OPI Shimmer

5.0

17 reviews

100% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/29/2011 6:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This polish is absolutely amazing! Gorgeous silver linear holo, opaque in 3-4 coats, and as mentioned before is also sheer enough to use as topcoat and make any plain polish dazzle. I love the versatility of it. Also applies wonderfully and wears like iron (lasted a week with no chips, and NO TOPCOAT!) Maybe it just does well with my body chemistry, not sure... but in any case its awesome! The only thing I don't like, for obvious reasons, is that it is discontinued =\



on 8/5/2011 3:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Other

From the original OPI Designer Series, DS Shimmer is a very sheer silver holo. This polish is highly coveted both because it is a linear silver holo, and because it can be used as a top coat to turn any other non-holo polish into a holo or to intensify the effect of other holos. Formula is excellent, as always.

For best results when using as a top coat, it is best to use it over light colors. This is a wonderful way to get that elusive white holo, one generous coat or two thin ones will do it. For colors, it is best to start out with a shade darker/more saturated than what you want in the end, as the silver will tone it down and lighten it a bit. For medium/dark colors, anywhere outside direct sun, the silver coat will be very visible.

If you want a real silver holo, you can use another less holo polish as underwear, or you can apply three coats.

You will probably not find this polish for less than $20 online these days, but if you can get it for a decent price it is most definitely worth it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2011 2:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Can I say LOVE? I read the reviews about this and immediately hit eBay to see if I could find it since I know it has been discontinued. Much to my chagrine, it isn't even sold on eBay, and the closest thing to it was OPI's SRO (Standing Room Only) which cost a whopping $30!! Anyway, I was at a salon picking up my OPI Shatter (had my name on the waiting list for that since that's sold out everywhere) and much to my surprise and delight, I saw a bottle of OPI DS Shimmer! I nearly screamed! (Now... to get my hands on more bottles!) It is absolutely gorgeous on. I applied a thin coat over OPI's Thanks So Muchness and it looks fabulous. I can't wait to experiment and see what Shimmer will do to the rest of my collection!!


on 3/8/2011 2:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I didn't know this polish was so sought after and loved until after I purchased it. I purchased it b/c it looks so pretty in the bottle and it was on sale ($6 @ my fave dusty).


I put it over my current mani which was ChG Hyper Haute and OMG love at first swipe! When I saw it in the sun, I feel even more in love.


This polish can be worn over any color as an accent. It's a silver shimmer with rainbow holographics. One coat is all that's needed if you are using it over another polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2010 6:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I only bought this polish when MUA members told me to buy it. I am very happy with it . This polish is a scattered silver holo. The polish can be worn alone with 3-4 coats or as a top coat.
The stay power of this polish is incredible!


on 4/17/2010 4:34:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I too bought this on a whim on ebay because at the time everyone was talking about the DS. I swatched it but never saw it in the light of day, then added it to my np collection and didn't think about it again, in fact I was going to give it away. Thanks to MUA nail board (when I was planning a Nfu-Oh order) Someone compared Nfu holos to OPI DS Shimmer and I remembered I had that polish. I did a mani and saw the light, literally. It's stunning! I stand in the sun and just stare at it. Still placed the Nfu order because I can't find another bottle of the beautiful polish online anymore, but if I do you can bet I'm buying it again!


on 12/11/2009 8:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is my first holographic nail polish. I actually bought it on a whim off eBay, JUST based on the good reviews here! When I first applied it, it went on smoothly. I did only one coat because I just don't quite like the look of thick shimmer polish on my nails for some reason. So one coat gave my nails a nice silver sheen under sunlight.

That was it for that moment. I didn't see what the fuss was about. It looked like any silver shimmer polish I had owned before. It was not until at night, in indoor lighting, when I looked at my nails again. And it was THEN I got completely fascinated by the the rainbow sparkly hue of the holographic shimmer, lol. Like another reviewer had said, I can stare at my nails for hours!


on 10/31/2009 12:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I stumbled upon this color by chance. I was looking for OPI in general, but the place only had a few colors and this gorgeous gem. I already had two holo glitter polishes, but none of them had such fine holo shimmer, so of course I had to have it... As others mentioned this adds really beautiful hologram shimmer (very fine) to any polish. I've worn it over black, grey and now over a metallic nude color. Everytime it's simply WOW. Subtle, but once detected it looks fascinating. I could stare at my nails for hours lol... and now that I have to start working I can amp up every office-safe (say boring) color with a coat of this fine holo effect. This OPI polish adds a touch of individuality to your average neutral color, or gives you the extra fun to black. The only gripe: the silver color of the brush part is rubbing off. I stored my polish in the fridge over the summer to prevent it getting bad earlier. It made the packaging damp and so the silver coating rubbed off... I would have preferred the usual black or at least a solid silver colored plastic. But that shouldn't go into the rating of the polish itself, as the holo is beyond amazing.


on 10/17/2009 7:55:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is just gorgeous, and I have to thank MUA's fabulous nail board for the rec. This adds a sheer holo shimmer to any polish, and it looks great on it's own, too. The rainbow effect really shows up; I've been looking for something like this for ages. Love the wide flat brush, too, it makes application smooth and easy. Highly recommend!


on 8/4/2009 2:36:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

OPI DS Shimmer was my first Designer Series purchase. I was a big fan of Sally Hansen's Nail Prisms Diamond, so I decided to choose DS Shimmer... I like Shimmer much more than SH's Diamond! I love the color! It looks awesome on it's own and really pops when layered over black polish. I love the consistency of the polish, it goes on so smoothly with the ProWide brush (of which I am a huge fan). I love this product and I can definitely say it's my favorite holo polish!


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
130 Reviews
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
345 Reviews
Nail Polish
212 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

75 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

72 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

153 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top