4.1

Created with Sketch.
322 reviews
78%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range
$12.00 on Nordstrom
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

16 days ago

Well, this is an interesting one! I called off the search for the perfect pink-brown lipstick to use up all the near-misses I've bought over the years, but then a MAC artist put this on me one day and I gave in. I loved how it brightened up my face, complemented my skin and hair and needs very little other makeup (that's the test of a really good lipstick shade). The interesting bit is that it shows up quite pink on my lips with only the slightest hint of brown and is brighter on me than I expected, but still works really well on me. I'm glad I've finally tried this classic and I now know (and from reading the many reviews here) why it's so popular; somehow it works for a wide range of skintones and lip tones. Like many other reviewers I did find it a little drying though. This lipstick comes in a mini version, a really good idea if you're trying out a new shade. For reference, I'm MAC C40/ Bobbi Brown Warm Natural, with quite pigmented lips.

About reviewer (126 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

This isn't necessarily a review for *just* Twig, but rather the formula of the standard range available on Back-to-MAC. Twig happens to be one of the colours I own that I started to notice the issue with... All MAC lipsticks cause my lips to chap, bleed and crust over... My lips are sore and raw the following day and I have to forgo lipstick altogether for the next few days. I have tried all the finishes on offer in the hope that there might be one that doesn't cause such aggravation, but unfortunately there must be an ingredient in the various formulations that upsets my lips *tries not to cry* SUCH a shame as I love the colour range, the packaging (simple but chic), the idea of Back-to-MAC (what a fantastic way for a popular company to encourage recycling!) and the various finishes on offer. There really is something for everyone and every occasion if your lips aren't as sensitive as mine. Hugely disappointed I can't use these lipsticks as MAC remains one of my favourite brands (and I have enough empties for about 4 more Back-to-MAC lipsticks...) SIDE NOTE - I contacted MAC to ask if the Back-to-MAC scheme was restricted to lipsticks only, explaining that I had a sensitivity to the item but have been a loyal customer for YEARS (not to mention the many empties in my stash!). In the US, you can receive a free lipstick, lipglass or eyeshadow of your choice. In the UK, it's JUST a lipstick with no negotiation. How very disappointing, MAC. Why one rule for one country and one for another? For brand continuity, surely it should be one rule across the board? On this occasion, I will pass on my empties to a friend but, going forward, I will be finding alternatives to use instead of MAC. What is the point of adopting a fantastic recycling scheme if there is no benefit to those who have sensitivities to some products and therefore cannot utilise it? Why discriminate those customers? My money will go elsewhere unless this changes.

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Kinky, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

This is my favorite Mac lipstick, its quite red on me but my lips are naturally dark red anyway - I hate this phrase that im about to use but its my best way of describing it - its my lips but better, goes nice with my pale/red complexion, I have rosacea so try to stay away from red lipsticks as they bring out the red in my face but this doesnt, it must be the brown tones that make it slightly neutral.

About reviewer (92 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I love Mac lipsticks, so much verity and colors. Stays on the lips all day long. I alway come back to this brand!

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

My favorite lipstick of all time was Clinique's Different Lipstick in the "Sweet Honey" shade. I'm not someone who feels comfortable wearing lipstick, as I've always felt it looks odd on me. I have a very thin top lip and a very full bottom lip, so my lips aren't something I care to highlight much. But the Sweet Honey shade was great for allowing you to wear a lipstick that didn't really stand out, while still giving your lips a bit of color. Twig is the closest shade to SH that I've been able to find that's still around, although it's slightly pinker and more highly pigmented (I still have some of the old Clinique lipstick around to compare). The Clinique Sweet Honey lipstick didn't tend to last long and had a bit of sheerness, so the Mac's staying power is appreciated, although I find I apply it with a less free hand than the Clinique due to the stronger color. The only thing I find objectionable about the Mac is its smell. I dislike scented cosmetics, and this lipstick has a fake scented smell I dislike. But, the shade is great, is neutral, and probably would look great with a variety of skin tones.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I really wanted a pinky-brown lipstick that actually looked natural (the much sought after "my lips but better" look) against my medium-brown complexion. So I bit the bullet and decided to buy a MAC lipstick for the first time, and after a lot of research, I chose Twig! It wasn't exactly what I was aiming for because the colour pulled a little too pink to look absolutely natural, but it's still a beautiful, casual colour. I've never really found a non-bold lip colour I've loved as much as this one. You might also recognise it as the lipstick worn by Rachel from Friends and Captain Janeway from Star Trek- both fashion icons! Sharing something with them is super fun. As for the formula. I was instantly impressed by how it even covered my dark-ish top lip with just one swipe and while it does transfer when I drink, it stays on for hours and hours. But I always prefer satin formulas because they are soft and generally not too drying, yet this one was pretty brutal in terms of its lip-shrivelling factor. I feel like I have to wait for days when my lips are having a good day in terms of moisture to wear this lipstick, which is a real shame for something so pretty!

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is the colour that Aishwarya Rai used throughout the 90s and much of 2000. I know because as a child to teen I wd keenly look at her pictures in fascination for hours (literally)— autism thing. This is exactly the shade she had on most of her pictures and interviews and even candid ‘out n about’ pics. As soon as I actually tried this on I realized it. And with MAC spice lipliner? Spot on. Anyway though I bought it 2 years ago I rarely use it because 1. I think it wd look best on those with green or hazel eyes 2. Mac Mehr looks better on me. Though i rarely use that too 3. I hate the texture of it (like most mac lipsticks) as even if initially it seems fine it really dries out my lips. Really goodcolour nothing can dupe it (i tried fr years) but the formula is what ruins it. Edit- I remembered what i did to get the best (lips not dry n peeling while maintaining the longevity) result from this- lightly dabbing Mac Angel or Guerlain baby rose on top! Both lipsticks are opposites of Mac Twig in effect but they work best with it n keep it from being drying. Gosh i forgot how good that was! Just tried it and yeah like that it’s worth a repurchase. Even a cheaper moisturizing slightly shimmery lipstick like NYC violet shine or dark pink frost, works fr this.

About reviewer (95 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love this lipstick! Maybelline's Touch Of Spice is the drugstore dupe of MAC's Twig. Twig is a medium pink that looks very MLBB. I will be buying this over and over.

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a beautiful natural shade when you don't feel like wearing a dark shade. I am fed up with almost every other lipstick brand and exclusively use MAC satin finish ipsticks now because they go on smooth and last a long time. They are not drying like the mattes, and they don't smear and wear off quickly like the creams. To get a perfectly shaped lip it helps to use a pencil liner. There are some MAC shades that just didn't look good on me, and I've recycled them. However, this one seems made for me. It's a bit like my long time favourite, Rimmel's Asia, which was discontinued long ago. It's also similar to Maybelline's Touch of Spice, but that one doesn't wear as well. I value my MAC lipsticks more than any others because they perform so well and there are no exact dupes out there. Update: I realized this is almost the same as Mehr, which I already had. I really should have picked another one! It seemed way darker in online photos. The difference is that Mehr is matte and Twig is satin but they look very similar. Update: Twig has dried out after only a few months and it looks patchy. Maybelline's Touch of Spice is the same shade and it has a much better consistency. I have to lower my rating to two stars. Update: I never thought I'd say this but MAC's quality is going downhill. Not just Twig but other MAC lipsticks of mine have dried out and are almost unusable. Yet Maybelline lipsticks last for years without deteriorating. Shouldn't it be the other way around? Maybelline is the cheap drugstore brand so why is it now better than MAC?

About reviewer (242 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Perfect everyday lipstick. I gave it a 4 since most of the time it requires lipliner (I use Soar) and in the morning when I’m on the go and in a hurry I rather grab Syrup which I can apply in a few seconds. It requires lipliner as it bleeds around my lips.

About reviewer (135 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBlack





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.