4.2

Created with Sketch.
241 reviews
78%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

15 days ago

I can understand the love for this product for people without any sensitivities. It's incredibly light weight and easy to apply, I'd be far more likely to apply something like this daily than the other facial sunscreens I've tried. However the high level of alcohol (second ingredient, and strong alcohol smell on application) combined with all the citrus extracts (grapefruit, lemon and orange!) caused me far too much irritation. The first time I tried it most of my face went bright red and stung. I attempted it again as a patch test on my cheek and had immediate redness again and the skin felt so dry. Anyone with sensitive skin should avoid this, but I'm jealous of everyone else!

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

best chemical (or organic in the chemical sens) sunscreen I have ever used. PROS: light easy to apply doesn't leave any white film light scent that goes away quickly cheap doesn't sting doesn't irritate my rosacea CONS: not readily available in most countries but not that hard to buy online

About reviewer (134 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

It’s the best sunscreen I’ve ever used on my face. Very light weight and absorbs easily into my skin. It doesn’t smell at all like sunscreen either. However, it does make my skin look a bit dull when I put it on under my makeup.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Nice and light on the skin - bought this in Japan where it is a cult hit...

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I have an off and on relationship with this sunscreen - it's a heck of a lot better than most Western sunscreens on the market, but it's not perfect for me. If I'm living in a country where it's easy to get, I'll buy a tube, but if I can only get it online, I won't. Pros: Incredibly lightweight, great protection, and easy to carry in your purse or handbag. I love the citrusy smell. There is no white cast and it doesn't leave any shine on the face. Also, it's fairly inexpensive for the level of quality. Cons: It's quite drying. I have oily skin but this tends to dry out my skin. I don't mind this if I'm not wearing any makeup on top, but if I'm wearing makeup on top of this this will make my skin look haggard unless I'm living in a tropical country where it's very humid. Because it's drying, my skin produces more oil to compensate which results in whiteheads. I usually combat this by double cleansing and exfoliating with an AHA toner at night, but sometimes it's too much of a hassle for me. Also on another note: this sunscreen is optimal for normal everyday use (going to the office, or day to day errands). But if you're on holiday or going to the beach, you should be using something with a bit more protection and honestly it should be a physical sunblock as opposed to a chemical sunscreen. I can tell you from personal use that I've gotten more tan with this sunscreen than say, EltaMD's UV Clear Facial Sunscreen SPF 46, which is a mineral based sunscreen. Overall: My score is a 3.5. It's a cult favorite for a reason, but I like something with a bit more moisture even if my skin is quite oily. My HG is the Nivea Sun Protect Super Water Gel SPF 50/PA+++, which is more slippy and pleasant to use.

About reviewer (130 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

The hype is real with this Japanese cult favorite sunscreen. I've been hearing about it for years, but just got to using it recently. I purchased a tube on amazon for $13. The price since then has been knocked down to $8.18. You get 50 g of product or 1.7 oz and SPF 50 + PA ++++ . I find the price to be cheap since I've used other, more expensive sunscreens. There are also large tubes of this sunscreen for purchase, or it can be purchased in packs of 3 or more. The texture of the sunscreen is exactly what the name implies...watery! It's not thick in the slightest and is pleasantly thin. The scent of it varies from person to person. I've read many reviews talking about how the 2019 formulation smells heavily of alcohol, but to me, it doesn't smell too heavy. I don't believe alcohol is bad for the skin if it's the proper kind of alcohol. Alcohol is often added to Asian sunscreens to make them cosmetically elegant or have a faster dry time. Asian sunscreens are among the best in the world and are far more advanced than their American counterparts. Upon application of this sunscreen on my face, there is no white cast or heavy feeling. It's somewhere between moisturizing and matte...so the best word I can use is SILKY. It just feels smooth to the touch. My boyfriend and one of our friends have been using this sunscreen and seem to really like it. Men seem to be fussy with the feeling of sunscreen on their skin, but they seem to love this one. They've used so much that it might be finished within a month. I'm probably going to order more of this sunscreen and maybe in a pack of 3! My skin type is oily combination and suffers from dehydration during winter. I don't think I will be using this sunscreen during the winter as much because I prefer something even more moisturizing, but it's perfect for the spring, summer, and maybe even fall. This is just an overall easy sunscreen to use and love. I definitely see why people are obsessed with it and can see myself becoming one of those people.

About reviewer (222 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I have this sunscreen in the bottle formula! I love it so much. I use it on the daily. It leaves my skin feeling moisturized; but while still applying a good amount of spf. Sometimes it leaves a white cast, but if you really work it into the skin, it should be blended out just fine. This is perfect if you’re sweating, or going in the water, but just remember to reapply after a few hours

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

This is a first impression so I will update later when I get to use this more. When buying sunscreen for my age it is important for me to find that it covers both UVA and UVB and that it has SPF 50+. In comparison with my other sunscreens, it applies like a thick serum on the skin and it is absorbed very quickly. There is no white cast and my skin felt so smooth and no greasy texture at all (I am a combination normal/oily). Doesn’t feel heavy or dry. The only drawback is that you can smell the alcohol when applied (it is listed second on the ingredients list after water) but the scent disappears once it’s absorbed. I bought it from YesStyle for AUD$13.83 so the price is really good and I actually bought two so one for me and one for my daughter. So far so good!

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Kinky, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I had a hard time deciding on the overall rating for this suncreen; it destroyed my face, but I love using it everywhere else. After a few weeks of using this product, my face was covered in inflammatory acne. While I have had mild acne for many years, it suddenly got very bad. I started using this sunscreen as soon as I started using Differin, and although I know it's not the best idea to start more than one new product at a time, I did anyway based off of the fantastic reviews for both products. I thought I was going through a Differin "purge" stage, but to be sure, I stopped using the sunscreen on the uppermost part of my neck--right under my chin--and my skin, in turn, cleared up in that area. So, please do a patch test of this product, especially if you deal with acne. For my body, however, I love this suncreen for its easy, non-greasy, satin application/finish. It may not be realistic to use this if you're out in the sun a lot/for long periods of time, as you pay a pretty penny per ounce for this stuff.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I’ve just finished a tube of this sunscreen, I purchased it for around £10 on YesStyle.com. It goes on easily and sinks in nicely, wears well under makeup. I have read it’s better for incidental sun exposure than for spending long periods in the sun. Unfortunately it gives me small whiteheads so I won’t buy it again, but I would say it’s worth a try.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther