4.4

Created with Sketch.
12 reviews
75%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

695 divine wine is a deep burgundy red with a warm undertone. it's very similar to milani color statement lipstick in tuscan toast. i love both of these lipsticks and will repurchase for sure.

About reviewer (461 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Revlon's Love Is On and Maybelline Sensational Creamy Mattes Rich Ruby helped me find reds that I loved after looking for a very long time. My lips are pigmented and can make certain reds look muddy on me. As much as I love those lipsticks, Divine Wine is probably the best color for me. The other two are a bit bright for me. I'll still wear them, though. Toning down the brightness and deepening the color is perfect for my pigmented lips and warm skin tone. I range from NC25-40 throughout the year. As with Sensational Creamy Mattes Rich Ruby, I love the formula. It's creamy, pigmented, and lasts for hours. I like that it's not completely matte. It's not drying on my lips like some mattes that can make my lips feel shriveled up.

About reviewer (80 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I'm in the minority with this lipstick. It looks like a deep brown red in the tube but once on it looks more pink on me :( I seem to have this problem with a lot of red shades. My biggest complaint isn't even the color though. This stuff is definitely not matte to me. It is also so creamy it gets messy. Absolutely love the color on it's own but not on me...

About reviewer (1037 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

It's been a long time I have not posted any reviews but I have to share this. Since last year I've been flirting with Burberry Lip Velvet in Oxblood. A delicious oxblood lipstick. An expensive one too. I've been trying on red and dark lipstick looks but they don't do me any favors. Give me any dark eye look and I will look a lot better. But I keep on trying... So I swatched Burberry Oxblood once again on my hand and walked on, trying to convince myself that it is money down the drain, that I may use it just once or twice. Other items caught my attention, other choices to be made. When I spotted a lipstick that reminded me of Oxblood. I am a professional artist, a painter, so trust me I know my colors. I approached Maybelline stand and voila! Divine wine is an almost exact dupe for Oxblood. Just a bit warmer. I bought it of course and I have to say it is a lovely long wearing lipstick, with pleasant consistency and smell. It is dark but not harsh. I use it mostly as a stain. It is really beautiful. Give it a try if you like dark but not overtly dramatic lips.

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I'm a little surprised this hasn't gotten a whole lot of reviews on here; it has been around for a hot minute and these Maybelline Color Sensationals are probably the quintessential creamy, long-wearing, non-drying drugstore lipsticks. I only occasionally wear deeper shades; I am an eye makeup/fake eyelashes fanatic and have a hard time downplaying the rest of my face to accommodate a bold lip. When I do drift out of the box, I make it a point to avoid anything too orange or too cool toned, so that leaves me with true reds and browns to select from. This particular shade is definitely more on the true deep burgundy red spectrum, but does have hints of brown playing around somewhere in there. If you're looking for a deep wine red with no games played, you'll most likely be very satisfied with this, as I am. Then again, red selection is a pretty personal thing, so I cannot guarantee this color will be everyone's cup of tea. What I can say with full assurance is that the formula of these mattes is treading the line of perfection. Serious full opacity with a creamy matte finish, NO patchiness, NO drying, and lasts at least until your next meal. Is there anything more you can ask from a $8.50 lipstick, or ANY lipstick for that matter? It is times like these when I question my need to go out and purchase a $20+ lipstick from Sephora that may or may not treat me as well as these do. Yes, they are that good!

About reviewer (274 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Beautiful dark brownish wine red. I've yet to wear it out, haha, only got it 3 days ago. It is quite deep and bold on my fair NC10-15 skintone, but not too purple or too bright and I got dark features (which go with dark shades-I'm a deep autumn) so I hope I don't get weird looks. It is creamy, indeed, but just a bit, so it wouldn't feel drying. It looks matte, though. Not liquid lipstick matte, but the matte that would make one think of Old Hollywood, precisely the 20's flapper era. That new super dry look is rather high fashion-y. It lasts very long if you just drink or eat a tiny bit, but it fades a lot if you eat greasy food (yeah, on the inside). It doesn't get drying in time, just matte-r. It stains. Has a lovely smell, like all Maybelline lipsticks.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I expected to love this, but I can't wear it. For a pale person, I can often get away with dark reds. But this one is darkened with a color that doesn't flatter me. With my pale mauve natural lip color (ah...that's washed out liver color...), it has a dull dark blah tone to it, the red does not dominate. *sigh* Really depends on your coloring. I would have rated this higher because the color may look great on others, but I didn't care for the texture upon application either - it seemed to pull into lines and didn't sit well. I wanted it off my lips - THIS after hunting for it for as long as I did! I mean, I hunted for this thing for weeks because it was sold out wherever I went. Well I'm glad it looks better on others...AND I feel sorry for myself because it looks muddy on me. *end of whine* I can wear colors like NARS Fire Down Below, Rimmel 111, Wet N Wild Cinnamon Spice. I also can't wear NYX Snow White - which is another lemming I just HAD to buy, found it sold out everywhere, and ultimately found that it is darkened with a tone or color that looks "tired" and kinda muddy on me. *whimper* I uploaded the swatch picture that has two rows of short swatches in the center and one long swatch on either side. In that photo - I kind of think I can see the darkened color of Snow White (NYX) and Divine Wine (Maybelline) that just kills 'em for me. I notice it most when I don't enlarge that photo but view the swatches from a distance (small) - those two stand out as "muddy" from a distance. I also uploaded the swatch photo next to the one I mentioned earlier and again - just looking at the small photo - Snow White and Divine Wine (on the left) look muddy. It might be black, dark blue or dark brown that is added - I recall when I ask to have house paint "darkened", the paint store added a "lamp black" pigment which is said to be soft a brownish- or bluish-black pigment. Whatever that is - I need to practice recognizing it because this whole "buy it and hate it" thing is depressing. Well, I'm glad my fellow MAU'ers can enjoy it.

About reviewer (46 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

This was the first matte in this line that I tried. I had a hard time finding this as its was sold out in many stores,which shows you how popular it is. The other matte I tried was Rich Ruby. Both have great pigment, good texture, not drying. This is a deep burgundy wine color with brownish undertones. It looks STUNNING on darker skin - ( I am an NC 43 for reference); it is not too bright and not too dark, a great fall/winter lipstick. I tend to wear mattes with a lip balm underneath, which I know defeats the purpose of mattes but I really don't like drying lipsticks. On a few occasions I have tried MAC's Retro Mattes but opted not to buy one because of their drying texture. I find these go on much better than the MAC mattes; you don't have use lip balm if you want to skip it. Since it is a deeper lipstick and semi-matte IMHO, you will need to moisturize and exfoliate your lips prior to application to remove any dry skin and to facilitate smooth application. The price is GREAT for the product quality- less than $6/tube at my local Target.

About reviewer (117 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

My skintone is around an NC20. This shade pulls a very deep wine red. It makes my teeth look super white. I really love this shade. my old go to fall shade was black cherry by revlon but I was sick of how purple it looked against my skin. it's a matte so expect a long wear with a bit of a drying effect. also, it smells a bit like play dog but that doesnt last.

About reviewer (179 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love Maybelline. Mascara, foundation, lipsticks - all amazing. When I saw this shade on Pinterest, I knew I had to have it. It was my first introduction to matte lipsticks and I've been hooked ever since. The shade is gorgeous and I can see it working well with just about any skin tone. It's a beautiful deep berry shade that is rich and perfect for fall/winter seasons. The formula itself is what I've come to expect from Maybelline - highly pigmented, moisturizing, and long lasting. It's not a liquid lipstick. so it will transfer but it's not going to move like a high gloss lipstick or lip gloss and it leaves a beautiful stain on your lips after it comes off. It's also crazy cheap $5 @ Target.

About reviewer (299 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel