Hanae Mori Hanae Mori Parfum

Hanae Mori Hanae Mori Parfum

4.3

60 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 4/14/2016 6:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My favorite scent to wear. This scent is available in different variations. My fav is the parfum. I used to buy it at my local dept store, but can no longer afford the steep price there, so I now purchase it on overstock.com
I get a ton of compliments from both men and women when I wear this scent. It is sweet smelling, but on me not overly so. Every persons chemistry is different. I do make sure not to over apply or it will be overwhelming and that's never good on anyone.
The downside is that although I and so many other people seem to love this on me, sadly my hubby does not. Oh well lol. He loves Michael Kors perfume on me, but, I'm not a fan of that scent.
Here's info from Hanae Mori's website:

Elegant, Romantic, Timeless

Since its launch in 1996, Butterfly is beloved for its lingering impression of vanilla (without a single drop of vanilla in its formula). This is due to the blend of Wild Strawberries from the South of France, Bulgarian Rose and Almond Wood from Hawaii.

Madame Mori's passion for the natural and the elegant is best embodied in this iconic scent that captures the essence of femininity with both polish and play. Forever fascinated by the memory of a butterfly alighting on her crib as a child, butterflies have reappeared throughout Hanae Mori's canon of designs and now is recognized as one of the most timeless and cherished scents in the industry.

The embodiment of nature and cosmopolitan sophistication—Butterfly invites the wearer to experience the ultimate in femininity and freedom. The fragrance is an enchanting counterpoint between Hanae Mori’s rural upbringing in pine-dotted southern Japan and her youthful exposure to Paris’ swirling elegance.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.



on 2/7/2015 5:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I like this perfume. I got the rollerball version in a set from Sephora a while ago, and it's a great smell. Definitively on the sweet/candy/flowery side and at first the smell is strong, but it eventually dry down. It's not something I would wear if I was sensitive to smell thought because it's kind of strong at first.

I will leave the big perfume definition to better noses on MUA because I'm definitively not one of them, but this, to me, it's a grown-up version of Fantasy by Britney Spears and those type of candy/sweet smell.


on 10/18/2014 9:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have to say that I am a huge fan of this perfume. As my fellow reviewers have mentioned, the fragrance is quite sweet when first applied, but then mellows out into a pleasant candy/fruity scent that is easy on the nose and would not trigger a migraine. Flirty, but not sensual. Playful, but definitely NOT cheap. The price point is average for eau du parfum at $95. I will buy it again.

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 5/20/2014 1:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I really liked this perfume, although it is sweet. I had the toilette not parfum-so did not last as long as I would have liked.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 5/2/2014 8:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Black

It starts out a little bit too sweet for my liking, resembling strawberry candy and then bubblegum, but oh, does it warm down into this extremely likable, er, I won't say sexy but a sort of sensual scent that you want to keep sniffing. The warmth provided by the sandalwood and other muted floral notes underneath a strawberry sweetness just makes this perfume. It also appears to have amazing sillage.
My one huge CON with fragrance is the ill fitting butterfly lid. If you pay $95 the lid should stay on!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 12/5/2010 9:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Very sweet but unique and not cheap smelling in any way. I used to wear the edt and while I liked it, I would get tired of it after a while. I had been thinking about trying this again and saw the parfum for a good price at Marshalls and had to pick it up. Maybe it's the colder weather or something but I have been wearing this daily and loving it more and more. There is something addictive about it. I also think the parfum is smoother than other concentrations. It does last a long time too. LOVE IT.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 9/6/2010 10:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a grown woman's gourmand fragrance that will receive positive comments from those who are near.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Sugary without being cloying. This is really nice. This is everyday cosy and attractive without trying.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 9/26/2009 5:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Could this be the "grown-up" sweet, vanilla-y perfume that I've been searching for?! I noticed Hanae Mori EDP at Walmart for $35 and after reading all the "sweet" reviews, went back & grabbed it. So far (first wearing) it's heavenly. A more delicious version of the discontinued Avon Vanilla Soft Musk...a perfect blend of the best aspects of that, Aquolina Pink Sugar, and my beloved Vanilla Fantasy. More subtle, unique, & hard to describe, which I appreciate. Since there is reportedly no actual vanilla in the notes, it makes sense that the fragrance is not your predictable vanilla perfume. I've tried all of them, love them, but was in search of a more original, "real" perfume that was a bit more sophisticated-- yet retained the soft, sweet purity of the vanilla ones. Love the powdery dry down too! This could be my top fave, HG signature scent after many expensive years of searching! Fingers crossed!
EDIT: I must be the most fickle reviewer ever! Only a few weeks into my love affair with Hanae Mori, and I'm detecting a sharp, citrus-y note that I never used to...do our chemistries change that much?! Or our noses become more sophisticated as they get to know a fragrance? Whatever it may be, I'm wearing simple, lovely BBW Vanilla Bean Noel for a while...just discovered today. Hope this relationship is more long lasting!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

One of the fragrances I reach for most often. I wish they had a dab-on bottle of this, since it's fairly strong. But used sparingly, the pure parfum is a gem - smoother and more well-rounded than the EDT in my opinion. I found that the EDT is a bit sharp on my skin. Would definitely re-purchase.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1439 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
163 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1923 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1882 Reviews
Black Opium
Black Opium
94 Reviews

Popular Fragrances

Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1439 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
163 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1923 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1882 Reviews
Black Opium
Black Opium
94 Reviews
Back to Top