3.6

Created with Sketch.
98 reviews
67%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I was so dissapointed (and still am) that this mascara was discontinued. My eyelashes don't stay curled and this was the only one that made my eyes pop. I remember going to Mexico & swimming in the water. My lashes stayed put and curled, no smudging until I took it off! I found it was thick, curled & very black. Since then, like other reviewers mentioned, I've spent $100's trying to find something equal but nothing compares. They either curl but not thick, or thick but smudge & won't stay curled. Total waste! And as for people that complain that it doesn't come off, mine would, use baby oil or coconut oil, cheap, organic & simple! Still in mourning :(

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I wish they would bring this back! This was the only thing that would stay on at the beach. And for the reviewers who said it wouldn't come off, well the name is MARATHON, it is supposed to stay on well. Just use and oil based remover, not a water based one. Please bring it back, Cover Girl!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

This is THE BEST WATERPROOF MASCARA EVER. I started using it when I was in middle school. IMO the formulation was perfect. It went on smoothly, dried quickly and never clumped or flaked. I live in Texas and summers here are brutal. Between BBQs, sunbathing, swimming, and sweating in 100+ degree days, Marathon was the only mascara that could stand up through it all. I am the type to tear up when I laugh, so this formula was perfect for me in that way too. I have the type of eyelashes that will not hold a curl if anything water-based touches them, so that's another reason that this worked so well. Yes, it was difficult to take off, but that was intentional. It came off very easily with baby oil, coconut oil, olive oil or glycerin based makeup removers. Now we know these oils are great for your face, hair and nails so it's a win/win. I really miss this mascara. I've literally spent hundreds of dollars on supposed replacements, only to be disappointed. Many of these were Cover Girl's answer to Marathon. They were all fails. I'm convinced a dupe does not exist. As such, I will not buy another Cover Girl mascara until Marathon returns. Which brings me to my next sentence. Cover Girl is finally "listening" to consumer opinions for bring back discontinued products and Marathon is on the list. Please support the cause and click the check mark to bring it back. http://www.covergirl.com/beauty-products/discontinued-products/Marathon-Waterproof-Mascara

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Sad to see this mascara DC!! I dated a guy way back when whom had a really cool mom & she got me hooked on it. She was a cop w corn rows (& I will always associate under cover prostitution stings & this mascara w her!!), but anyways this mascara would stand up to *anything* sweat, humidity & hot weather; tears, eyes watering, just anything. It was hard to remove, but I'd been able to get it removed now if I had discovered makeup remover towelettes back then. The black was a super black color, & gave both great length & curl. Sad to see this one go... ;/

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I have tried several other brands. But nothing last like marathon. Even covergirls recommended replacement falls short.Very short.. Please bring it back.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I been looking for this mascara for years,, I found other products not same please bring back cover girl marathon waterproof mascara,, I am lost without it,,

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

Very sad that Marathon has been discontinued. That was the best in the world! CoverGirl's replacement in the Professional All-in-One waterproof mascara. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY - this mascara is nothing like Marathon (I have emailed my review to CoverGIrl too). It is dry, totally give raccoon eyes by mid-day, and is way to thin - no volume whatsoever. My lashes look bare despite multiple coats. Anyway, still looking & wasting money looking for a replacement. Please post if you've found one.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I too am puzzled by the low reviews. I'm a d/s mascara junkie - always straying from my HGs to try the latest/greatest (ergo I won't use hi end mascara becuz the investment 9 times out of 10 will not be worth it for me.) Unfortunately, I have learned over the years that I am limited to waterproof mascaras for a variety of reasons - mostly I HATE having to constantly check to see if I have racoon eyes - my eyelids are relatively oily and I love all things water = must have waterproof. I came across this tube on the most bottom shelf, tucked away, at Target. I haven't used Marathon since high school. However, w/ summer being here and me using natural oils for MU removal and facial cleansing, my HGs were no longer staying in place as effectively (L'Oreal Voluminous and Maybelline Volum' Express - both in waterproof of course) much to my dismay! So - picked up this little gem for like $3 and change. It gives me definition, some length, not much for volume (which is why I gave it a 4). I have NO problem getting this off using one of these: coconut oil, my own blend of grapeseed and sweet almond oil or castor oil. I do let whichever oil I'm using sit on my lashes for a minute (or less) while I cleanse w/ grapseed/sweet almond oil and wash all off together = nothing left behind and no, I am not scrubbing or wiping my eyes hard or harshly. I am disappointed this has been d/c. I'm going back to Target to see if I can p/u a back-up tube. If only this gave volume - it would be my new HG. O well - its an awesome product for my current needs!

About reviewer (624 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairOther, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

This. Does. Not. Come. Off. Easily, anyway. I bought this for a vacation I was going on since I knew I would be spending large amounts of time in the sun and near water and the last thing I wanted to have was running mascara! It started off well; the mascara defined my eyes nicely and did stay on all day. In fact, it stayed on for about three to four days of my trip and would not BUDGE. I used regular soap, noxzema, and EYE MAKEUP REMOVER WIPES which were supposed to remove waterproof mascara, and facial makeup removing wipes. Still, nothing. THe mascara would not come off. After some serious scrubbing with an eye makeup remover pad on day three (even though I used the same pads for the other few days to take off the mascara) SOME of the mascara came off, and with it so did many of my eyelashes. That's just not good---you shouldn't have to sacrifice your eyelashes for mascara in my opinion. In the end, I bought some Almay mascara because it was on sale, and although it was not waterproof, it stayed on when I was in the pool and sweating, and it even washed off with the makeup remover pads at night! So I will never buy waterproof mascara again; it just does not come off properly for me no matter what I use. I got this for a little over a dollar on clearance, so I don't care about the cost, but I do care that I have less eyelashes now than I did before I started using this!

About reviewer (128 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

This formula is very wet but it dries fast. I think it holds a curl pretty well compared to the other drugstore mascaras. I wish it would separate my eyelashes more. It is also very waterproof which makes it hard to remove. My eyelashes have been falling out from attempting to remove this mascara... I won't be repurhcasing.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Other

EyesBlack