December 21, 2014 | 1817 users online

Makeup Brushes - Sigma - E30 Pencil brush (was SS219 )



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.5(31 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 10/18/2014 10:36:00 PM More reviews by chukulata

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

No, just no! I bought this to smudge eyeshadows / eyeliners under my eyes. I cannot believe how scratchy this brush is!!! That's why I can't really use it for that purpose. Sometimes I just use it to put a little bit darker eyeshadow in the outer corner of my eyes and that's it. Otherwise it has just been sitting there for a year. I wish I never bought it. Will not recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/6/2013 3:31:00 AM More reviews by heyannette

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Green

This is a dupe of MAC's 219 (which is awesome). It's not as densely packed as the 219 but it's way better than most. Great marketing by Sigma, all the youtube/blogger artists use Sigma (or say they do) as they get a discount or a fee for recommending them. The selection and types of Sigma brushes are amazing. This brush's top wobbled so it had to be doctored but I've been now using it everyday for over a year at least and that's indication to me that it's a great brush. I use MAC 219 for dark pencil brush work and this one for light highlights.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/30/2013 6:55:00 PM More reviews by AzurLove

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is great for applying shadows to your bottom lash line or concentrating color onto your crease. I've been using it for 3 years and have no complaints. It gets the job done well and doesn't shed. I would recommend giving it a try.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/24/2013 5:00:00 PM More reviews by jadeywoo80

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I really like this brush. I bought it to apply shadow along my lower lash line and i think it does a good job, although this is the first pencil brush i have used, so nothing to compare to. I find the bristles soft, no different to my MAC 239 and 217, and not scratchy at all - like some of the other reviews. Its not too dense nor too soft and it places the product right where i want it. For the money, £13.50 ebay, i think its OTM.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/19/2013 2:33:00 PM More reviews by echo2000

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Having read these reviews I was anxious to try this brush since I don't already have one. So I ordered it off Amazon (where the reviews were mostly very good). It arrived with several other products I ordered. It came in a simple plastic wrap, I removed it and felt the bristles with my fingers, ouch! It was scratchy! I kept feeling it because it seemed like there was a hard plastic bristle similar to a hard toothbrush bristle. What I found was a clump of bristles which were apparently stuck together forming the pointed hardness. I tried to take the clump apart to no avail, it seemed like it was glued together!

Needless to say I was very disappointed and am sending it back.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/6/2012 4:15:00 PM More reviews by christi4200

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I wanted a brush that would be great for applying e/s to the lower lash line. This isn't precise enough for that purpose, and pencil brushes should be able to both smudge eyeliner and apply shadow to the lower lash line. It's just too flimsy for that. Nowhere near as good as the Mac 219. I initially ordered it to save money, but I still ended up having to purchase the 219, so I ended up spending more $! Lesson learned.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/6/2012 9:06:00 AM More reviews by muaKissAndMakeUp

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

The Sigma E30 is similar to MACís 219. This soft, precise and pointed brush is used to soften pencil eyeliner, to apply eyeshadow along the lash line or to highlight the inner corner of the eye. I use this pencil brush mainly to apply powder along and between the lower lashes. The Sigma E30 is (surprise surprise) a bit softer than the MAC 219. I donít find it quite precise enough to apply powder along the lash line. But! This brush is perfect for softening pencil eyeliner.



The winner: While the MAC 219 is great (and better) at applying powder along and between the lashes, the Sigma E30 is better at softening pencil eyeliner. This makes it difficult to choose again. Iím letting Sigma win this round, because I already have plenty of brushes that do a good job at applying powder along the lash line but I hadnít yet found a great brush to soften pencil eyeliner with.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/29/2012 5:51:00 PM More reviews by DivaDeLosMuertos

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Black

Really great for precise crease work! Its dense but not scratchy, tapered, and can have multiple uses like under your eye, smudging out harsh lines, for your crease, inner corner, etc that bigger brushes just can't do. It barely even shed my first time washing and using it....I can't find anything wrong with it....I'd repurchase and maybe I will in the future

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/29/2012 5:15:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Basic pencil brush, does shed which can be annoying when I apply inner corner highlight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/11/2012 8:52:00 PM More reviews by Caligallola

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I use this brush daily to deposit darker color in my crease and outer V. It's the perfect size then I blend the color with Sigmas E35. It has soft bristles and with stands my daily washing with no loss of hairs and keeps its shape. It's must have for me for my eyeshadow application.

Is this review helpful? Yes No