2.9

Created with Sketch.
99 reviews
40%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

EXCELLENT FOUNDATION! I have bought the 1.2P (pink tones) and 1.2N (neutral/warm), both in serum and full coverage and love, love them! I have so many foundations (expensive and cheap) but this is by far the best, foolproof and easy. For this review I’ll only mention the coverage . Apply a pea sized amount with a damp beauty blender and bounce/ roll on skin for good results. Excellent pigmentation blends seamlessly to my skin tone, doesn’t show up pores or lines. It’s ME only even toned and flawless ‘tick’! It provides a gorgeous, satisfying coverage. When I’m feeling lazy I’ll mix it on the back of my hand with Mecca sunscreen and an illuminating product and blend away! A very, very good foundation, not only for the price point (which is, let’s face it, always a waste of money if the product is bad no matter how cheap). It’s so good I’ve got 3 bottles of each formulation (coverage and serum) and the 2 tones and hope they don’t stop making it!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen



1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 months ago

I love The Ordinary line of skincare. With that said, this company should stick to skincare and not makeup. This foundation is HORRID! Not only does it not apply well (tried it with fingers, brush and Beautyblender), but it looks really bad too! It instantly settles into pores and fine lines and makes you look like an orange! It also oxidizes and accentuates every single imperfection on your face! After about 3 hours, it disappears off your face anywhere you have oil. Nose first and then as the day goes on, it literally slides off your face in patches. I got home looking like I'd been through a war. HORRRRRRRRIBLE! I cannot say enough bad things about it. Thank goodness it's only like $6 otherwise i'd be marching to the store demanding a refund. Trash trash and that's where it ended up. UGH! For reference, I am 50 years old with normal skin and not many lines or wrinkles or big pores. I've read same type of reviews from young people as well as older. So it's not the person, it's the product! DO NOT BUY!

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I have such a love-hate relationship with this product, I wanted it to be my new HG foundation but unfortunately the cons outweighed the pros. Pros: - Great packaging, feels professional and the pump has a twist lock which makes it easy for travelling. - So affordable! Around $10NZD which makes it easy to buy multiple shades online if you're not not confident about shade matching. - Easy to apply with a sponge & brush, sits nicely on the skin once first applied. The coverage is medium-full and is surprisingly good for the price. Cons: - Oxidised sooooo badly. I swatched the shade 1.0P (ver fair with pink undertones), and within 20 seconds oxidised 2-3 shades darker. - Doesn't hold up well with oily skin. This foundation separated within a couple of hours around my nose and chin, also didn't take much for it to rub off. Unfortunately I can't get past a foundation that oxidises, it just makes it so hard to colour match. Coverage foundation is a miss - their skincare range however is amazing and I will continue to use.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 months ago

I love The Ordinary skincare line...it has given me so many of my favorite products. This one, however, is a monumental disappointment as it contains silicones and copolymers that trap sebum, bacteria, dead skin cells, dirt, excess oil, etc. The purpose of those ingredients are to provide a “slick” surface that bonds to the skin, but in doing so, it can clog pores and contribute to acne for some people. I wish The Ordinary would formulate a foundation free of those ingredients, similar to the one by Milk.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I bought this foundation as an interim until the Shiseido foundation shade I wanted was available again. I quickly searched in Google “full-coverage foundation” and this was one of the first recommendations. I was delighted to see how cheap it was ($7 vs. $60) and that it was by a brand I heard so many good things on YouTube. It turned out to be very disappointing. From this product, I discovered The Ordinary is only good for skincare not makeup. The bottle is only three uses away from being finished. I’ve had it for about a year and resentfully kept it around to use it up. The coverage disappears after three hours. My normal/combination skin becomes very oily in that time too. For texture, it’s very light. It truly is pigment suspended in water. It feels great—initially. (It also looks great... initially.) This foundation is not one for the long haul. I’m not someone who checks my face every few hours. I only look at my face when I get home after work and sometimes socials so that’s 6-9 hours after application. I was so horrified the first time I saw my face when I first used it. It looked nothing like what I saw in the morning. What the heck! How did I use up this foundation? 1. I resigned to the fact I would look terrible in three hours. I told myself it didn’t matter in the end. 2. I wore it for short trips like when meeting a friend for a meal or going to my evening class that was 3-hours long and I didn’t care what my classmates thought of me. I was also misled by YouTube reviews that were obviously sponsored and by people who didn’t do a time test of the durability of the foundation. To that one British MUA YouTuber who sang the praises for the foundation when it is very much garbage, I have no respect for you as a MUA and I’m happy I unsubscribed before you made that video after three years of watching you.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I'm a total full coverage fanatic, and have worn KVD Lock It for years. I have many foundations from which to choose, and I've been reaching for this since I got it. Over a Silk Canvas dupe ... I mean, I think it is full coverage, and people are just confused by the weight of it. It makes my skin SO flawless and even and covered but without the heaviness of other FC foundations. I can't think of anything I'd change about it and it looks soooo good over a true pore filling primer. I feel like it deserves more stars than it has. Fenty broke up on me, and this doesn't. It never settles or cakes around lines. Because it's so thin, I apply with my fingers to keep it warm and move it fast ... it's JUST AMAZING. And that it's 6.90 ... that's just crazy talk. I'm stocking up!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Update: My best match is 2.1P -- even though I am LIGHT OLIVE complexion. My guess is that they wanted to use yellow to cancel pink. This shade has ZERO pink undertones. YES!!! They better never discontinue this......or if they do, I am going to buy a lifetime supply. LOL. Pros: - EXTREMELY gentle on the skin, even beneficial. - COVERS yes indeed, a nicely pigmented formula with a soft finish. Lighter end of Medium coverage. Sets to a finish that looks like foundation + powder. - SHADE RANGE for days (its soooooo good!! I'm anywhere from 2.0N to 2.1YG. That's right -- multiple matches!!!) - PUMP - VERY VERY AFFORDABLE - BUY in store or online (I prefer the store) - Excellent to mix with other foundations when you need this guy's OPACITY Cons: - None. - SIMPLY REAPPLY after washing my face to pray. No biggie! If you want something transfer and water/sweatproof for a special event or special night out or your wedding, no this is not it. But I want something to wear every single day of my life and that DOES NOT EVER BREAK ME OUT. It is this foundation made by trustworthy Canadian cosmetic chemists. LOVE <3

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is by far the worst foundation I’ve ever used. I used the lightest neutral shade there is and my god was it awful. I applied the foundation and it had ok coverage it was probably a medium coverage which is fine but I came back to finish my makeup after a few minutes and my face was orange and blotchy!?! It had oxidised so bad. Not only that but it had already started to emphasise my undereye lines- I’m only 26 so they aren’t really that bad at all and I had barely put any foundation in that area and also clung to dry patches that I didn’t even know I had. I didn’t use a primer because I never really do and I didn’t set it because, again, I never really do or need to. The transfer was bad too it never seemed to dry down properly and I would have hated to have put more on because it would have been everywhere! I found the packaging ok, it looks rather clinical and plain but thats what I expected from the brand, it has no lid just a pump that you can twist and lock, but the matte black pump quickly looks messy and old, which obviously isn’t a massive problem but something to consider if you like to display your makeup. The price is good but when the product is rubbish the price doesn’t seem so cheap, it is totally unusable to me. This foundation might be great for you if you try using a primer and set it well but I would be wary if you are pale, it could be perfect for tanned or darker skinned people but for me its a massive no! Very disappointed as I had heard good things about this foundation from all the hype on youtube etc. It also puts me off trying any of their other products that get raved about. Don’t fall for the hype guys.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I read all the reviews and was excited about this product, I ordered 1.2N and when it came I have to say that it was a fantastic colour match for my skin, I used my porefessional primer and put on my foundation, it went on easy, blended well and looked good. After about 3-4 hours I checked it and it had separated slightly so I decided to wash it off, took ages to wash off and had to cleanse twice. Today I used my Smashbox Primer and out the foundation on, it was harder to blend today and after an hour of wearing my glasses it had all separated on my nose and I was left with horrible looking make up. Tomorrow I'll try it without any primer and see how it looks but if it separates again then it will be a bummer.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair

HairSilver

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The consistency is lovely, not heavy or watery. I have combination skin and it worked well, skin didn't look shiny until a few hours later. It's described as semi -matte, which I would agree. I like the bottle, its simple but effective - no top but the lock on the pump clicks easily into place, however second bottle I bought the pump didn't work.... The coverage is medium but very heavily pigmented but I think my complexion falls between shades.I took the foundation back and was persuaded to buy two to mix and see if colour match better. Good thing about Deciem is if you're not happy with products they'll refund up to a year from purchase. I've tried mixing, but the colour still isn't right - I think if you find a good colour match it, then this is a good product - sadly not for me though.

About reviewer (209 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us