3.9

Created with Sketch.
15 reviews
67%
would repurchase
4.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The best!!! Smooth, doesn't look chalky, gives me the sun protection I need. It makes a great canvas for my makeup as well.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairGrey, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This is a wonderful product, and I love that it has 15% zinc oxide, however, unfortunately it does not have a high PPD rating (I "think" my calculation on the PPD calculator was a 9 .... way too low for my pale skin which burns in the sun.) The reason that I still think that this is a wonderful product is that so far I have not had issues with burning although I am normally inside during the day and therefore cannot say how well this would work if I was outside for a length of time, but for my limited daily sun exposure it does work well plus it pairs well with my Stellar Brilliant Primer .... I love how thick and rich it is and I can see this also working well as a primer.

About reviewer (452 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Expensive but another holy grail! This is the only sunscreen that I have been able to use without leaving a horrible white cast on my face! It makes your face look angelic if wearing without make up. Add MAC globe in pink and your face will glow! With foundation, it glides on and stays put. ..AND its SPF 35!

About reviewer (80 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Dark

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have been using the sunscreen, SPF 35 for the last few weeks. I didn't report then because I wanted to see if it would break me out, since I have an oily, acne-prone T zone, although the rest of my skin is normal. Initially, I tried mixing it with my foundation (Ellis Faas Skin Veil, my fave after all these years), and I had real problems with balling and streaking. I was pretty discouraged.... Finally, I figured out I needed to put the sunscreen on first, over moisturized skin (I like to pat it in, not rub it in). Then I needed to let it sit for about 5 minutes, and do something else, then gently tap in foundation over it (again, no rubbing) - it applied like a dream, no balling, streaking or residue. I checked my skin 8 hours later, and it was as fresh as in the morning. I think this is really worth checking out, but buy the sample size first, because it is pretty pricey! The sample size comes in a convenient, leak proof tube, perfect for travel.

About reviewer (228 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairSilver, Curly, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I wasn't sure how I would like this given the fact that Tatcha products for me are either hit or miss, and that I am very picky about sunscreens. I actually must say that the Tatcha Silken Pore Perfecting SPF quickly became one of my favorite sunscreens. Silken applies easily and a minute after application it doesn't feel or look like you have anything on. It blends in so well with your skin and makes makeup application over this very easy. This is pricey so be sure you can and will apply it liberally. I must point out though that the bottle is 2 ounces and many other sunscreen from prestige brands are only one ounce. One more thing about this that I like is that it is an SPF of 35, a little bit above the normal SPF 30. It does have fragrance in it, but it dissipate quickly and is near the end of the ingredient list. My video review can be seen here: <object onclick="ga('send', {hitType: 'event',eventCategory: 'Ajax Interaction',eventAction: 'PlayVideo',eventLabel: ''});" width="360" height="320"><param name="movie" value="https://www.youtube.com/v/66ERUDHCVOM"><param name="wmode" value="transparent"><embed src="https://www.youtube.com/v/66ERUDHCVOM" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="360" height="320"></object>

About reviewer (702 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Out of all the skin care products I use this is my only holy grail item. This formula is amazing. It's suitable for every skin type. I am sensitive-combination-acne prone with redness and it works perfectly for me. It is also a physical sunscreen. It took me years to find a sunscreen that was: SPF 30+, lightly mattifying, physical not chemical, white-cast-free, sweatproof, not perfumed, and quickly absorbed--this hit all the marks. My favorite part about this sunscreen is that it lightly mattifies your skin without making you look like a corpse--it imparts a reflective natural glow that is not shiny. I think this sunscreen is especially suitable for men. -calms my redness -no white cast -controls my oily nose -is hydrating -leaves a healthy glow -doesnt clog my pores -doesnt stink -doesnt melt off when you sweat Worth every penny.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

First impression was surprise at the cream smelling like sunscreen. I wrongly assumed a luxury product like this would smell like rose petals, but no, it smells like any other drugstore sunscreen....but not as overbearing and it does not linger for very long. It disappears nicely, although not perfectly, into my tanned skin. It doesn't give me a white cast per se, rather it looks like a dullness or shadowing effect cast over my skin. NOT the look I go for because I like fresh slightly dewy glowy skin, not dull sallow looking skin. So this is NOT something I would use on its own. Pore perfecting? Not on me. Not even a little bit. This was my biggest disappointment with this product and the main reason why I would not repurchase it. However, it was a hot day and I did sweat a little from being outside during peak UV-exposure times of the day, and after coming back home I noticed that this product excelled at making my CC cream last and keep me from looking oily in my Tzone. It surprised me by keeping me soo matte that I think if I had bought this sunscreen in the winter/cooler months then I probably would find this to be drying. I do moisturize before putting this on, and I shake the bottle well before dispensing. I'm on the fence about keeping this or returning it. For something that has &quot;pore perfecting&quot; in its name, I expected smooth skin from this product and that's where it failed the most for me. I don't think the price is outrageous for a luxury brand because the tube holds 2ounces. Other lux brands I've looked at charge more per ounce. Edit: I ended up returning it, mostly because for the price I expected more more blurring and it didn't deliver that for me. Still think it's worth trying for yourself though cause others have raved about it.

About reviewer (118 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Other, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love, LOVE this sunscreen. I thought that I had found the closest-to-perfect sunscreen a few years ago (a different company's product), but production of that product appeared to have halted (since every store's stock had an expiration of June 2017, and even the company's own personnel admitted that they had no stock with an expiration past June). So, I was on the hunt for a new sunscreen, and an associate at my favorite makeup store gave me a sample of this sunscreen as well as a few others. I prefer physical sunscreens, and this one met my requirements (including that it did not irritate my highly-sensitive skin). In addition, it truly works as a great primer for my makeup and it isn't shiny (not a bit)! My former closest-to-perfect sunscreen left my skin a tad bit shiny, and I had come to accept that this was the trade-off for being protected against UVA/UVB rays. But, now I am so excited to have found one that does NOT leave me shiny. Unfortunately, this was also the most expensive of the sunscreens that I sampled. I use two foundations (depending upon how much time I have in the morning) - either The Body Shop's Fresh Nude Foundation (a liquid foundation) or Sterling Mineral's mineral/powder foundation. The Tatcha sunscreen seems to nicely prepare my skin for either of these foundations; both foundations look better on top of this sunscreen as compared to being on top of my prior sunscreen or being on my bare skin. After finishing my sample of the Tatcha sunscreen, I bought a full-sized tube (ouch!). I am about 75% of the way through the full-sized tube and purchased another one. It is so very costly, but I really like how it works and what it does for my makeup. My skin is rather oily, so the results may not be as wonderful for people who have dry skin (based on some previous reviews that I read). Update : I changed my review to downgrade it by one star to be 4 stars because Tatcha changed the formula to reduce the amount of physical sunscreen (zinc oxide at 15%) and they added a chemical sunscreen (octisalate at 5%). I prefer to avoid chemical sunscreens, so I am looking for a new HG sunscreen :(

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This sunscreen balls and rolls and doest get along with anything I apply afterwards. It also dried me out too much and I don't have dry skin. There is way too much silicone content in this, I want a sunscreen, not spak filler! I suspect this is making things roll. This is not an elegant product if sunscreen is not your last layer. I finished this as body sunscreen since I got it as a present. Since I've tried well over 100+ asian sunscreens, price aside this is below average and its only SPF35. Physical sunscreens have lower efficiency (i.e. you need more to get the SPF stated) than chemical which is why I like to use a mix on my face. I found that to get proper protection from this, it needs too much elbow grease so not great for my rushed mornings. There is absolutely no reason to pay $65+ for something you can get around $10 and its better overall. My top asian sunscreen picks are: Solanoveil Watery Gel (from Bonjour HK for ~36HKD or &lt;$5USD but you can buy from eBay for a bit more) and Shiseido Hada Senka Q10 SPF50 ($12 eBay), both are a physica/chemical mix, made in japan, mosturising but not overly shiny, wear like iron and gets along with other makeup friends (no rolling, balling). It makes me cry when people are unhappy with such a exy product when there are a world of options!

About reviewer (689 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I love this SPF. I use it as the last step in my morning skincare. I love that it has a pore perfecting primer in it so I can apply makeup after this step. It works well with my combination skin. I use a lot of serums, oils, and a moisturizer before this primer and it helps to matte my skin out just enough so my makeup doesn't look greasy. The price is ridiculous so I want to find something a little cheaper but I do like the way this performs.

About reviewer (927 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue