4.2

Created with Sketch.
298 reviews
74%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range
$32.00 on Violet Grey
Shop Now

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

13 days ago

While I give the product 3 out of 5, yet I continue to buy it! I read the reviews stating that it does not clump... it does. I read that it gives the false lash appearance to some and not to others... I think if you have naturally long lashes, you will get all you expect from this mascara! I only apply 1 coat. Previously, my go-to was Too Faced- Better than Sex. With all the rave I even tried unique 4d ( it's crap) I got a sample Kit for channel from Nordstrom one day and fell for it at this is all I get

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBlack

EyesHazel



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Well... this one gives me mixed feelings. Pros: It's really beautiful mascara, gives the curliest, longest, thickest lashes you have ever dreamed. Looks like false eyelashes!!! Cons: 1) I bought Le Volume in Ultra Noir 3 months ago. And it flakes like crazy since I have been using! After being with for, maybe, 3 hours I must go to check my face into the mirror and try to wipe down those stubborn flakes. But no panda eyes. Maybe it is this particularly product in this color fault? 2) Veery difficult to remove. As I wrote - it flakes, so you can imagine that in the end of the day there must be no mascara left. Well... mascara is still there, and oh boy. I switched from cotton pads to makeup eraser cloth year ago, and earlier I would need only water to remove my makeup. Now I need eye makeup remover for the same result... and I know this is not makeup eraser fault. Well, I will try another color next time, because I loved this mascara. Yes, it is pricey, but hey, considering that you get finish which looks like false lashes (my hairdresser asked me where I do my false lashes, because they look amazing, and I said it's only Chanel mascara, she almost didn't believe me, but after she tried it by herself, she fell in love with this product:D ), it's worth the price.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Love it! I'm honey-blonde and very fair-skinned, I look like Casper in the winter so black mascara is way too stark for me. Lancome used to make a nice dark blue mascara but doesn't anymore, Sisley has a beautiful dark blue that's too pricey and hard to remove. Other companies make a blue that's too cobalt or electric. This is a nice color, easy to remove, doesn't clump. I use the Lancome primer, then this mascara, my lashes are thin and grey-blonde, this mascara is perfect. Absolutely love the color. Even though I live in a busy metro area the stores are usually out of this color so I've had luck ordering it online (I don't like ordering anything online) but Chanel offers free, fast shipping, and some samples.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Yes, it’s expensive. That being said, the packaging is fabulous; sleek yet luxe....but not too over the top. It performs well. It gives volume but doesn’t clump nor weigh down your lashes (I.e. your curl stays intact). Best of all, I took an almost 3 hour nap in bed with my face on a pillow (and a weighted blanket) and I had zero smudging or flaking. Worth every penny.

About reviewer (107 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

This is my go to mascara every time. I have average long but sparse lashes, so I need a mascara that makes my lashes appear thicker/more volume. This is by far the best mascara I've used and keep coming back to this one. In the past I have used Tarte Lights Camera Action (purple mascara), but it dries out quickly and can flake. I've also used Lancome (Reg) Hypnosis and I was using is for while (not drying & very little flaking with some volume) but not as thick as I would like them. I feel likeI had to use a ton of this mascara to built up to how I wanted my lashed to look thick. With the Chanel Le Volume (regular, non waterproof), IS AMAZING!! I don't have to use as much produc and makes my lashed appear fuller without looking cakey. I also like that it doesn't flake off or dryig on me. I get tons of complements on my lashes. As a side note, the waterproof versions of mascara HAVE NEVER WORKED for me -even the Chanel version. Seems like most waterproof mascaras for me don't work, the consistency is too thin and never thickens my lashes.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair

HairGrey

EyesViolet


3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I purchased this due to the highly rated reviews and the fact that it is fragrance free. This performed similar to Too Faced's Better Than Sex on my lashes. It did not give me as much volume as I anticipated. YSL and Charlotte Tilbury's mascaras give me much more volume. I will not repurchase.

About reviewer (886 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I've used a lot of mascaras over the years, mostly based on other people's experience (thank goodness for MUA!). This one had pretty good reviews on here and also came highly recommended by a friend who has been using it for years, so I decided to give it a try. If you're looking for well-defined lashes; 2 coats of this will give you lots of definition and good volume, but without looking 'spidery'. It doesn't clump, no matter how many layers I apply and my eyes do not water or become irritated which is something that happens to me quite often with other brands. The only (slight) cons with this are: it's very wet upon initial application, taking several minutes to dry down, and the price is a bit steep for a mascara, but on the plus side it lasts at least 3 months which is pretty good going. Will re-purchase but probably only when on sale. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Athletes Foot Treatment: 'Margaret Dabbs' - Foot Hygiene Cream 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Foot File/Callus/Heel Treatment - 'Microplane' - Colossal Pedicure Rasp Foot File 9. Ingrown Hair Treatment - 'Priva Shave' - Post Hair Removal Treatment 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (566 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I accidentally bought this one instead of my usual inimitable Chanel mascara (which is my favourite). I didn't enjoy this one as much, I won't repurchase it, but it was good and certainly had that Chanel quality to it CONS - Not as good as my fav inimitable Chanel mascara - Didn't give my eyes that "oomph" I want in mascara. It wasn't amazing in terms of volume or length or making the eye lashes great. It wasn't bad. But it just wasn't amazing. And when you're spending so much $$ for a mascara, you want amazing! PROS - Chanel mascaras are top performers in my book for making mascaras that don't smudge/give me raccoon eyes, which unfortunately many mascaras seem to (both high end and drugstore) DUPE - The only drugstore mascara I've found that also holds up to that no-smudge performance is the orange covergirl (so far....if you have any suggestions, please message me haha)

About reviewer (154 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have repurchased Le Volume several times. It fans out and thickens my lashes easily and it holds the curl. It's very black and versatile: 1 coat is fine and 2 coats make it look more intense. Its small bristles help me not to get too much product on my lids. Should it happen it is easy to correct, just as it is easy to remove at the end of the day. It doesn't flake or smudge and doesn't dry out fast (...thank goodness at that price point). I have noticed it seems to gets better after about a month of use (less wet?) and it looks better if I've curled my lashes extra well (gives almost an eyeliner effect). The reason I didn't give it 5 lippies is because it could give even more volume to live up to its name. 2 coats do make a difference but past experiences with mascaras tell me more volume is possible.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

A bit overpriced in my opinion, like well...everything with designer name tag. When the mascara is fresh it does give volume to your lashes. But after a short period of time it doesn’t seem to work the same. It starts to flake and crumble more easily on me. It might be the expectation of Chanel to perform exceptionally at all times but *sigh.:)

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us