3.9

Created with Sketch.
30 reviews
73%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I like to encourage the natural texture in my hair. I’m not full on curly but I have some fairly significant waves when I encourage them. The can is nice and has a creamy lotion like appearance. But when you apply it it’s super sticky. And then it makes my hair cluster and crunchy. Every day I used it I hated my hair. Usually I use the R&Co curl primer and I much prefer it.

About reviewer (541 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Other

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I have a naturally loose curl pattern (as I have a mixture of both curls and waves on my head), my hair is fine textured, is naturally very dry, and is of low density as well. I don't hair type because that is just something that people flew with because of Andre Walker coming up with such on Oprah's show-they don't even teach hairtyping in cosmetology school at because it has nothing to do with the science of hair). Some of these hair stylist do come up with stuff that they weren't even taught in school, and then people just blindly run with such or become obsesses with such. Also, for the record, hair care products aren't made according to any hair typing system, hair porosity levels, or anything else. And, any hair care company that claims otherwise, is telling a lie, because I actually used to work for a major hair care brand and know first hand just how shady the hair care industry is. They will say just about anything to get people's coins because they know that hair care products aren't regulated by the FDA. Which is why, I say to anyone, the only way to know if a product truly works best for you is to try it out for yourself. Between this product and SuperCream, SuperCream happens to be a bit more moisturizing to my hair, give it a bit more shine, and happens to smell better as well. Both products do keep my hair frizz free, however, I don't have hair that is very frizz prone, though. I don't major curl definition from either product, however that's how my hair naturally responds to most curky hair products that I've tried, so that's actually not something that I was expecting from the product anyways. Plus, I din!5 diffuse my hair,many in order to get lots of volume and curl definition with a DevaCurl products, it definitely requires diffusing ones hair, for sure, like they're shown doing in the DevaChan Salon or any other salon where they have Deva trained hair stylists doing curly hair (which is all completely viewable within videos on YouTube). In regards to the DevaCurl line, I don't know if DevaCurl scents their products with natural fragrances or synthetic ones. But, I do find that the scents that they use to fragrance most of their products are not the most pleasant overall. The only one that smells the best is SuperCream. Now, I actually got the Styling Cream within a DevaCurl kit. I didn't buy it separately, because it's just never been a products that's been big on my radar to try from DevaCurl, period. I can say that I won't be purchasing this product by itself, but if it came in a kit that I happen to be interested from DevaCurl again, then yes, I would use up the product, which is the only reason why, I selected yes towards my buying it again. I will say that I do find it outrageous that DevaCurl actually charges so much for this product, when you aren't even getting close to a month's worth of product, if you were to use it daily. I also definitely feel the same way about SuoerCream, which is which, I can't even use that product on a regular basis, because of the sample amount if product that you get in the bottle.

About reviewer (972 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I purchased this and several other DevaCurl products after my curly hair's frizziness and shapelessness was making me despair. I bought the travel size of this product, along with a travel size Ultra Defining Gel, travel size matcha mask, and the No-Poo and conditioner. My curls looked beautiful and radiant so long as I kept up the entire routine and dried my hair in a microfiber towel. My biggest complaints with this product are its consistency and packaging. My stylist advised me to mix this product with the ultra defining gel. When you have curly hair, you need more product, and I felt that this product was too light, and that a heavier formula would have allowed me to not run out of the travel size so quickly. It is also very expensive; for its price, you could easily get a full size bottle of another Curly Method-friendly product.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I tried a sample size of this and -- wow! Maybe it's because I'm finally using a microfiber towel, but this stuff gives my curls such great definition with little to no frizz. I love the smell too, which is reminiscent of grape candy but doesn't linger when dry. It does create a cast like a gel, but I just shake at the roots and knead at the ends and my hair looks fabulous. I'm not sure if this will be a staple in my routine, but I can definitely see myself trying it out again in the future.

About reviewer (160 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I only need to use a pea size amount for my jaw length hair. I mix it with a gel and or conditioner. Of all the stylers I have used, this one gives consistent results. Other stylers are hit or miss. Some days good results, some days bad results. My hair is fine, frizzy 2b to 3b pattern. It is pricey, but last forever. I hate the packaging but the results are worth dealing with the awkward packaging.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Wow, no. This is SO bad for my very fine, botticelli curls. Has absolutely no hold. Didn't define my curls at all. Left my hair feeling weighted, and turned my hair into a frizz ball.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairBrown

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

LOVE THIS! I hate products that weigh my curls down, I like them bouncy and full - this product does just that! I apply this creamy serum it to my wet hair and pin it up for a bit , then blow dry with a diffuser and wa-lah, beautiful curls! Don't have to use too much on my almost to my waist curls - so definitely a plus! It also smells really good!

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I use this on 3rd or 4th day hair to calm down frizz and puffiness. I usually style with the Ultra Defining Gel on day one hair, then on subsequent days refresh with Jessicurl's Awe Inspiraling Spray. However, past day two, I get a LOT of frizz and unmanageable puffiness. I take care of that by using this Deva Curl Styling Cream - a few pumps in my hands, smear them together for even application, then smooth them over the top of my hair around my whole head, and everything looks great. It does initially make my hair feel product-y, but that fades as the day goes on and I am left with soft, frizz-free curls. This product also smells amazing, kind of like Skittles.

About reviewer (456 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Ah-mazing! A true HG curl cream! This does what I had hoped every other curl milk, gel, cream, souffle, etc. would do: After raking this through wet hair (after sectioning my hair in thirds and using a quarter sized amount or more for each section), I scrunched and let air dry. Not only did this leave me with defined, piecey waves, that we're soft and shiny, it kept my hair looking that way all day and into the night. For reference, I have slightly wavy, coarse, extremely frizz prone hair. Even when I get it under control, in a couple hours, it's a limp, poofy, and dull. I couldn't believe how wavy and frizz-free my hair was even when I got home from work. It's great for second and third day hair too, I just refreshed with a spray bottle of water, scrunched, and was good to go! Lastly, I think it helps other products perform. I'm on 4th day hair, and today I added Marc Anthony Curl Lotion- which on it's own doesn't do much- but with Deva Curl as a foundation product, I had a good result. It's pricey, but the results are worth it. I go the last one on the shelf at CVS. I will definitely repurchase.

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have type 2C/3A, fine blonde hair with medium porosity and density. I struggle to find products that define my curls while providing moisture. The cream pretty much did the exact opposite and left my hair very dry. Really disappointed.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen