4.2

Created with Sketch.
28 reviews
71%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

This is my favorite HG hair straightener. I stayed at a hotel two years ago with a GHD hair straightener in the bathroom and I fell in love. I went home and threw out my cheaper drug store styler and ordered one online the next day. This GHD styler gives me perfect shiny salon like hair in minutes. You will never need to buy another hair straightener ever again. Bonus notes: the universal voltage makes this easy to travel with.

About reviewer (330 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I've owned several of these flat irons throughout my life and I'll never change. My hair has chnaged over the years but this flat iron has always been able to tame it and make it look gorgeous whichever way I style it. Whether I straighten my hair or curl it it never lets me down. It glides through hair fast and easily with no wasted time. You don't have to keep going over a section multiple times to get it how you want it. The newer stylers (I got a new one in 2018) have better technology that don't damage your hair and keep the heat at the optimal temperature that wont cause hair damage. The iron also heats up faster. The newer stylers also have better safety technology which turns the iron off after 5 minutes of inactive use, which is a relief since lots of people leave their irons on and forget about them. These irons last a long time as well. I once had one for over 8 years and I only had to replace mine twice because someone stole them. This is a great investment to make if you straighten your hair often and you want a quality device.

About reviewer (94 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I just received my new ghd gold 2 days ago. It is making a constant buzzing noise, not crackling noise. So it’s not to do with the power supply or anything. This is giving me a migraine ! The straightener is straightening ok though.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I love my GHD hair straightener. I have long curly hair. This is my third one which is the best one I have had. It heats up quickly and save me much time in the morning. I dont think I waste my money to get it from http://www.magicqueen.com/Product-GHD-Classic-Styler-Ceramic-Hair-Straightener-198.html.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesViolet


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I'm absolutely in love with my GHD.I will never buy another brand again. It heats up super quick, glides through the hair like silk and takes alot less time as with previous straightners i've had to go over the same strand a few times and it left my hair frizzy/flyaway and meant i had to use products to smooth it down! I dont really need to use any products except hot iron spray or cream protectant and a tiny amount of serum afterwards. The GHD also curls my hair perfectly, now that ive mastered the technique ;-) A must buy for those that use a straightener often, its definitely worth the money.

About reviewer (38 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

It straightens hair well but it died right after 2 years. I only used it once a week too. It's disappointing to pay so much for a straightener and it doesn't last after 2 years.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I worked in the hair industry for a while so I've used a lot of high end flat irons and I got to say, this one did not impress me at all. I'd never used a GHD before this btw (none of the stylists I know have one) but I ended up ordering the GHD classic styler--which btw seems to be the same as the "IV styler"--instead of the CHI Turbo due to the fact that at the time, the GHD was on sale and basically the same price yet it offered more versatility (the turbo has a velvet cover so you can't use it to curl). I could care less what my flat iron looks like but for those of you who do, this is a nice-looking flat iron, though not much different than a regular Chi in terms of looks. It IS very light-weight though. This iron claims to heat up in 15 seconds; it also claims to use some bullshit technology that allows it to "self adjust" temperature according to hair type. Well it got warm but it sure as hell didn't heat up enough to seriously straighten or curl my hair in a mere 15 seconds--in fact, I found that it didn't ever straighten my hair enough to satisfy me. It did get straight and it didn't pull or drag on my hair which was nice, but it took twice as long as it usually does (and lately i've been using a $35 flat iron I got from Amazon!) due to the fact that I had to go over and over it in increasingly smaller sections. I already use thin sections so this was just ridiculous. What annoyed me was that even after all this my hair remained poufy and never really got that shine I usually get. My hair btw, isn't even curly it's more wavy/frizzy/poufy--so I don't require tons of product or anything like that bc straightening my hair has always been an easy no-fuss affair. Usually, it takes like, one pass to get'er done. I gave it three sticks because my hair did eventually get straight and at no point did I feel like it harmed my hair, but it's not even adjustable because again, the company claims that this iron auto-adjusts according to hair "conductivity" or some bullshit like that (this is a laughable claim). It does have auto-shut off but so do a lot of irons (or at least the high end ones). Honestly, I can only conclude that this is another one of those hyped up beauty products aimed at people who think more $$$= better product and performance but a straightener is a straightener so once you get past the $100 price point it all comes down to personal preference and there's really not much more you're gonna get for your money...

About reviewer (119 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Other, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

*This review is on the 1 inch flat iron* This is an expensive straightener, but it's worth every penny! I've had mine now for over a year, and I know I'll have it for many years to come. The iron itself is black and gold. I have long, thick, straight hair, but it gets a little wavy underneath if I let it air dry. If I blow dry it, it gets a little poofy and I use this to give it a more smooth, sleek look. It takes a couple passes of going over my hair before it's completely straight, but with cheaper ones it takes longer. It doesn't take too long to do all of my hair. It heats up super fast, and if I'm in a hurry and forget to turn it off, it turns off by itself after thirty minutes. I have dropped it a few times, and it's still going strong. I recommend this for everyone.

About reviewer (192 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I own the GHD V Sapphire Styler and I am in love with it. It straightens through my medium to fine , puffy curly hair nicely reducing it to a sleek , straight and soft state. The box it comes in is really petty and you usually can purchase the iron as part of a set with another product such as a comb to styling spray, depending on where you get it from. It can be petty expensive but will last you the best part of a decade. The styler is create to curl, wave to straighten your hair and it heats up really fast and glides through your hair magically. However it makes it alittle bit trickier to curl/wave hair because it doesn't have much grip on your hair but usually the straighteners will gain alittle more grip the longer you use them (what I found with my iv styler).

About reviewer (17 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

This overpriced iron is good if you have naturally fine, soft or wavy hair. If you have coarse, thick hair it will not do the job, or it will take you several passes. This is not unique to the GHD, this applies to ALL CERAMIC straighteners. The Auto shut off and dual voltage is awesome, but it is not worth it if the iron does not provide sleek, durable straight hair. If you have kinky, unruly, poofy hair go with TItanium, hand down!!

About reviewer (106 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesHazel