3.2

Created with Sketch.
192 reviews
49%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Not a fan. Puffed up my roots and made my hair hard and tangled at the root. Giving it away to my niece to try.

About reviewer (448 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Dark, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This product really works for heat protection. It also adds body, texture and hold. I'm in the process of growing my hair really long, so saving my ends from split ends is imperative. On wet hair, I apply Chi Infra Thermal Protective Treatment (it's a leave in oil that I love). I then blow dry my hair and spray the Chi iron Guard onto my ends and about half way up (never on the roots). I then pull it through my hair with my hands and allow it to dry. I then proceed with styling with my flat iron. I feel using the product on dry hair works the best. I will definitely purchase this product again. I feel it's a crucial ingredient in being successful in my quest for long hair. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating is because I find it takes just a tad too long to dry once applied to my hair. But if you're ever in a rush, I suppose you could blow dry it, and then proceed with styling with a hot tool.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

My Holy Grail of heat protectants!! I’m an AA female with semi-relaxed hair, 40+, and I credit CHI’s 44 Iron Guard heat protectant with saving my hair from disaster and encouraging growth! I use it daily before curling dry hair, plus on blowouts/flat irons. I have tried MANY other heat protectants, but this one is the only one that visibly saves my ends. I spray generously (6 - 9 pumps; I try to keep it closer to 6 on dry hair) and then allow 5 or 10 minutes for the product to dry before styling. It doesn’t weigh my hair down or add stickiness. Even my BANGS have grown!!! I can’t live without it!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrown, Relaxed, Coarse

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Having never tried CHI products and being in need of a heat protectant for flat ironing my hair, I picked up a trial size (about $5.79 at CVS). Unfortunately I didn't check here before picking it up, and was disheartened by all the negative reviews. The positive reviews gave me a little optimism that it would do the job, though, and I tested it out on my bangs. As one reviewer suggested, I sprayed it into my palm, rubbed my hands together and ran my bangs between my hands to evenly distribute while not getting the hair too saturated. I instantly got the sizzle effect, and the immediate result was sticky and stiff. I had to go over it with the iron multiple times to get rid of the stiff, sticky effect. I tried spraying it on and combing it through, and got the same effect. It felt like I might as well be using hairspray as heat protectant. Even tho it's a sample size, I'll be returning it.

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This stuff is awful. I used this to prep my hair prior to using a curling iron. The spray helped curl the hair nicely and gave it good hold. When I brushed my hair out, pieces of hair were breaking off!

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Purchased in full size. Doesn't protect from heat, feels as if you have sprayed alcohol in your hair and flat ironed it. Sticky and makes your hair feel and look like straw. Broken hair and frayed ends. Overpriced and bad. I use it as a hairspray. Will not repurchase.

About reviewer (237 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I'm so surprised this heat protector has such middling reviews. I have just about the most stubborn, frizzy, prone to dryness and damage hair on the face of the earth and this spray didn't exacerbate any of my "issues". The price isn't as cheap as Tresemme's heat guard, which is my go-to, but it's not outrageous either. I think I picked this up on clearance for $8. Is it a miracle in a bottle? No. Heat protectants generally have only two jobs- protect the hair and not leave the hair in worse condition than it found it. As far as I can tell, this passes the test. I sprayed this evenly all over my head then combed it through. The scent is not gross or persistent. It dries quickly and didn't leave my hair crunchy or dry. It seemed to just evaporate. When my hair was straightened, it did get a little wavy once I went outside, but I'm sure that's not this products fault, my hair just doesn't want to stay straight and never has. I most likely won't repurchase because I have loyalty to Tresemme's heat guard, but I will certainly finish up this product and would definitely consider rebuying this if Tresemme changes their formulation or something like that.

About reviewer (274 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I'm honestly shocked that this has so many bad reviews. This is one of the only heat protectants I like. It doesn't have an overwhelming smell. My hair doesn't feel any different with this in. I'm thinking the people who are complaining their hair got crunchy or felt some type of way maybe used too much? Anyways, I completely back what this product does. I have color treated hair that is severely damaged from that, heat styling, and major health problems and medications. I used this product in junction with other products (especially the chi thermal protection lotion) and my hair has drastically improved. This is the one change in my hair routine I have kept constant since I started it so I can tell it's these products helping me keep my hair. I would buy this over and over again. The packaging I also love. No problem at all with the spraying

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

My hair felt damaged and the texture changed after using this...the chi serum is 10X better.

About reviewer (257 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Overpriced for the amount of things this thing does. Pros: - Smells really nice. Just has a really clean scent. - The spray dispenses just the right amount of product. - Doesn't run out quickly. After many uses, I still have more than half left. Cons: - DRIES OUT HAIR. I've never had this problem with other heat protecting sprays. My ends are so dried out after styling that they are completely stiff. Which is strange because after I wash my hair, my hair goes back to life........... - If you get the product in your hands, it can get sticky and really annoying

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown