4.6

Created with Sketch.
77 reviews
87%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

These are inexpensive, pigmented, and long lasting pro-quality blushes that are perfect for the more experienced makeup user, as they have a somewhat high learning curve. The packaging is simple but deceptive, disguising that these products are dupes for NARS and MAC quality blushes but sold for a whopping $4.50 per pan. I own the 12 pan palette from Camera Ready Cosmetics where 6 of the blushes are cool toned while 6 of the rest are warm toned. I really love these because the blushes are true to color and they blend really well as long you are careful with the initial placement. The lightest touch will be enough product for your face, which means these blushes will last forever even with everyday usage. Sometimes I use two brushes when I use these blushes; one for placement, and another clean one for blending. Ironically, this is one of the few times where synthetic/stippling brushes might serve you better than using natural hair, as they will pick up less product (and that's what you want for this kind of blush!). On the color selection, the sky is the limit. For example, the shade Naturelle is a perfect soft apricot, reminiscent of the youthful makeup often applied on Korean actresses who advertise in brands like Innisfree or The Face shop. On the other end of the spectrum, there is the shade Red, which is a spot on dupe for NARS Exhibit A that so happens to be perfect for darker skin colors with warm undertones. There are also unusual blushes with colors not usually produced by most mainstream brands like lavender (Misty Plum), fuchsia (Mulberry), and cinnamon (Sienna). On how it looks: The blushes come in shimmery, satin, or matte finishes. They look awesome on me and last pretty much as long as I need it to until its time for me to take off my makeup. On people of color, they look fantastic. I can even sheer them out for the slightest hint of color if I use a blue squirrel blush! That said, I don't find this to be a very modern product if you compare this to the blushes that are recommended today (ex. Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush, Glossier Cloud Paints, Surratt Artistique Blush, ect.) This is an old-school Hollywood product that has been around for decades and were used for TV and movie sets. Artists back then had to use a heavier hand with makeup because that was required for the cameras to pick up color. These pigmented blushes reflect that style of makeup, which may be incompatible with the everyday makeup user in 2019 who likes the dewy, no-makeup makeup trend. The finish of these blushes won't look effortlessly elegant if you're not great at diffusing blush. Some people might not want that amount of effort and that's OK! For me personally, there are certain segments of makeup where I don't care about the brand or packaging as long as they do the job. And La Femme does that for me when it comes to blush; they have a wide selection of colors for all skin tones, a long lasting finish, and relatively affordable. P.S. If you're a drag queen or cosplayer, I really do think these blushes are ideal as they're perfect for costume makeup.

About reviewer (134 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

HG BLUSHES! The only reason I buy other brands if there is a color that La Femme doesn't do. They are so pigmented yet look so beautiful! Just remember to buff and blend the blush well, and build with tiny amounts of color at a time. And, the price! It's like the perfect BAE blush - makes you beautiful, gives you the high quality high-end like results you deserve and understands that your budget is important <3 The colors "Peach" and "orange" are both matte and MY TOP FAVOURITES. Orange looks so natural and beautifully flushed (if applied and blended properly), and not garish at all! For reference, I am C6 in Mac Face & Body. PLEASE BUY THESE, LOVE THESE AND THESE WILL NEVER FAIL YOU <3

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Medium Brown, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

LF blushes take a lot of effort to make it work. Truthfully it is so pigmented it launches you into the fastlane to clown. However with some expert techniques, you can get it to look from somewhere better than good ol' NYX blushes to almost as good as industry favorites like MAC and NARS blushes. Here is a list of the things I have done to make it work for me: 1. Touch brush barely into product and lightly dust on cheeks. 2. Use a mattifying primer. As a dry skin lady, I was always using hydrating products that had a tendency to make these blushes more garish. Primers like ulta flawless primer and Mac skin base visage create a nice base for a well blended blush versus an in-your-face blush. 3. In addition to other techniques, applying powder foundation and/or setting powder all over face and/or directly in blush area before and/or after applying blush (do you see how complicated this is?) can also create a well-blended, natural, airbrushed effect the likes of MAC blush. Much like adding powder over eyelids after priming before applying eyeshadow, this technique help the color blend flawlessly into the overall makeup application. 4. Lightly blend (and lightly/slightly build up if necessary) face powder into areas as needed to tone down blush color and blend seamlessly. 5. Applying highlighter also tones down the appearance of the blush so that it looks more natural. With these techniques, LF blushes can bring lots of warmth, joy and light to your face...and to others--because when it is right, it is stunning!! <3

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Deep Dark, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

for the price or even without considering price,these are super high quality.yes,they kick up up a lot of dust but it is not something that is going to affect the final results.so,results are beautiful,blended and long lasting pop of color on cheeks. what more can one ask for? right!

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I bought three of these blushes: Soft Beige, Dusty Rose, and Russet. Like other reviewers have said, these blushes are very pigmented and have good staying power, but are super dusty. I have them in a MAC pro palette without an insert and they just get over everything. This doesn't stop me from lemming a few more though! I bought Soft Beige hoping to use it as a contour shade, but it is too warm. It does work as a natural blush. I was hoping Russet would be dupish for Bare Minerals Warmth but isn't rich enough and it has micro glitters. Dusty Rose also has micro glitter. The website (Camera Ready Cosmetics) is not very helpful with their swatches, so make sure you google for them. I looked up swatches but somehow missed the fact that Russet had glitter. Despite these minor flaws, I've been loving these blushes. I apply them with my Elf studio powder brush because its the fluffiest one in my collection. These come in 35mm pans so they are smaller than MAC. I had to glue magnets to them to get them to stay in the palette. These are a cheap thrill and worth the hassle.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Gosh, I don't know when I discovered these but I'm so glad I did. My emphasis on certain products comes and goes but I usually do from time to time crave a good blush. La Femme makes great powder blushes. These are SOOOOO pigmented! I know a lot of MUAs and women all over "swirl" their brushes into their blush, but trust me, all you need to do is lightly pay the brush head into the blush for all the color you need. Warning, they do have a vintage smell (not necessarily "Grandma") that reminds me of a powder room, but it's undetectable after buffing it into your cheeks. 60s mod is in vogue (Gucci F/W 2014) as well as through entertainment (Mad Men) but I actually got my inspiration from Valley of the Dolls - I lightly apply the cheeks in a "hump" below the apples of my cheeks, into my bronzer (which is on the hollows of my cheeks). It's a nice, very classy look that I find more flattering than the "upward stroke" blushing that most MUAs use. I have 4 shades but I mainly use Nectar Peach, I think? It's a cool-toned variety (which probably helps as I'm cool-toned!) that's a nude-y peach with some pink. Very flattering. And they only cost $3-4 a piece online!

About reviewer (205 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

update 2/2015: up to 4 stars i gave these babies one more chance, took time and played with them. im very impressed with the pigmentation and lasting quality. tho it's dusty, i can get by with it. i have to mix 2-3 shades to get my perfect blush color, depending on the kind of makeup look im going for. i use only matte shades for the cheeks. the ones with pearl or shimmer are what i use as eyeshadows. $3.50 per pan refill is sooo worth it. ------------- Veeery pigmented, lasts whole day. Can be used as overall face color, eyeshadow, lip adjuster as well. The only problem I had is its undertone. Most are cool. even with the peach variant, these are still on the coolish/neutral tone. I remember swatching a warm shade but the formula is forgettable, blah. I think this is good for those with cool and neutral undertones.

About reviewer (75 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Deserving to be part of any blush lover, collection. Use a stippling brush and a very light hand, and your cheecks wiil thank you! My favorite colors are peach, pink flamingo, and terrecota. Gooo out and get some!!!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

This blush has been around since I was a teen. I tried it then because it was cheap and that's all I could afford. I didn't really know how to blend blush back then and it didn't work well for me because they are so highly pigmented. Since then, I've learned a few things and LaFemme is now my favorite go to blush, as in Holy Grail status! The colors are amazing and stay true without oxidizing. Several colors work for me but Misty Plum is my favorite. I find that Elf small stippling brush is a great brush to use with this because it doesn't pick up so much product. I also use Elf's flat top brush and that works just as well. I don't swirl the brush in the product, I kind of touch the top of the brush on the pan and start applying. Apply first to the check area that you want the highest density of color and start blending from there,

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Other, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I love these blushes. They are super cheap, extremely pigmented and come in a convenient pan form (like MAC pro pans but larger). (they also come in plastic packaging for an extra price if you don't have a Z-palette type) Apricot- peach color, on the pink side Peach- peach color more on the orange side than apricot (I prefer apricot, as I'm very pink toned) Misty plum- pink with a hint of purple Scarlet- light (blue-toned) pink Coral spice- mid-toned pink with much shimmer (some people say this is a dupe for NARS Orgasm)

About reviewer (410 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us