OPI Windy City Pretty

4.0

24 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/8/2012 12:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Love this nail polish! It's such cool blueberry smoothie color!!! I love it one coat (light purple, little muddy as someone mentioned) but it was little uneaven, so I used another coat. With two coats the color is deeper purple, but still muddy and glossy.
I was drinking a blueberry smoothie later and noticed that this nail polish is the same color as my smoothie, really fun color.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is "nice",
It is a muddy, violet pink. In the bottle you can see some red/pink shimmer - but when on the nails the shimmer is only (barely) visible in direct bright sunlight.

2 coats provided a good coverage but 3 best for glossy finish.

I dont think I would buy this again - I probably wont need to as I may wear it from time to time but cant see me reaching for the bottle too much.


on 10/27/2010 10:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I think this color is discontinued :-(

It is a very unusual pink with a hint of mocha...I could see it not working for some skin tones but it works for me and it is my favorite pink for Fall. It was a part of OPI's Chicago Collection a few years back but it is now nowhere to be found. I find it very difficult to find a suitable Pink for Fall, the majority of Pinks that I see from both Essie and OPI are very spring and summery looking and seem way too light for this time of year so I will stick with my gothy darks (Mrs. O'Leary's barbeque & Lincoln Park) until Spring. Oh well!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2010 11:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Im fairly impartial about this colour. The only reason I still use it to be completely honest is because my husband loves it....That is the ONLY reason :-)
I dont love it, I dont hate it. It is what it is & it doesn't make my heart skip a beat like OPI 'atomic orange' or 'russian navy'.


on 4/15/2009 9:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The shimmer in the bottle is virtually invisible on the nail...guess it's just there to add depth. I am very cool toned and this color just seemed very blah to me. Nothing to write home about.


on 8/11/2008 2:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is one color I don't mind using on my toes AND hands...Its simple enough that I can wear it instead of the usual french. It is kinda blah, maybe a more wintery color than summer when you want cute bright colors on your feet!


on 4/6/2008 4:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It's a very very pretty shade of purplish pink. Complements my yellow-toned fair Asian skin. Looks really nice when I'm wearing pink or white peeptoes / sandals. Great wear on my toes (2 coats) without chipping for at least 2 weeks (with topcoat).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2008 4:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

I've medium skin tone (SE Asian, not yellow) and this color is much better than French or pale, even famous Dulce de Leche. I guess this is good for darker skin tones? Anyway, as most OPI polishes, this one lasted over a week without chips or peels when I use with OPI base and top coats in normal use (i.e. not removing staples with my finger nails). I do cook, wash , etc.. I see sparkles only in the sunlight or under the direct light. I just applied during TV commercials (while watching L&O SVU and applied each coat during commercial breaks).
Similar colors from light to dark:
Dulce de Leche
Windy City Pretty
Not So Bora-Bora-ing Pink
Pic:
0
Full Size Image


on 1/17/2008 9:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I agree with the reviewers below that this is a pretty polish that lacks a wow factor. It goes on extremely well; this is a very pigmented polish. It's been several years since I'd purchased an OPI product, and now they are ridiculously expensive around here at $8.50 a bottle, which is mainly why I don't think I'll repurchase, or at least if I do I'll order online. Anyway, in my mind this is somewhere between mauve and a muted fuschia, which tends more toward purple than your average mauve. I do see a very subtle shimmer in this, but I completely agree w other reviewers that the shimmer is much more obvious in the bottle, and that once you get it on it is definitely more of a creme; it's hard to notice the shimmer unless you're in direct sunlight or have a really bright light shining on it and then you can see a very very fine shimmer that's more or less the same color as the polish, maybe slightly warmer. It's a pretty and very wearable color, but I think I will probably experiment with trying different sheer/shimmery colors over the top to make this a little more fun.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2007 5:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is as others have said a subtle yet opaque rose colour that is classy and restrained enough for the office whilst being a step away from the french or sheer look. Good wear and a nice brush too!


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
146 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

77 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

154 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

73 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top