4.3

Created with Sketch.
9 reviews
88%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range
$22.00 on Skinstore
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I think this is an essential item for people who are really prone to breakouts. I purchased this only because I've ran out of glamglow's mud mask, which is still my HG, and people have compared this one as an alternative but at a cheaper rate. So undoubtedly I'm going to make a few comparisons against the two! First off, I really do like the packaging, it's easy to control the amount from the squeeze tube. In terms of consistency, I feel like this is easier to smooth out across my face, like a smoother liquid consistency? Which initially I was a bit surprised because the glamglow one was a lot thicker and had the "mud particles" inside. Also, another thing I've noticed with the glow mud mask is that it didn't have the tingling sensation when I applied it on my face - which was what I've experienced with the glamglow one -- and I actually liked that because it makes me feel like the product is working on my skin, but it's NOT a burning sensation. So I think it's down to your personal preference. If you have sensitive skin & worried if it "burns" your skin, this one doesn't. Surprisingly both had the same results. If you feel acne breakouts coming, I apply a light layer of this and the acne will go down in no time. The only difference is - for the glamglow one, the results were almost instant, the redness went down overnight, and with the Pixi one, it did go down, at a slower rate. For my case, it took approx 2 days. All in all, I would say its a good product. I really can't find anything to dislike it as it does what it says and for the price tag, I would say its worth it. If your breakouts aren't severe and minor, I would say this is a good alternative over the glamglow one. And if you're willing to pay the heavy price tag on glamglow, that is also definitely worth a try! I would say glamglow would work more on people who has recurring acne. However, this Pixi one is just as good. I'm going to repurchase this as well, as its not as harsh and I wouldn't mind applying this more than once a week for my preference. Hope this has helped!

About reviewer (87 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I'm giving this a 5 because it is such an effective mask at a reasonable price point. I have dry to combination skin and from time to time I do get clogged pores and congestion thanks to the horrid humid climate where I live. I put this on for just under 15 mins (It starts to get real tight by the 10th minute) and after washing off I can see that my skin looks and feel better. But if you have dry skin, be sure to moisturise well after using this mask. Will repurchase for sure.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Cannot attest as to the effectiveness of this product as an all over mask but it works wonder on pimples when applied overnight. I think it would be too drying all over the face unless one has extremely oily skin. I replaced Kate Somerville Eradikate with this and SR Good Genes. It is part of my travel essentials because a small amount does the job. Will repurchase when I run out.

About reviewer (38 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

If you don't read past this first sentence, the biggest takeaway would be that this product is amazing. Especially if you have acne / breakout-prone skin. First, a little rant. I was a devout user of Glamglow Supermud (the one in the white jar), which in my opinion was a really great product before they recently reformulated it and removed the azelaic acid. Now it's honestly just OK and certainly not worth the money anymore, which is why I stopped buying it. Since then, I've tried a few different mud masks but have come to the conclusion that they are all pretty much the same. 90% of these mud & clay masks you find in Sephora (Origins, Peter Thomas Roth, Fresh, etc) are made with basic ingredients that are very cheap and inexpensive to formulate (not a bad thing), yet they are incredibly overpriced. I'm willing to pay good money for products that actually DO something positive for my skin - both immediately after use and in the long run. This is one of those products. This mask is amazing - I absolutely love it. In fact, I love it MORE than the original Glamglow Supermud mask. That's saying something! Not only is this relatively affordable for the quality of product you get, but a little goes a very long way. Most mud & clay masks are drying just by their very nature...this one isn't. I found that using it twice a week, it's evening out my skin and clearing acne. Highly recommend you pick it up - can't see how you could be disappointed if you have a similar skin type to me and struggle with adult acne and breakouts. Best purchase I've made in a long time!!

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair

HairRed

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this on sale for about 25$ Canadian, so it was pretty pricey for a mask. However, I believe in the brand and really want to try more pixi products. I liked this mask because it's gentle and has a nice scent. It leaves your skin nice and soft without irritation. I want to try something cheaper to see how it compares, but I would buy this again. I don't think it does that much for my skin, yet I still want to keep using it.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Fair

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This product is great value and effective. The only reason I would not rebuy it is that my skin is changing and I do not use this much. I could see this mask being a good match for people with oily skin and congestion, or combination skin. It leaves your skin clearer and more matte but not tight or dry. This is a nice mask for when you go travelling to hot and dusty places and you want to feel your face feel 'clean' as you soak in a bath. I find it to spread easily even though it is a clay mask and I like it more than the offerings from Aveda. A definite recommend.

About reviewer (182 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Pretty good mud mask. It dries up active acne VERY quickly, as in, overnight. Prior to picking this up I was partial to Borghese Fango Active Mud. There are a few differences between these two, I use them both now. With the Pixi, you're not going to get that tingle, burn, or extreme tightness that other mud masks give you. A little bit also goes a very long way. I take a teeny dab on a finger tip and do spot treatment with the Pixi mask. The ingredients are SUPERB and that is what I'm attributing to the high price of this mask. The Borghese Fango comes in a huge jar and I found it at TJMaxx for $24. A teeeeeeeny tiny little bitty tube from Target costs $15+ (travel size version). Ingredients: Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Kaolin, Sea Silt (Mediterranean and Dead Sea Mud), Diatomaceous Earth, Bentonite, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Squalane, Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Extract, Arctium Lappa Root (Burdock) Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Panax (Ginseng) Root Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Polysorbate 20, Chlorphenesin, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose, Xanthan Gum, Fragrance, Dead Sea Salt, Iron Oxide (CI 77499), Citric Acid. I was impressed with the Diatomaceous Earth in this mask, probably why it works so well. Lot's of good stuff here.

About reviewer (66 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Been using this for 2 weeks now it's good but I haven't seen life changing results. Consistency is satisfyingly thick but spreadable into thin layers. Feels good on and doesn't break out my eczema sensitive skin. Gentle and nice but I haven't really noticed real sensation (like tingle or exfoliation- which is the whole fun of masking). Good for if you want to relax and throw on an easy mask with no consequences. Cute packaging as always but not sure if it's worth the 22 bucks?

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Medium, Cool

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I purchased this mask about 4 weeks ago, and I have used it once a week since. My skin is combination, sensitive and acne prone, so can sometimes appear very dull and flaky, and this mask is perfect to remedy this! The packaging is very basic, standard green Pixi tube packaging, with a screw top lid. I find the lid a bit annoying as it can be difficult to get back on properly. I feel like a flip top may be easier. The mask is black in colour, and a little bit goes quite a long way. I applied it to dry skin, and rinsed off 20 minutes later. I love how cleanly and easily the mask washes off, and how it doesn't feel super tight whilst on my skin. It smells quite herbal and clean. I had a very heavy weekend of parties and my skin was in terrible condition. Flaky, red, shiny and taught...I applied this mask and 20 minutes later my skin felt smooth and soothed! I was very surprised as I had previously used the REN Glycolactic mask, which did next to nothing for my skin, so I wasn't expecting a product that is half the price to work so well. I followed with Pixi Glow Tonic, Clinique Moisture Surge spray, EL ANR and Nightwear Plus. The next morning my skin felt the best it ever has. I really love the look and feel of my skin when I have used this mask, so much so that I want to use it all the time and sometimes have trouble keeping to once a week!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us