it should be, and it doesn't blend well at all. It just sits on my face, leaving it oily and blotchy-looking. However, I have bought it time and time again because it is wonderful for my neck and chest! I've even used it on my arms in the summer. Somehow, it blends much better in these areas and I love the subtle color and SPF it gives. I just wish it did the same for my face...


The tube is convenient and easy to squeeze, and it's fairly large in size. It lasts awhile even though I'm using it across a larger area.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/3/2011 7:44:00 PM More reviews by coffeekajal

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This tinted moisturizer is horrible :(

CONS
Affter a few hours of wearing it, it wore of and my skin looked very oily.
It also has a shine to it...which made my skin look oily (not glowy)
And I noticed that my skin would break out with acne after wearing for a few days...
Its about 18-16$ which is very pricey when a drugstore foundation would work better!

PROS
You only need a tiny dime size amount...so it should last awhile. (I've been using it for a few months)

This was my 1st makeup...so I didn't know any better. But I think ill throw it out.



Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/13/2011 6:13:00 PM More reviews by jenniferhearts

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I wore this product instead of makeup when I was 15-19 years old. Once I switched to this from Neutrogena liquid makeup and other face-clogging makeups, my boyfriend at the time said, "Wow your face looks nice, what did you do different?" Seriously, if you don't have a lot of blemishes to cover and have nice skin, this is the perfect moisturizer to highlight your great skin. It makes you look awake, refreshed, and evens out your skintone. I loved it, but I'm afraid to buy it again because it's been so long since I've worn it that the formula may be different. I would like to buy it again someday as it worked really well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No