4.1

Created with Sketch.
33 reviews
79%
would repurchase
3.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 months ago

i used this to roller set my 2c/3a hair. I thought it was just barely OK. Any drugstore mousse works better. This stuff is like water. Save your money. It didn't add shine or volume, nothing special.

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel



1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I tried Lottabody diluted and then undiluted. I tried it on wet hair and dry hair. I set my hair on ceramic rollers. Lottabody didn't do anything to hold the curls. It was as if I had just put water on my hair.

About reviewer (722 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairGrey, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Love. I use this lovely coconut-smelling setting lotion (LottaBody Coconut & Shea Oils Style Me Texturizing Setting Lotion - Ready to Use) straight-up to help control my out-of-control winter static, add a healthy dose of moisture, soft definition to my slight wave or if I want more definition, I'll twist my hair into a high bun, give a generous spray all over and go about my day. At the end of the day, take out the bun and have voluminous soft curls that last all night. Good stuff.

About reviewer (302 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

LOVE LOVE LOVE. I have the straightest, most difficult to style hair in the world. I have spent well over $250 trying to find a HG product that would allow my hair to hold a curl all day. This is that HG product! I put my hair in a high ponytail, and seperate my hair into 4 equal pieces. Next, I spray 4-5 sprays of lottabody on each section right before I roll. I do not dilute the product since my hair is so resistant to holding curls/waves, and it works perfectly. I do have to scrunch my hair in the morning to get rid of some of the stiffness, but I actually like that about this product. I am so happy to find this cheap hair product. I will continue to use for as long as I live! FYI: it is marketed for natural hair, but works just as amazing on Caucasian hair as well.

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Sooo-o good & versatile! I may do hot rollers, let air dry or even flat iron & LottaBody takes away the frizz & gives tons of -umph!! I like it best for just freshly washed/condish hair no curlers or rollers or fool w anything like that & just watch it dry & give my naturally curly hair a boost & i use it 2 parts water:1 part LottaBody. You can do anything with this & it will improve it. Yes even flat iron it will hold the straightness better but I love the old packaging so retro & generic.....also this stuff is cheap!! I went looking for their edges gel & couldn't find any LottaBody at Sally's which is where I got -this- but ya know ..... I think it will take me awhile to use up this bottle FYI the new packaging isn't the kind you dilute. (I have Caucasian damaged color treated hair.) this is so "Madge & Mabel under the dryer bonnets at the salon" glad to see folks still using this & I hope I can find LottaBody in the future more of their brand to try.

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I like this product and currently have the carrot and keratin one. It has a hair spray like smell that is noxious to some people but I don't care. It smells like Suave hairspray, which it resembles texturally and stickiness-wise. Before, I was using gel/mousse on my entire head when I wanted to curl it. But now I just use gel in the front of my hair. I use it before using a blow dryer or curling iron, as a hair spray substitute by attaching a spray nozzle, and of course I use it for setting. It beats cowlicks at the source and keeps hair strands grouped together. At $7.99 for 32 oz, you can't beat it. My hair is straight and oily so I dilute it 50/50. But if your hair is less oily or holds a curl better you might want to put more water. I like that it makes my hair kind of stiff because it is more groomed.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I'm torn. I use this a lot; practically daily, I routinely do wet pincurl sets and use Lottabody. I have fine, but fairly thick Scandinavian hair, around shoulderlength, slightly wavy, in a modified middy cut for a 30's to 50's kind of look, and partially colour-treated. It doesn't hold curls very well, Lottabody definitely helps with that. If I'm lucky I can stretch one set out for up to four days or so, with a bit of upkeep but without having to re-set it all over again. However, finding just the right amount for your hair is not entirely easy, and it does get frizzy sometimes. Pointfix helps with the frizz, but still. In general, I set my hair towel dried, but still quite wet. I part it to the side and divide it into lengthwise sections about 2-3 cm wide, parallel to the part. I add 3-5 drops of Lottabody per section as I proceed, dividing each lengthwise section into 4-7 smaller strands and curling them. It's not an exact science, and I honestly don't know what the water to setting lotion ratio is; 2 to 1, perhaps? It's not optimal and the amount of trial and error you have to do to find a ratio that works for your hair is probably the biggest drawback with Lottabody; you need to do some work to make it work for you. It has to be diluted. It will turn out bad every once in a while, but every hairstyle does. It does provide me with huge amounts of fluffy volume, which is a joy for someone with naturally flat and slippery hair, and apart from the occasional overdose, resulting in frizz, it performs very well. Setting lotions have become hard to come by where I live, but I have a reliable source of huge, inexpensive bottles of Lottabody and that alone makes it worth sticking with. I have never found it crunchy or sticky, but I always brush out my set when dry. Has a nice, unobtrusive old-fashioned barbershop kind of fragrance. All in all, troublesome but very much worth it.

About reviewer (80 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I've really been liking this. I recently started using product in my hair again after years of needing nothing but a smoothing type cream for an ultrashort pixie. I use it for vintage-inspired pincurls and really it has given me no reason to stray or experiment. My hair won't hold a dry set well but I find wet hair frustrating to pincurl so I apply Lottabody to damp hair after I shower (for my fine, straight shoulder length hair I use it diluted about 50/50 and pour about a tablespoon of this mixture into my palms, then rub through my hair). I let it air dry almost completely, pincurl, then saturate the curls using a spray bottle of water, and sleep on it. I end up with soft, shiny, well defined curls that brush out well to soft vintage inspired looks. I have never experienced crunchiness or tackiness, and although my hair is prone to limpness the Lottabody has never seemed to weigh it down. There's definitely a difference in how well my sets last with Lottabody versus without. It has no scent that I can detect, and I like the reduced-waste packaging of buying it in a dilutable form. Plus it's cheap as can be. Going to stick with it.

About reviewer (282 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Straight, Fine

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

How do I know I am a product junkie? Every few months, I dig through all the "trying-this" products in my hair stuff drawer, come up with this, can't remember why it fell from favor, and use it diluted 50/50 in a wet set. To get right to the point, I love the shiny curls (big rollers yield about 1-inch ringlets) that hold perfectly against frizziness so long as I Do Not Touch them beyond finger-raking. I don't love the texture or look once I brush it out and can't be sure that I can fix this by increasing dilution, but I haven't really tried. So why do I keep buying & trying (this would be a rhetorical question but for MUA :D)? I need to get past the extremely plain bottle and irrational association with other stuff my mom used back in the day like Dippity Do and Nestle's Superset (can I get a witness?). Gotta keep working with Lottabody, at least until I fall for the next brightly colored can/jar/bottle of snake oil...from Armenian baby snakes, maybe, raised only on macadamia nuts (joking reference to eternal search for HG - do not look for this product). P.S. If it matters, I have fine Af/Am hair (3a-3b curl pattern), which I prefer to wear in loose waves after brushing out a wet set. In the semi-tropical climate where I live, we are rarely without at least 50% humidity. Frizziness is a constant state of being.

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Um, yeah, I don't know if I'm not doing this right or what, but it doesn't seem to work for me. First of all, I should say that I use hot rollers, not the other kind. I tried washing my hair, putting in a 50/50 mixture of this when it was damp, blow drying, and then putting in a little more of this. Then I wait for that to dry and put in my hot rollers. Am I doing this incorrectly? I really really want this to work for me, so if anyone has any advice, let me know.

About reviewer (54 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown