4.4

Created with Sketch.
33 reviews
82%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

i have the new formulation in Le Rouge Duo Tenue and it has become my favorite lipstick of all time. i have this in Tender Beige 69 which is a gateway to my obssession with this formula. the formula is comfortable and the longest lasting lipstick ive ever tried doesnt feel dry or look bad throughout the day stays on even after greasy meals and drinking i dont have to reapply and it doesnt get patchy. smells like custard but very light and very pleasant it is pricey but you are getting two different products in one the gloss side is thick but it isnt sticky, very moisturizing the lipstick side can be tacky so i do apply the gloss on top will be purchasing Merry Rose and Daring Red next 397 Merry Rose - The perfect nude for a smokey eye and false eyelashes. its not too peach or pink and its just the right amount of white to nude out the lips without making me look like a corpse. It is lighter than Tender Beige on the paler end of the spectrum. Tender Beige is def more of a mlbb and more color to it. I love both and i do think i will get a lot of wear out of both depending on what eye or blush i pair them with. Merry Rose is a night out with a smokey eye and nude blush. Tender Beige is a quick i need some color to my face paired with flushed cheeks or no makeup makeup look. I can see Merry Rose really flattering someone who is blonde and on the fair skintone side. Its a bombshell nude! I have black hair and it still looks beautiful, i am really happy with this color. 47 Daring Red - To keep this simple and sweet, daring red is a true blue tone red that will suit anyone. Its your basic blood red that really is flattering and will make an impact of your look. This will be perfect for any occassion such as during holidays and a nightout. I can put this on and feel sexy and confident that it wont budge. I def think this is a must have for red lipstick lovers. It can be a bit bright for some people who arjt used to wearing reds so just a warning because this is a statement red. 152 Intense Nude - looking at swatches this looked like the cooler punkier sister of tender beige but I was wrong. For my skin tone this shows up a lot more bright than I like. It looks like a nude pink but have a slight fuscia undertone. It is def a cooler type of pink and can look a bit harsh on me even though it is a nude. I will be sticking to Tender Beige for that mlbb shade. 156 Intense Rosewood - easily top 3 lipstick of all time. I love using this lightly in 1 layer as a stained cherry lip. Putting gloss on top gives me juicy glass like popsicle stained lips. I much prefer this to Rouge Allure Ink Fusion in Pink Brown because its the same color but less drying. Rosewood, tender beige and merry rose is all I need in my collection. I also love pairing this with Chanel Joues Contrasts Blush in 350 Rosewood. Its perfect for falla and winter for a healthy flushed cheeks in from the cold look.

About reviewer (425 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Bought this in the shade 'Merry Rose' and, its the nude of the colours but, just a tad boring with not quite enough colour so I will send back and change for the rose shade. It is also a limited edition and I so dislike buying these as when they stop the run, that's it. The lipstick feels really lovely and not in the least drying and has no discernable scent. It wore off a little patchily and left a rim on my inner lip but perhaps my lips were a little dry when I applied. I have tried all the 'high end' and high street brands in my search for a lipstick that lasts and is not either Barbie Pink or brown and unflattering - This is a real nude; the first I have found in longwear lip colour.

About reviewer (164 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Colour range is limited but the formulation ended up being nice. It was not drying and had a very smooth application unlike a lot of other lip stains, with more moisture added once you apply the gloss. The gloss is thin and runny, both ends have a pretty neutral comfortable feeling texture. Did not find it exceptionally great in any way however, so will not repurchase since cheaper brands can do more or less the same job (and have far more colours).

About reviewer (38 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is for the new released version of these - I tried these out just for fun at my local Chanel counter. I was shocked at how great Ever Red looked on me, and I'm not a red lipstick person at all. Great muted red. Although these are supposed to last all day long, I can only get about 4 hours of wear tops before needing to reapply or touch up. The lipstick does come off when I eat despite what other reviewers have stated. I found the best way to get this to last is as so: - use a lipstick brush and line the lips lightly with the brush. - use the lipstick brush to apply and even coat on the inside of the lined lips - before it dries, use the doe foot to apply another layer all over. The liner helps keep the color from straying - try to keep your mouth open while it dries out, I found about 2-3 minutes or upward of 5 depending on how thick it is. - Apply the gloss once. I don't do a second application of the gloss Any other clear gloss or lip oil will make this come off immediately, so the gloss that comes with it is the only one you can use. Despite the lack of longevity, its still a gorgeous color and lasts longer than most other lipsticks I own.

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Coarse

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

These are changed now to a rectangular tube and its called the "chanel le rouge duo ultra tenue". I have the merry rose color and its beautiful! Its a light pink nude beige and is perfect for my porcelain skin tone. The consistency is thin and opaque. The gloss is, glossy and comfortable! I think they improved the formula! The packaging is also sleek and wonderful, I prefer this new rectangle shape. This lasts for hours, through eating and drinking. Its easily taken off or reapplied. I love this! Oh and it smells like yummy vanilla! I used to have this in the darling pink shade in the old circular packaging...I remember not caring for it for some reason. I used it a few times and forgot about it. This new formula is MUCH better.

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

If longwear liquid lipsticks are too drying or too matte, you may like this. It’s packaged where one end is the pigment (with a doe foot sponge applicator) and the other end is a clear gloss (with a lip brush applicator). The color is very pigmented and has a velvety matte finish. Before I apply the color, I wipe a bit off the sponge applicator and then use a light hand. It’s very easy to build up the Intensity. The sponge applicator also makes it easy to apply around your lip line. If I make a mistake, I can usually fix it quickly before it sets. Once the clear gloss is applied over the color, you lips feel like you’re wearing a comfortable gloss that’s not too thick. I only touch up with the clear coat at lunch and before dinner. The color doesn’t budge. The only downside is that Chanel offers only 15 or so shades. I wish they had 50 shades!

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

For long wearing comfort, the Chanel Double Intensite fit the bill. I have the Soft Rose, which is a medium toned, grown-up rose (not overly saccharine baby pink) which adds a bit of youthful color to my moderately pigmented lips. The trick is to let the base coat dry thoroughly ( a minute or so) and then apply the crystalline gloss. The gloss gradually fades to a moist finish, it is not distractingly glossy at all. My schedule occasionally requires me to wear a lip product that lasts at least half a day, if not more. So this really fits the bill, although for most occasions, I prefer an organic natural lip product (when I don't need such long wear) - if you're interested, see my reviews of Mineral Fusion, Gabriel, Naturkosmetic ( a German line) and a couple more organic American lines. I have not yet found a long-lasting organic lipstick/gloss, I've looked at a lot, so if you have found one, let me know on the message board..Thanks!

About reviewer (230 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairSilver, Curly, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Best lip color ever. This product is for true make-up connoisseurs, not teenage girls. It's an upper end brand make-up and it is fantastic. It is my only must have lip color. The only people who have trouble with this lip color, are people who don't know how to put it on. First you put on the color, and let it dry completely. Once it is dry you apply the gloss for moisture. It will calm down to a matte finish after awhile. The gloss is kind of required to set the color, and the color is fabulous. (If you know how to put on makeup). I read some other reviews and if the gloss ran all the way to someones chin, you have to wonder exactly how much she put on. LOL! This product has been out for years and gone through various different colors over the years. Chanel tends to discontinue colors and release new colors regularly.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair

HairOther

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

There aren't a lot of reviews of these two-step lipcolors online, but the ones out there are mostly positive. So I was surprised how much I disliked this. It started flaking off in patches by midday, and I was able to remove it with water and a little rubbing. It's a shame because the colors are nicer than a lot of similar lipsticks, but not as nice as a regular lipstick -- and if it's not long-lasting what's the point? Maybe it works better if you do thin layers and wait for them to dry, but I don't want to spend half an hour putting on lipstick.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

If you're looking for a stain that really stains and lasts a long time you need this! I got the color rose agate, which i think is a discontinued color now, but I love it! The stain really sinks in and the gloss really makes it pop. I got almost all day wear without having to reapply the stain. The packaging is cute, but it's a little expensive (but this is Chanel we're talking about) lol

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us